Customer Reviews for

So Yesterday

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another amazing novel by Scott Westerfeld

My favorite Scott Westerfeld book! So Yesterday is witty, hilarious, and generally fantastic. It will make you think about society, consumerism, and advertising. Also, shoes. A fun read that somehow gets across much more than what the story is on the surface. The protag...
My favorite Scott Westerfeld book! So Yesterday is witty, hilarious, and generally fantastic. It will make you think about society, consumerism, and advertising. Also, shoes. A fun read that somehow gets across much more than what the story is on the surface. The protagonist, Hunter (one of my favorite characters in a book, ever), narrates the story, and random bits of knowledge, urban myths, etc. are interspersed with the current happenings of the story. So Yesterday is lively and entertaining, and well worth the few hours it takes to read.

posted by Tess22 on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ummm?

I grabbed this book after I read Pretties by the same author....the book it just kind of confused me...I never really got the point of the book, it was well written and interesting, but why....I just don't get the crux of the story to be completely honest. It is possibl...
I grabbed this book after I read Pretties by the same author....the book it just kind of confused me...I never really got the point of the book, it was well written and interesting, but why....I just don't get the crux of the story to be completely honest. It is possible I missed it (which is probably the case) but nevertheless it was nothing in comparison to Pretties.

posted by Perry-the-Ducktipus on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Amazing Book

    This book allows readers to fall into the world of consumerism and the materialistic tendencies of American Teens, alongside telling a delightful tale typical to said teens. Westerfeld is able to connect with the reader on a variety of levels through this book, and the plot remains interesting, despite what appears to be a shallow subject on the surface.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Truly Original

    This book was great and it was suprisingly original. I read a bunch of teen fiction and it all becomes the same but this was a nice change!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another amazing novel by Scott Westerfeld

    My favorite Scott Westerfeld book! So Yesterday is witty, hilarious, and generally fantastic. It will make you think about society, consumerism, and advertising. Also, shoes. A fun read that somehow gets across much more than what the story is on the surface. The protagonist, Hunter (one of my favorite characters in a book, ever), narrates the story, and random bits of knowledge, urban myths, etc. are interspersed with the current happenings of the story. So Yesterday is lively and entertaining, and well worth the few hours it takes to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Liv's Book Reviews

    I've been wanting to read this book for a long time. Because knowing Scott Westerfeld, it had to be good. I've read all the Uglies books, the Midnighters books, and the Peeps books, and fell in love with them, and thankfully that didn't change for So Yesterday. The one thing that cracked me up about this book was how Hunter kept talking about how he came to New York from Minnesota and how he had to change all his Minnesotan ways to actually become cool. Ah, boy. Do us northerners really have such a bad reputation as being hicks? Sure, Target is our favorite store, we bundle up in hideous parkas to brave the frozen winters, and use the term Uff Da on a daily basis, but I didn't think we were so uncool as to be referenced in a book all about coolness. I think that's really funny! And a book that makes me laugh is a good one for sure. I loved, loved, loved So Yesterday because of its whole vibe. It subtly draws you in and uses a bunch of radical ideas to keep your attention. I enjoyed thinking about the innovators, the jammers, the Hoi Aristoi. If that stuff was actually real, would I even know it? It was neat to get a peek of what could possibly happen behind the scenes of pop culture as we know it. The writing was smooth, the characters were created with detail, and the ending was great possibly left open for a sequel? I hope... I highly recommend So Yesterday. It will captivate you, spark your interest, and make you think about things you never thought you'd have to think about. :P

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ummm?

    I grabbed this book after I read Pretties by the same author....the book it just kind of confused me...I never really got the point of the book, it was well written and interesting, but why....I just don't get the crux of the story to be completely honest. It is possible I missed it (which is probably the case) but nevertheless it was nothing in comparison to Pretties.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Good

    Uglies series is way way better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    just sad.

    um ok so i have love love loved all the other books by scott westerfled i have read, pretties, peeps, and midnighters, so when i picked this book from the library i was really happy to read another good book. too bad it wasnt, i couldnt even read past page 60.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    An okay book.

    Hunter is a 'Trendsetter', someone who finds the newest coolest thing and then makes it widely popular. When Hunter's boss, Mandy, goes missing, it's up to him and Jen, an innovative and bold girl he met in a park, to find out where she went. They soon find themselves in a web of connected but seemingly unassociated things, like a building of the coolest shoes anyone has ever seen, a product called Poo-Sham that turns people's hair purple and doesn't exist, a magazine called Hoi Aristoi, a woman on roller skates, and a group that calls themselves the Jammers who have apparently dedicated to ungluing the world of cool as Hunter knows it.

    Overall, it was an okay book. It's not one of my favorites, but I did like the way the character's thoughts and insights were described. It left too many loose ends, and it's very difficult to understand how everything is connected. I was expecting a lot more because the plot was coming from so many different places, building and adding up to this big reveal that just kind of flopped. I didn't like the ending that much, bu it was a general, all-over okay-in-a-good-way book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    One of the first books I read by this author. The other cover wa

    One of the first books I read by this author. The other cover was really good and as you read you notice the objects that were mentioned are also on the cover. Anyway, this was a good at times, weird, but interesting none the less. the other series I read by him was the peeps series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. Scott Westerfeld¿s book, So Yesterda

    I really enjoyed this book. Scott Westerfeld’s book, So Yesterday, is a fast-paced book with various cliff-hangers.
     The book is mainly about a 17 year old boy, Hunter, who is a cool-hunter. A cool hunter is a person who is payed to find what is cool and what is not.
     One day he meets a risk taking innovator who will change his world. She changes how he sees and contributes to the world’s fashion sense.
      He is soon sent to a mission to find his boss with the help of his new friend. He finds some clues to where his boss might be. He is taken into a race to truth.
     Hunter might actually see that he has believed in the wrong things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great

    Great book!I loved it from the start!I reccomend this highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    Another book I did not purchase; how are these books winding up on my account?

    I did not read this book.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!!

    I have read scott westerfeld's other books and i found this book really good. it sort of confused me a bit, but i liked how he brought up interesting facts and stories. really makes you think

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    Not Impressive

    I didn't think that this book was up to Scott Westerfeld's usual standards. I have read some of his other books, and so far, the majority of them have been really good. However, this book lacked some of the intrigue I got from the others. It had a different quality that I, personally, didn't care for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    "We are all around you. "You don't think abou

    "We are all around you.

    "You don't think about us much because we are invisible. Well, not exactly invisible. A lot of us have hair dyed in four colors, or wear five-inch platform sneakers, or carry enough metal in our skin that it's a hassle getting on an airplane. Quite visible, actually, come to think of it.

    "But we don't wear signs saying what we are. After all, if you knew what we were up to, we couldn't work our magic. We have to observe carefully and push and prompt you in ways you don't notice. Like good teachers, we let you think you discovered the truth on your own.

    "And you need us. Someone has to guide you, to mold you, to make sure that today turns to yesterday on schedule. Because frankly, without us to monitor the situation, who knows what would get crammed down your throats?

    "It's not like you can just start making your own decisions, after all."

    Hunter Braque is always on top of the latest trends. Mostly because he helps make sure they become trends. As a seventeen-year-old with his own background in the whirlwind world of innovation and style, Hunter knows exactly how to spot Innovators--the people who do something before it's cool. The people who define cool.

    When Hunter's best client disappears it will take all of his connections to track her down as he teams up with an Innovator, uncovers a mystery surrounding the coolest sneakers he's ever seen and gets to the bottom of the shadowy world that lurks behind all of the trends and innovations in So Yesterday (2004) by Scott Westerfeld.

    So Yesterday is generally grouped into Westerfeld's New York Trilogy which is not actually a trilogy. It's one of his earlier novels, set in New York City and also a rare non-fantasy title. (The other books in this "trilogy" are the vampire-apocalyptic books Peeps and The Last Days.)

    Although this book is a departure for Westerfeld's usual fare of science fiction and fantasy adventures, the prose is still decidedly his with the expected blend of wit and trivia along with excellent turns of phrase. (True story: One of my all-time favorite quotes is from this book!)

    Hunter is understandably interested in trends so the book is filled with odd bits of information about the origins of ties, or more specifically cravats, among other things. And don't let the realistic setting fool you--there is still tons of action to be had as Hunter chases down sneakers, avoids thugs and seeks help from shady figures with names like Futura Garamond (another true story: This book introduced me to both of those font faces which I now use all the time!).

    So Yesterday is a fast, strange book that readers who enjoy sardonic humor, New York City, or the stories behind the latest It Thing (or all of those at the same time!) is sure to enjoy.

    Possible Pairings: The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney, New York City: A Short History by George J. Lankevich, Proxy by Alex London, Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City by Kirsten Miller, Vicious by V. E. Schwab

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Johanthan from holly

    Go to book 9

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I give this book five stars because there are a lot of mysteries

    I give this book five stars because there are a lot of mysteries that they main character has to solve, like finding his boss. This book is about Hunter, the main character who is a trendsetter. He looks for the coolest things that he finds walking around and then makes it very popular. When Hunter and a girl he meets, Jen, try to meet up with Hunter's boss Mandy, they find out that she has gone missing, so it is all up to them to find her. When he goes through many obstacles to find Mandy it makes the book hard to put down. I would suggest this book to anyone because it has cool facts like "The first person to make a phone call from a New York Street was Martin Cooper in 1973", that make the book interesting. Also it is cool to find what Hunter takes pictures of, like a pair of shoes that have shoes laces that spread out like a fan. This book is great, and is a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Good book

    Don't get me wrong, I love the Uglies series. But PLEASE do not compare this book and that series. This is good; if it was by any other author it would have five stars. So please do not complain that Uglies was better. It was. But this book was amazing too. Give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Unknown

    I really like the uglies series by this author way more

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Good

    It was a decent book. I liked it butit was not amazing because of the plot. It was aa bit underdeveloped. (The plot.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5