Customer Reviews for

The Sociopath Next Door

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

this is a self-help book, not a diagnostic text book

I think this book is wonderful. Of course the intent is not to get people out there labeling, slandering, and harrassing people they think are sociopaths. That would be sociopathic, wouldn't it?! This book is not a sword, its' a shield! The idea is to understa...
I think this book is wonderful. Of course the intent is not to get people out there labeling, slandering, and harrassing people they think are sociopaths. That would be sociopathic, wouldn't it?! This book is not a sword, its' a shield! The idea is to understand what it means when someone behaves this way, and know that it's not you, you can't change it, you can't cure them, and what you see may not even be real. And that the only solution in dealing with someone who is seriously wronging you in the ways described, is to remove yourself from them, stay away from them, to preserve yourself. And that there's absolutely nothing wrong or selfish about keeping yourself safe. (Which is something many a sociopath will try to convince you of.) As far as the inclusion of political figure reference. I have NO clue whether she was referring to Bush or Clinton or neither. But the fact is, both have been accused of lying, and that is a hallmark of a sociopath. Does that mean everyone who lies is a sociopath? Of course not. Are Bush or Clinton sociopaths? Who knows. Maybe, maybe not. It's impossible to know the full social workings of a celebrity, because of the very nature of celebrity. (Personally I think they're both immoral baffoons, but that's neither here nor there for the topic.) I think it's like others have said, that the author was merely pointing out behaviours which can be signs of trouble. And how they can present themselves in all walks of life, at all levels. Again this book is not meant as a psychology text book or a diagnostic tool. It is good for one thing, and one thing only - understanding the nature of why some people might operate the way they do, and to pull the scales from the eyes of those of us who previously didn't know that sociopaths do not change, that their behaviour is inherent, and it's not our fault, and not our responsibility, and beyond our control. Thereby freeing us. I can say that I felt a great relief after reading this book. Not because disillusionment is pleasant. But because enlightenment is calming.

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Soft Psychology in a New Age Package

I found this to be a highly readable study of a difficult subject-people without consciences-but in the end I was put off by its marshmallow spiritualism. Simply put, what does Buddhism and the Dalai Lama (however admirable) have to do with such an extreme condition as...
I found this to be a highly readable study of a difficult subject-people without consciences-but in the end I was put off by its marshmallow spiritualism. Simply put, what does Buddhism and the Dalai Lama (however admirable) have to do with such an extreme condition as psychopathy? I felt a little as if I was standing in the Born-Again choir watching damned souls writhe in Hell. Dr. Stout's advice-Stay away from those in such straits. Well, yeah. More troublesome was the post-mortem and from-a-distance typecasting of everyone from Genghiz Khan to Charlie Manson as pure psychopaths. The concept that, while nature may make some people hard, environment may make normal people just as bad, seems lost on the author. There are conditions in life, including narcissitic personality, the affective disorders, plus plain old self-centeredness, that create effects quite similar to psychopathy. This, along with the possibility that a weak conscience under extreme conditions might lead to no conscience, (sociopathy), is not explored. Overall, a disappointment. Read Dr. Hare's WITHOUT CONSCIENCE for more concrete insights into the subject. The ultimate fictional account of the condition, one of the scariest books ever written, is William March's BAD SEED. Go to your library for this one-it's out of print- or see the great movie with Pattie McCormick.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    this is a self-help book, not a diagnostic text book

    I think this book is wonderful. Of course the intent is not to get people out there labeling, slandering, and harrassing people they think are sociopaths. That would be sociopathic, wouldn't it?! This book is not a sword, its' a shield! The idea is to understand what it means when someone behaves this way, and know that it's not you, you can't change it, you can't cure them, and what you see may not even be real. And that the only solution in dealing with someone who is seriously wronging you in the ways described, is to remove yourself from them, stay away from them, to preserve yourself. And that there's absolutely nothing wrong or selfish about keeping yourself safe. (Which is something many a sociopath will try to convince you of.) As far as the inclusion of political figure reference. I have NO clue whether she was referring to Bush or Clinton or neither. But the fact is, both have been accused of lying, and that is a hallmark of a sociopath. Does that mean everyone who lies is a sociopath? Of course not. Are Bush or Clinton sociopaths? Who knows. Maybe, maybe not. It's impossible to know the full social workings of a celebrity, because of the very nature of celebrity. (Personally I think they're both immoral baffoons, but that's neither here nor there for the topic.) I think it's like others have said, that the author was merely pointing out behaviours which can be signs of trouble. And how they can present themselves in all walks of life, at all levels. Again this book is not meant as a psychology text book or a diagnostic tool. It is good for one thing, and one thing only - understanding the nature of why some people might operate the way they do, and to pull the scales from the eyes of those of us who previously didn't know that sociopaths do not change, that their behaviour is inherent, and it's not our fault, and not our responsibility, and beyond our control. Thereby freeing us. I can say that I felt a great relief after reading this book. Not because disillusionment is pleasant. But because enlightenment is calming.

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An eye-opener

    I used this book as part of my research for a graduate school term-paper. Most of the information was useful and pretty accuarate, however, for the level of work that I needed to do, Dr. Stout's information conflicted a little bit with my other research. The terms "sociopath" and "psychopath" are used interchangably by most of the general public, and although they are similar, there are still some significant differences. The main one being that psychopaths primarily do not have a conscience, and sociopaths do have a conscience, but play by their own set of rules to justify their deceit and manipulation, as with the majority of the criminal element. And, unlike what most people believe, most psychopaths are not outwardly violent or crazy, and they are not all serial killers or in prisons. They also live out in the world with us. The traits that Dr. Stout uses to describe sociopaths are very helpful to keep in mind, and I appreciated her advice on what those of us with a conscience can do to protect ourselves. That is pretty much all we can do, because they will not stop. They will move from person to person until they use us up and wear us out. I speak from experience. I was married to this type of person for 10 years, not understanding why my life was so in chaos. This book helped me to comprehend how and why I was gaslighted. This is a term used in the book to explain how a person without a conscience uses deceit, manipulation, sympathy and guilt to distort your sense of reality, to where you no longer know what is true and not true. It's been a tough road to get my life back on track, but now that things are going much better for me, I realize that nearly all of the bad things that happened to me had little to do with me, and more to do with the things that he did. I made bad choices based on wrong information, lies, broken promises and the guilt he used by telling me that I was not a good wife for not helping (enabling) him. I was abused emotionally, psychologically, verbally, physically and financially. It did not start out this way, but happened very slowly and methodically by him over a long period of time. He was similar to the husband described in the book, the one who did not desire to work and made little efforts on his own, preferring to live off the sweat and hard work put forth by others. I would recommend following the advice Dr. Stout offers throughout the book. You do not know how deeply you are sucked in until you are all the way in, and then have to dig yourself back out. Protect your children, especially your daughters, from people like this, particularly men that they would potentially date or marry. Do not be afraid to speak up if something does not feel right. Actions speak louder than words. Learn to look at people's actions and see if their words match. The superficial charm and flattery that sociopaths and psychopaths use can cloud your judgement. I am thankful for everything I learned by my experiences. Once you go through something so bad, you recognize when you find what is good, and appreciate it so much more. We all have only one life. Make sure that it is the best that you can make it. This book will teach you how to do that.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A TOTAL EYE OPENER!

    This book was recommended to me by one of my friends. I am extremely impressed with the knowledge and wisdom of Marth Stout. A very easy read, well written and an amazing book written sucinctly about the Sociopaths. Hats off to Lady Doctor Marth Stout! I wish I could meet this amazing and incredibly smart, talented and gifted author in person. A must read for all Psychology majors and Criminal Justice majors.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    The book the average family should read

    This book wasn't written to cover all of the details of psychopathy - it was written to jolt the average reader into an awareness of their environment. In this respect it deserves 5 stars... if you are coming to this subject fresh it's going to be a shocker and it should be. Dr. Stout provides us with the awareness we need to recognize the sociopaths in our lives, and for that the book belongs in every home. (Politics? Really? I missed that. Of course, I thought she was talking about Clinton, not Bush. Ha!) One reviewer mentioned a disappointment with diagnosing political figures. I couldn't agree more. You can't - and should never - diagnose from a distance. But my impression was that she was giving examples of behavior that appears sociopathic so that the lay person recognizes it easier. I may be wrong. In any case, our understanding of these people is poor, and just beginning, Hopefully this work will spur some interest by the public. One of the strongest points of this book is that it looks at the average sociopath, and doesn't focus just on the serially violent.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    This is a Must Read!

    Having had first-hand experience over a long period of time with a sociopath, this book really hit home with me. It's absolutely essential that EVERYONE know how to spot one and this book is a great starting point to help you along with that knowledge. Read this book and while you're at it, recommend it to everyone you know.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Learned so much

    Wow what an informative book, even if you have no psychology background .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    A must read if you deal with difficult people!

    I am fascinated by this book and plan to read it again soon. If you work or deal with difficult people who seem to find enjoyment in sabotaging your work and relationships then you will want to read this book immediately. The book is well written and the case studies are both interesting and, at times, chilling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Excellent book! Well written!!

    I was blown away before the end of the first chapter and wound up reading the entire book in one sitting! Stout will scare you with her insight and knowledge on this subject... be prepared to see the world in a whole new light!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Superb!

    This is a book for all to read. Informative and applicable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    This book opens your eyes!

    What a way to open your eyes to another world that most people do not understand. I am a Master's student of Psychology and Antisocial Personality Disorder is a complicated world. This book puts it into a perspective that is easy for everyone to understand. My sister is a sociopath, and in order to protect myself from her, I needed to dislodge her from my life. I am able to connect to this book in more ways than one and am constantly recommending it as well as lending it out to people. Definite read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    Finally! A word to fit this horrible situation!

    When I got married my dear husband assured me that his 30-year marriage to his deceased (from cancer) wife was blissfully happy and normal. When he brought me home to the house they shared, I was shocked! The house screamed of the grossest emotional abuse I have ever seen or heard of. My journey for answers started with narcissism, but this condition doesn't begin to touch the black-hearted evil left here. My mother, for example plays cruel mind games but she has a social conscience. When my cousin feels shame she throws money at somebody, usually blessing their lives. A music teacher at my kids' high school offers his students a talent they can treasure for the rest of their lives. My ex is just a garden variety slug. My husband's first wife, in contrast, destroyed his house, his finances, his family, his personal and professional reputation, his health. And then used the pity play among the church community to make certain that he was blamed for it all. And she dragged 3 of her daughters with her into this pit. They continue to fight the war their mother started, in her blessed name. There are 3 main factors in my husband's life that helped him through this nightmare--a job that takes him out of town frequently, immersion in the practice of our religion and clueless denial. Without any one of these things, he would have been dead long ago, for she truly tried to kill him. The good news is that after only 2 short years after her death he is beginning to feel safe enough to take serious measures to improve his health, and to dig himself out of the junk and garbage she buried him under. And he's remarkably good at defending himself, even though it's all still subconsious. The road to recovery will be very long indeed. But every day shows me, and others, the wonderful gifts hidden inside this man. And he is most definitely worth every step of the journey.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Four percent of us determines history

    At once profound and down to earth, Martha Stout, clinical psychologist--specializing in victims of sociopaths--takes us through true-to-life case studies all the while interpreting the thoughts and emotions of the sociopathic personality as well as those of his or her victims. Sociopaths are often charismatic, beguiling, smart, and attractive, which just feeds into their need for control. Stout does all this in very readable style. In both plain and technical terms, she analyzes just what it means to live without a conscience--with no concern for others. Of greater importance, Stout illustrates superbly just how disrupive such lives can be to both the sociopath and the rest of us. One in 25 of us lives next door to one if not with one. They look just like us. Their behavior in public normally does not give them away. Nevertheless, Stout illustrates how to recognize and deal with these amoral creatures. She offers hope for the future from logic based on 25 years of clinical experience, not wishful thinking. The antisocial fringe will laugh at her book. The rest of us should read it carefully and absorb its lessons. They bear critically on our times, for history mainly recounts the misdeeds and too few deeds of this personality type when it holds the reins of power.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    An astounding achievement. And an essential guide. No book will ever serve you better or remain longer in the mind.

    Dr Stout's compelling account of people bereft of genuine emotion and conscience is as important as it is beautifully written. The Sociopath Next Door is a gripping read about those who have are unable to know real remorse or love. Sociopaths are dangerous by definition. They live to control, manipulate, and win. Yet, strangely, they are some of the most interesting and attractive people we will ever meet. Sociopaths are gracious, charming, attractive, and a menace to all who come close. Stout calls them 'Ice People.' It's not that they are killers, or criminals, though some clearly are. Most are people we meet in everyday life: lovers, relatives, fellow workers, even parents. Sociopaths are incapable of remorse. Stout's advise is to stay away, wholly, completely. There is no winning and no compromise with a sociopath. The only safety is distance. Interwoven in these amazing narratives-composites taken from a long clinical practice and many years of luminous academic experience- is one of the best discussions of the nature of conscience to be found in contemporary letters. Stout's book has been as controversial as it has been successful. Perhaps it is her literary, philosophical or scientific and sociological range that confounds some. Or, maybe it is her hauntingly lyric language that puzzles others. For victims of sociopaths--and eventually, nearly all of us have had [or will have] encounters with people who turned out to be harmful, and were deliberately so--- this is an important book. Indeed, it is mandatory reading. By dent of the sheer prevalence of sociopathy [one in twenty five, at least¿male and female alike], we are bound to encounter sociopaths. Their only purpose is to use us and make us less. As sharks have to swim and feed, sociopaths can do no other than bring us low when it serves their interests. This book is an amazingly useful admonition. No book will ever serve you better or remain longer in the mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I picked up this book after a year and a half recovery from a re

    I picked up this book after a year and a half recovery from a relationship with someone who I now believe to be a sociopath.  For those who doubt the book's, or subjects veracity I would say you've never been involved on a personal level with someone who has this disorder.  These are extremely dangerous people who appear to be genuine, caring human beings but really are missing empathy and the ability to attach themselves to others emotionally.  I personally suffered a nervous breakdown along with PTSD and severe depression from being in love with someone who had turned out to have almost every symptom of antisocial personality disorder.  I've read some book reviews that poke at some of the context of the book and its chapters on spirituality and so forth, but the ability to love and empathize is connected to the soul and these people were either not born with one or lost theirs along the way.  Also I've seen some remarks about the author stirring up paranoia over the subject, but again the subject and the people who possess this disorder are VERY real.  Life is a game control, manipulation, lying, and ultimately winning whatever they are after, whatever the cost, without regard for the damage and devastation they cause to other people.  If you've never had an up close and personal situation with a sociopath, consider yourself lucky and try and absorb the information in the book regardless, along with the other reading material mentioned by other reviewers.  It may seem far-fetched to you now, but if you ever become involved with one of the monsters in some way in the future may the material with help you pay a little more attention to the red-flags in you sub-conscience and act accordingly. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    An elegant book with great narrative strength,

    Stout's book is written with astonishing clarity and great narrative strength. The book, in hard cover for over year, was a huge seller. And rightly so. No 'self help book' was ever so so compelling or useful to explain the inevitable confrontation we all have--or will-- with evil in some form or another. The Sociopath Next Door has a scary cover. But its purpose is not frighten us rather, it is crafted to cope by naming what otherwise might seem all but unfathomable. A winner of this year's 'Books for a Better Life' competition. The hard back became an instant classic, and will be rightly seen as necessary reading as long as there is otherwise inexplicable evil. An elegant book, filled with timeless truth and helpful guides to the mystery victims always ask: 'why did they do?' Stout's answer, is cold comfort and a hard, but essential truth: 'because they could.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book can be life-saving! Readers are presented with sharp t

    This book can be life-saving! Readers are presented with sharp tools to face cruel predators who seek out kind, generous people and then zero in for the kill. Sociopaths don't think or feel, unless about their own desires.

    Has your body ever signalled that you're being used, mis-treated or that something is off? Dr. Stout urges her readers to acknowledge these flashes of insight and to pay attention to their feelings. Dr. Stout provides chilling examples of those who failed to listen.

    The rampancy of sociopathy is stunning, mainly because kind people are reluctanct to 'judge others' or 'say anything', even as they are being bullied, robbed blind and abused.

    Sociopaths are responsible for all manner financial abuses and for ladder-climbing abuses (they'll not hesitate to aggrandize themselves as they misrepresent your accomplishments) They are shameless 'takers' who'll rob you blind and then make the disaster all YOUR fault.

    This easy-read teaches good people how to identify and deal with users. Education is the best prevention. Eleanor Cowan, author of 'A History of a Pedophile's Wife.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Brilliant and insightful

    A startling, compelling depiction of a terrifying condition and a skillfull, fascinating indictment of a culture that shields and encourages it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    A good book to protect yourself from people that use their mind instead of gun.

    I have met people and always wondered how they got that way and wanted to protect myself from people like this that appear normal until you can become a victim. It was recommended to me because I am a very trusting person. It should be required for young adults before the marry people like this because they are very believable but there are signs to look for. Very easy to read with a doctor who has treated their victims.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Scary

    Scary but interesting and insightful. Makes me grateful that I am "normal."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Disturbing

    It is disturbing to know there are people among us with no conscious but it does explain people I have encountered in my life. Very enlightening book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5