Customer Reviews for

The Society

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Very good.

    I enjoy Mr. Palmer's style and subject matter. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Typ

    I like Palmers books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    Great Book!

    I have loved all of Michael Palmer's books and this one is no exception. Great action, full of twist and turns, could not put it down. Excellent! --K--

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    TheMeanGirls

    Is This Book Really Good i want to buy it so that i can read it do not know what it about i want to read it it look like a really good book,get me a smiley face and put the mean girls that me so who ever gets me a smiley face they got me kk $$$$$$$$$$$$$and who ever gets me a smiley face they rock and they are the best in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Nice

    Nice

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Free and Adrift [Chapter 2]

    Jacques slowly came to his senses, crawling to his knees on the rocking wood. There was an immediate sharp pain in his shoulder, and his hand flew to a tight, trailing bandage on his upper arm. Looking around curiously, he spotted a short Spanish man with his back to Jacques, trailing his hand in the water. Jacques cleared his throat slightly, and, without turning, the man said "you are awake?" Jacque muttered "yes," then spoke a bit louder. "What....what happened?" The man turned to face him, showing a weather-tanned face covered in burn scars. Jacques gasped, and the man winced, but sighed and explained. Apparently, the man was, or had been, a sailor on one of the Armada ships. When the ship caught fire, he had managed to cut out a piece of the hull with his sword. When he saw Jacques jump, he had paddled his make-shift raft towards him and pulled him aboard. The reason for violence and the bandage was that there was a drenched ship's cat clinging desperately with razor claws to Jacques' shoulder. When Jacques heard this, he gasped. "Shot! What happened to him?" "You know the rascal?" Jacques nodded vigorously and began to tell his own story. "I'm Jacques! I'm an orphan, yu see, and I had been living on that ship with Shot. That's the cat. And well, I was sleepin' in the hold when Her Majesty's men set it afire and cast it off towards the Spanish -- oh, I mean YUR -- fleet. I was able to escape, as yu probably know. I didn't know he made it too? Where 's he?" The man gestured to a shivering ball of gray fur in the corner of the raft. Jacques let out a cry of joy and stroked the furry thing's ear. A flat, ugly face looked up at him, then jumped up into his lap, cleaning his paw, as if to say "I'm fine. Give me fish." Jacques looked at the man, grinning from ear to ear. The man smiled slightly at the boy's simple happiness, and Jacques finally inquired on what he had been yearning to ask since he awoke. "Who're yu?" The man was silent for a moment, then answered. "Pedro Menendez." -- Wow! So much suspeeeeeeeense!!! :D If you're a history buff like me, you'll know that Pedro Menendez (I know it has an accent mark but I can't post it) founded the first Spanish colony in America in 1565: St. Augustine! This story happens twenty-three years afterward, so he could still possibly still be alive in this time period. It's unknown, but for Jacques, he's very much alive! Fascinating! Well, that was fun. Shot the kitty has been retrieved, and stories have been revealed. I hope you liked this chapter! If you didn't know the previous, then you just learned it! [; Thank you again, Mrs. Hammond! I'll write the next chapter will be at the next result sometime or other. I'm almost out of characters! :D -- White Rabbit Clok !_!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The End

    As ludicrous as this story is, the ending is so over the top that one wonders why author Palmer didn't take the book more seriously. He was trying to make a point about managed care, wasn't he?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    Could Have Been Better

    This was an interesting and nicely developed story until the over the top ending. How could an obviously intelligent man like Will Grant do something so stupid as to go where he went? And am I to believe that someone who was in a coma could recover in a very short time and make like Wonder woman. Get real, Dr.Palmer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    Intense, thought provoking

    This book was an excellent medical thriller with chilling insight into how greed can corrupt our current medical/health care system.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    Michael's Palmers Best

    This book was hypnotic from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    An intelligent page turner from the best of the genre!

    Dr. Michael Palmer has pulled out all the stops with his latest project attacking the dastardly HMO's in a manner most fitting. Not only is this a timely, serious novel Dr. Palmer gives his characters life and makes us care about what happens to them. Filled with riveting tension and laced with humor only an Emergency Room Doctor could portray, this is the page turner of the year. My wife, the Nurse, has only the best to say about Dr. Palmer (he is kind to nurses in his books, even the evil ones!). Buy this book, and you will be hooked on Doctor Michael Palmer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    SUSPENSEFUL VOCAL PERFORMANCE

    HMOs take up a lot of news space these days - sometimes praised, sometimes vilified. Thus, author Palmer's topic is especially timely. A physician himself he's familiar with the territory he covers. This is his 11th medical thriller and his prescriptions, as always, are pulse pounding. Fortunately for listeners, the talented J. Charles gives voice to this story of graft, greed, and murder in the managed care business. Charles is amazing. He can both seduce and scare with the sound of his voice. Murder begins our story - the deaths of several reprehensible HMO big guns in Massachusetts. Dr. Will Grant, is an honest, idealistic young physician who cares for patients in the Boston area. He wants to return the medical field to the respect it once deserved. If he could, he'd do battle with the anything-for-a-buck insurance companies who are bleeding those in need. Instead, he finds that he must fight a sick serial killer who intends to take care of HMOs his way. Will joins forces with young detective Patty Moriarity in finding the psychotic slayer before they become his next victims. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting medical thriller

    He practices medicine to help people but Dr. Will Grant is becoming increasingly frustrated with the way managed health care is short changing patients. The HMOs have absolute power in telling a doctor what they can and can not do if they want reimbursement for services rendered. Will is a member of the Hippocrates Society, an organized movement to effect change on the health care system.--- Someone apparently agrees with Will¿s assessment on the state of healthcare in America because to date four CEOs of different HMOs have been murdered. Detective Polly Moriarity at first believes that Will is a likely suspect but when she gets to know him she believes he is a dedicated doctor who wants to change the health care profession. When Will passes out in surgery, it is discovered he has a powerful narcotic in his system. Although he denies taking anything stronger than Tylenol, he gets suspended from the hospital and his medical license is revoked. While investigating a medical anomaly, he and Polly are kidnapped and are going to be killed unless Will turns over damaging x-rays that could cause certain HMOs to be in trouble with the law.--- Michael Palmer has written an exciting medical thriller that gives insight into what doctors have to go through to practice good health care in spite of HMOs and insurance procedures. The protagonist of THE SOCIETY is a true hero, willing to fight for good health care for the public. He believes a National Health Care plan that is similar to England and Canada is the best way to have quality healthcare. Michael Palmer knows how to write quality thrillers that entertain as well as educate the audience.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2