Customer Reviews for

So That's What They're For: Breastfeeding Basics

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Thank God for this book!

    This book got me through many difficult days as a 1st time mom. From advice on not giving up on breastfeeding, to explaining that mom's truly are their babies' blankies, this book helped me settle into being a mom, relaxing, and trusting myself. Thanks to this book and my wonderful lactation consultant, I've been nursing my son for 7 months, and will continue until he's at least a year old! This is a must-have, and I am giving it to all my expecting friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    I Recommend This Book to EVERYONE!!!

    I bought this book when I was pregnant with baby #1. It was recommended to me and I'm so glad it was. I found it more than practical and very thorough regarding what to expect, how to cope, as well as describing technique. If you are a first time mom or a tenth time mom and your even the least bit interested in breast feeding for more than the first day, this book is definately for you! I will buy it for anyone I know who's expecting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    This book is the best!

    A must read for new moms. Witty, fun and interesting. If you are thinking about nursing this book will get you on the right track and entertain you too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    A must have for Nursing mothers

    I was given this book as a gift from the hospital I delivered at, when I got it I thought 'how the hell will I find the time to read this with a newborn'?! But after I got home I found that It wasn't some long boring book that you had to prop you eyelids open to get thru it....it's easy to get thru it's pretty funny and i can read it while i am breastfeeding....I am gonna give it to anyone i know who is breastfeeding or who isnt considering it to hopefully change their minds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    A very easy read, packed with facts

    Finally, a how-to book that is funny and doesn't lose my interest in all the technical terms. Why pick this up? The World Health Organization recommends that babies should be fed: 1. by their mother's breast, 2. by their mother's stored breast milk, 3. by donated breastmilk, 4. by formula supplementation if natural human mother's milk is unavailable. Infants should be fed exclusively breast milk until 6 months of age, and then in parallel with complimentary foods until the age of 2 years. Breastfeeding is an unequalled way of providing ideal food for the healthy growth and development of infants. It is also has important implications for the health of mothers. Many books gloss over these benefits and toute "convenience." This book is different. Janet Tamaro doesn't muddy the message by back peddling into the "unless it's not convenient" trap and presents the facts on how to breastfeed. In the middle of the night when things aren't working, her chapter on problems and what to do is essential. Tamaro also covers how to pump milk and properly store it, going back to work, getting back to being a fully functional wife, and finally, when it's the right time, weaning your toddler. Of all the books I read on this topic, Janet's book was the most enjoyable, easy to understand, and thorough text on how to be successful at bestfeeding. This book goes in all my gift baskets for new mamas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    What a life saver!

    This book is fabulous for understanding what's happening to a woman's body when lactating, how to help your baby learn to breastfeed and a must have resource for answering questions in a practical and simple manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Great, even if you aren't considering breastfeeding

    This is the best book on breastfeeding I have found. The author is straightforward about all aspects of breastfeeding so that expectant mothers can make informed decisions about what is best for them and their baby(ies). This book is informative, engaging and humorous and a MUST READ for all expectant mothers, even those who aren't considering breastfeeting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!

    I don't think I could have made it through without this book. It is a funny yet informative guide that no new mother or new to breastfeeding mother should miss. Thank you Mrs. Tamaro for all of your help!!! My baby thanks you too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    Excellent!!!!!

    I really recommend this book to anyone who is pregnant. It has a lot of useful information and advice. I read it for the 1st time when I was pregnant with my 3rd child. I thought I was an expert but I still learned a lot from this book. I really enjoyed it's humorous take on a very serious subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    Best Breastfeeding Book Out There!

    This book made me feel so much better about breastfeeding. It lets you know exactly what to expect - from your body, the baby, and complete strangers. It was reassuring to read that other people are going through the same things. The book is really funny and makes you laugh even though you feel overwhelmed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    The best instuctional breastfeeding book out there

    People in our culture now have no idea what they are doing and how to get back to nature, this book breaks all the barriers and helps to calm the stresses of breastfeeding, along with simple and humorous instruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    This is the one

    Hands down this is the book you have to read. Very funny and very informative. It's like a friend talking to you. I can't say enough about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    Great book for any mother

    I highly recommend this book to anyone, especially if you're a first-time mom or are unsure about breastfeeding. The first two chapters provide a very detailed and informative discussion about the differences between breastfeeding and formula feeding, and how formula came to be so popular. The rest of the book is a practical how-to and problem solving manual. One thing that makes this book great is that it is written in a very lighthearted, non-offensive way. It is funny (I was laughing out loud at times), yet realistic in what you should expect. This book makes a great gift for anyone considering breastfeeding a baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2000

    Great for first time mothers!

    I'm a LC (Certified Lactation Consultant) and I highly recommend this book for first time mothers and or first time breast feeding mothers. I have used it with several mothers and they have thoroughly enjoyed it both eduationally and it was also entertaining. It will have you laughing out loud!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    Like a Girlfriend's Guide To Breastfeeding But With More Technical Info!

    I am expecting my first child in May and polled my friends who have successfully breastfed to see what books they would recommend on the subject. This title was overwhelmingly named. I bought it, read it and laughed aloud. While being funny, it is also very informative and answers all those silly questions you were wondering about. I have asked my mother-in-law, who did not breastfeed, to read it as well as she will be helping out at the critical time when most women who have tried breastfeeding give up (3 weeks). I realize you never know what it's like until you try it, but I feel very well prepared after reading this book. This book mentions the many pitfalls of breastfeeding that make women quit and how to get through them. My friends who quit (ironically, around 3 weeks) and now wish they would have kept at it, all say they will read and use this book the next time around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1