Customer Reviews for

The Social Climber's Handbook

Average Rating 2.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    From the description of this book, I was excited to add it to my review pile. But after reading it, I am not so sure about it. With the excessive financial talk and the crazy lady killing, I just didn't enjoy it. I would put it in the genre of dark comedy and although some may enjoy it - not really my thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    a disappointing read

    This was a very quick read, but a disappointing one as well. I was expecting much more, and to be honest I kept waiting for that "much more," but it did not deliver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Interesting Read

    This story takes place in 2008 when the crap was ready to hit the fan on Wall Street. Daisy Greenbaum's husband is a financial mogul for "The Bank" and he probably knows more about the collapse about to happen than he should and he starts to find away around the impending doom, but his boss shuts him down quite quickly. He needs to keep his mouth shut if he wants to keep his job.

    Daisy is as a socialite who lunches and who throws parties and she starts to realize that the life she has become quite accustomed to may disappear and that her husband's past mistress may not be as far in the past as her husband has led her to believe.

    Daisy decides she must take her family's future into her own hands to protect them. She will stop at nothing, even murder to protect the one's she loves.



    This is a very dark comedic look at the people most of us already hate because of the economic collapse and the huge bonuses still paid to the people in the banking industry.

    It was well-written and a fast read. I think with this book the author can stop referring to herself as the daughter of Erica Jong and stand on her own as an author. Her husband works in the financial industry so he was able to provide her with a good insight.

    I had two problems with the book. Not one character in the book was remotely likable even the Greenbaum's twin daughters. The other was that one daughter was clearly favored over the other.

    Other than that this book had some unexpected turns and was entertaining. It is definitely not a mystery novel and not really chick-lit either. I would definitely put this into some sort of "noir" category. It was with a doubt an interesting story.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Social Climber's Handbook

    Dick and Daisy Greenbaum are part of the upper end of the social ladder, until the recession hits and Dick may lose his job. Daisy doesn't want to lose her status or money, so she decides that murder is one way.

    This is not a murder mystery, but a satire of the elitist lifestyle. It is a fast paced comedy, but I feel the author tries too hard. I liked it, but didn't love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Quick, Light Read

    This novel is a satirical look at the elite social class, right when our financial world was on the brink of collapse. Daisy has always been twisted and now she's rich. She decides that killing is a much better alternative to losing her money and social status.

    I chuckled through the first third of the book. The characters and the way their situations were portrayed kept me amused. I found the second murder far too convenient and easy and none of the characters were even remotely likable. I had a hard time caring what happened to these people. For me, the humor lost its edge because there just wasn't enough substance to the story to keep me engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging satire that lampoons the upper crust's penchant at all costs (to others) to retain status

    social status. The elite power couple resides in a million dollar Park Avenue apartment while their daughters attend the best private schools. However, the recession leaves Wall St. in jeopardy and the upper crust like the Greenbaum family in jeopardy of a rapid descent down the ladder.

    Daisy refuses to allow their position to drop one iota. She needs to remove obstacles like her husband's boss and his former mistress by any reasonable means that will take them out of the picture permanently. However, she is more concerned with two bloggers investigating the company's shady financial dealings. Neither expected Daisy to stalk them for a fitting demise to their blog. As the stock market collapses so do enemies of the Greenbaum family.

    This is an engaging satire that lampoons the upper crust's penchant at all costs (to others) to retain status. The story line is fast-paced once Daisy becomes a serial killer; though her victims simplify her choosing them as they are all amorally corrupt. Although much of the sting of the tale is abated by the victims' moral bankruptcy and the not so deep focus into the exorbitance of the Let them eat cake crowd (overwhelmed by the murders), fans will enjoy the amusing Social Climber's Handbook.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1