Customer Reviews for

Soar: The Breakthrough Treatment for Fear of Flying

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Well worth every penny! I bought the book and cd program. Capt

    Well worth every penny! I bought the book and cd program. Captain Tom Bunn's easy-to-understand and remember methods to overcome the fear of flying is genius! It has definitely made a difference in my life; I can now board a plane and actually enjoy the flight without having a preflight anxiety attack or complete panic attack on the plane. THANK YOU - Caption Tom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This program ACTUALLY WORKS! After a terrifying flight involving

    This program ACTUALLY WORKS!
    After a terrifying flight involving turbulence and radar shutdown at airports, I was afraid to get on another plane. I read a different book on how to conquer my fear and thought I had my fear in control. Got on a plane and endured 4 panic attacks coming and going before I got home. Gave up and stayed off planes until I used Tom's program with book, cds and phone counseling. Then, after 20 years off airplanes, I walked on a plane, holding my daughter's hand, and flew cross country without a single problem. Seemed miraculous! But I was fine on the return trip also. Who knew the problem could actually be defeated?
    This is an amazing way to restore your ability to fly. Don't give up- it really can happen. Well worth the cost and effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Great help to overcoming those awful fears!

    Great help to overcoming those awful fears!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Wow - what a difference a book can make. Tom Bunn's method of br

    Wow - what a difference a book can make. Tom Bunn's method of breaking through all of the elements of the fear of flying is truly effective. The fear of flying is made up of so many smaller fears (claustrophobia, lack of control, fear of hijacking, inability to escape, a misunderstanding of the physics involved, and many more) and he manages to address every one. This has made such a change in my life as he gives you a much clearer understanding of what is going on in the brain and what you can do to make your own natural defences kick in automatically. He also gives you the tools to take the edge off of any anxiety you may feel, and I have found that the 5,4,3,2,1 exercise has helped me in other situations not just at airports.
    If you think you are different and nothing can help you - you are wrong! Give Tom Bunn's SOAR a try and you will be amazed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    If you have struggled with fear of flying,  you must meet  Capta

    If you have struggled with fear of flying,  you must meet  Captain Tom Bunn.   He
    has developed a remarkable and successful program to treat this disabling fear by combining
     neurology, psychology and a complete education in aerodynamics.  I was grounded for 15 years before finding
    this unique approach.  I just returned from my first flight and traveled with comfort instead of panic attacks !  His 
    book includes everything from his course. It  has changed my life by opening up the world to me. I
    recommend this hopeful and powerful technique.  You will be be thrilled by the results. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    TOM THE AUTHOR HELPED ME TREMENDOUSLY. I HADN"T FLOWN IN OV

    TOM THE AUTHOR HELPED ME TREMENDOUSLY. I HADN"T FLOWN IN OVER 30 YRS AND FOLLOWING CAPT.,TOMS PLAN REASURED ME AND AFTER LISTENING TO HIS CDS AND CALLING HIM NUMERIOUS TIMES I WAS ABLE TO GET ON THE PLANE AFTER ALL THAT TIME. NOW I BOUGHT HIS WONDERFUL BOOK WHICH I WISH I HAD WITH ME BEFORE...BUT IF YOU THINK U CANT READ IT AND YOU WILL....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    I write this review both an an anxious flyer and a psychotherapi

    I write this review both an an anxious flyer and a psychotherapist who has studied the human mind and emotions in some depth. This book utilizes the latest understandings and research on brain neurochemistry and attachment theory to address the root causes of flight anxiety, both anticipatory before the flight and during the flight. To link the two, understanding of the mind and flight anxiety, took a lot of creativity, innovation and imagination, resulting in a breakthrough book for practical, easy-to-understand ways to reduce flight anxiety to manageable levels. I have tried it both for myself and with my patients, with excellent results. And by the way, the principles work for other types of anxiety as well. I highly recommend this book, both for professionals and the anxious flyer alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    The newest book from long time pilot and therapist Captain Tom B

    The newest book from long time pilot and therapist Captain Tom Bunn takes a unique approach when it comes to dealing with a fear of flying. In short, he brings the systematic and logical approach of an aviator to address anxieties and fears that make it difficult or impossible for some people to fly. Because of this approach, Captain Bunn is able to explain the foundation for his methods for treating fear of flying in terms that make sense to the average passenger.

    With this book, Captain Bunn has provided both fearful flyers and other airline passengers with three distinct benefits. The first is his conceptual model of how the mind experiences and deals with fear, explaining it in terms that are understandable to someone who is not an expert in psychology or sociology. His second benefit is how he explains the basics of airline operations in ways that demystifies the mechanics of flight and gives an average passenger a very clear idea of how pilots can calmly deal with situations that can lead to debilitating anxiety in a fearful flyer.

    Using his conceptual model of the mind as a foundation, Captain Bunn provided his third and most significant benefit by creating numerous resources and techniques that allow a passenger to systematically use his or her mind to consciously and unconsciously control fear.

    The basic SOAR approach is to first help a fearful flyer understand the basis of their fears and how they react to fear inducing stress, and then to show them how to automatically regulate and control their flight anxiety. The book, which is based on Captain Bunn's decades of experience helping thousands of fearful flyers, asks the reader to do two things, the intellectual task of reading the book, and the emotional task of working through numerous exercises that when completed will provide a fearful passenger with numerous tools and techniques to address their anxieties before, during, and after a flight.

    At first glance, it may seem that aviation and psychology don't have much in common, but Captain Bunn manages to combine elements of both worlds in his book. Like a pilot who has a combination of systems to fly a plane under normal and stressful conditions, so too does a human being have multiple systems to control emotions. As with an aircraft, there may be systems that run for the most part automatically or are used for routine situations, and others that come into play during stressful situations or when primary systems fail or are overwhelmed. So too with the mind, where an automated, unconsciously controlled system for dealing with fear is moderated by several other systems that can be consciously guided and controlled by any airline passenger.

    Just like the case with an airline pilot, having multiple sophisticated control systems at your fingertips won't give you any benefit unless you have a basic understanding of how they operate, and a good working knowledge of what procedures to use and when to use them. Just as a pilot doesn't have to become an aeronautical engineer to fly a plane, a fearful passenger does not have to become a psychologist to understand how to manage their emotions. Captain Bunn's greatest gift to the reader is the way that he has successfully combined a basic explanation of how the mind deals with fear with practical instructions for how to eliminate or manage that fear.

    If you have anxieties about flying, reading this book would be a good first step toward overcoming your fear of flying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1