Customer Reviews for

Socks from the Toe Up: Essential Techniques and Patterns from Wendy Knits

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book for every sock knitter.

    This book is filled with lots of wonderful sock patterns. They are great for beginners, but still wonderful and interesting for those more advanced knitters. She provides clean and easy to understand directions, as well as size information so that the finished socks willfit your foot.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Socks From the Toe Up

    Excellent sock book. This is my firt "sock toe up" book. Wonderful explanation from start to finish. Great pictures and diagrams as well.I would highly recommend this book to any one want to learn to knit socks!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Have for any Sock Knitter!

    I very highly recommend "Socks from the Toe Up" by Wendy Johnson! Wendy's patterns are amazing, but not only that, I learned her toe-up gusset heel flap, and it's finally stuck! The toe-up gusset heel flap fits my foot (and my mom's foot) wonderfully, but she also includes instructions for other heels. There is a lot of information about tools (double pointed needles, 2 circulars, 1 long circular, as well as other notions) and sock yarn in the book, as well as several wonderful patterns. The patterns are separated into 4 sections - basics, lacy patterns, textured patterns, and patterns for heavier (sportweight vs. fingeringweight) sock yarns. The photography in this book is wonderful, and the socks are showcased brilliantly.

    I think this book is a must-have for any sock knitter's library. Both beginners and more advanced sock knitters will get hours of entertainment and enjoyment out of this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Anyone can knit socks with this book!

    Like many knitters, I hate finishing. With the instructions in this book, you can knit socks without using the kitchener stitch or having to pick up stitches at the gusset! No seams, no finishing, just knitting straight through. The patterns are interesting and enjoyable for experienced knitters, and because of the simplicity of design, I'd recommend it for first time sock knitters as well.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Love to be Stocking Footed

    What a great "second step" book! First step, I took a "magic loop" circular needle sock class at a local knit shop and mastered that technique quickly in a beginning sock pattern, and then loved taking a "second step" with this book and her "magic cast on" and toe up techniques. What a delight to go right to the gansey sock patterns ... so decorative and yet so simple to follow. Will try the lacey ones next. I'm hooked and am so pleased I have this book for inspiration.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    knitting socks, so easy

    This book is wonderful for the beginner as well as the advanced sock knitter. It gives you many options to try. The heel can be so intimidating and this book takes that away.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    great book!

    I love toe up sock knitting. This book, along with Chrissy Gardiner's book 'Toe Up' are my favorites. Chrissy's book doesn't seem to be available for my nook but hopefully her next book will be! Highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you like knitting socks, this is a great book

    A new way to knit socks. I love knitting socks two at a time on circular needles--this book was great for that technique. Easy to understand directions and lots of pictures.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Excellent sock book!

    I had tried to learn to knit socks cuff down but really struggled to finish them and they were just a basic ribbed sock. Wendy's instructions made it easy to understand each step as well as show me that a lace pattern isn't as hard as it looks and socks are so much more fun when they fit right! Anyone who wants to knit a pair of socks should have this book. It's a lifesaver with easy to follow instructions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    love, LoVe, lOve, LOVE

    I will make every pattern this book. It is well layed out and informative in every aspect. A fantastic purchase!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2