Customer Reviews for

So What's the Difference?: A Look at 20 Worldviews, Faiths and Religions and How They Compare to Christianity

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

outstanding book

The aurthor does a good job on exsplaining the differences between the christon religon and other religons on what they belive in and how they veiw GOD THE FATHER.

posted by Anonymous on May 9, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not even worthy of one star

I was very disturbed by this authors views and descriptions of other religions. I do not feel that this book is showing accurate information about the religions in this book. I suggest that you look at The World's Religions: Our Great Wisdom Traditions by Huston ...
I was very disturbed by this authors views and descriptions of other religions. I do not feel that this book is showing accurate information about the religions in this book. I suggest that you look at The World's Religions: Our Great Wisdom Traditions by Huston Smith. Which contains a much richer and non-biased view of other religions.

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    So What's the Difference?: A Look at 20 Worldviews, Faiths and How They Compare to Christianity

    It really was! I even looked some of it up, and it's 100% accurate. And the author made it so that it was actually interesting to read, not some boring lecture! He made very logical and smart points and observations--this book an excellent read and, most importantly, accurate.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    outstanding book

    The aurthor does a good job on exsplaining the differences between the christon religon and other religons on what they belive in and how they veiw GOD THE FATHER.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    Straightforward, understandable comparison of Religions from Christian perspective

    I always wondered the answer to the question this book approaches. Mr. Ridenour does a fantastic job of explaining these differences from a clearly Christian perspective. He starts with a clear identification of the Baseline for comparison (that is Protestant Christianity). He then proceeds to distinguish that baseline from Catholism, then on to other major world religions. I think every high school student should read this book before college. If you've missed that mark, go ahead and read it now!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    So What's the Difference?: A Look at 20 Worldviews, Faiths and How They Compare to Christianity

    This book explains all religions very well, and I found it extremely interesting to read. I'm thirteen and know someone who's an atheist, and this book really gave me some great things to tell her. She said, ''It doesn't really matter if I have a religion or not, they're all relatively the same,'' and even though I knew what a load of bull that was when she said that to me, I was shocked into silence. I knew the basics of most religions, but I didn't know enough to actually talk to her about it. So this book really gave me some things to tell her!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    So What's the Difference?: A Look at 20 Worldviews, Faiths and How They Compare to Christianity

    I find it funny that people in school, college or whatever say that I should be tolerant of every religion, that everyone has their own opinion, that I shouldn't tell people what to think and what to do---but my answer to that is, ''Why are you telling me what to think? Why are you being so intolerant of me? I have my own opinion about this matter, you know--stop telling me what to do.'' They even said that all religions are equally righteous and honorable! I almost laughed right in their face! This was after I read this book, so I had some interesting things to tell them...that made them stop bugging me about it. This was a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Religious comparisons

    Interesting book comparing major elements of major religious denominations and religions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    It was actually very good

    The author made some very good points that I never would have thought of, but seemed so obvious once he stated them. He did an extremely good job explaining other religions, though didn't go into too much depth--that's good, because I would have gotten really bored if he did. So, yeah, he explained all the important things about other religions, then explained how different it was from Christianity. Overall, 'So, what's the difference?' was very well and smartly written, and is well worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Agree to Disagree

    This book does exactly what it states -- compares the major world religions to Christianity. The author states clearly his objective from the beginning of the book. Each major religion's history and practices are described, though not in great depth, then followed by a brief summary of how it differs from Christianity. This is a useful book if you want to better understand those with beliefs different from you own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1