Customer Reviews for

A Soft Place to Land

Average Rating 3
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

wondering why?

This book is not what I had expected and I am still scratching my head wondering why the parents would make the decision that they did for their daughters. Logically, yes I get it, but I can't imagine splitting up my children for their sakes.
I think of this book ofte...
This book is not what I had expected and I am still scratching my head wondering why the parents would make the decision that they did for their daughters. Logically, yes I get it, but I can't imagine splitting up my children for their sakes.
I think of this book often when I wonder how one daughters life could have been different. We are placed in situations and I know that I wonder how things could have been different if I would done things differently.

This is a thinker kind of book (was for me anyway) afterwards, so in opinion I really enjoyed it.

posted by Lennon on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I don't know what to think.....

I disliked this book, and at the same time, I really liked it. I gave it 3 stars because it did make me feel emotional and connected to the characters, however, it was much more Ruthie's story than it was Julia's.

I guess I recommend it, and I guess it was good sinc...
I disliked this book, and at the same time, I really liked it. I gave it 3 stars because it did make me feel emotional and connected to the characters, however, it was much more Ruthie's story than it was Julia's.

I guess I recommend it, and I guess it was good since I finished it in a day!

posted by Annibebe on October 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wondering why?

    This book is not what I had expected and I am still scratching my head wondering why the parents would make the decision that they did for their daughters. Logically, yes I get it, but I can't imagine splitting up my children for their sakes.
    I think of this book often when I wonder how one daughters life could have been different. We are placed in situations and I know that I wonder how things could have been different if I would done things differently.

    This is a thinker kind of book (was for me anyway) afterwards, so in opinion I really enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "A Soft Place to Land"

    Two half-sisters, sent to live apart from each other after the death of their mother and father/step-father. Julia is sent to live with her biological father and his wife; Ruthie, now an orphan, goes to live with relatives she doesn't really know. The loss to both is great, both in family and in each other. Each girl must make choices in her life, all the while needing reassurance from the other. Traveling alone can be hard and the burdens cumbersome. What happens while they are apart? What happens when the opportunity comes for Ruthie to return to their old house? How do these sisters deal with secrets, and what happens when betrayal enters the picture? Will these sisters find in each other "A Soft Place to Land"?

    I enjoyed this book, and have discussed it with others in one of my reading groups. Our discussion covered things like: choices parents make without really thinking (guardianship), bonds between sisters (siblings), the effects the death of parents have on children, betrayal, and forgiveness. It would be great to have a sequel to tie up the loose ends. This book works with our without a group, although it is better to have someone to discuss with because there are things you WILL want to rant about. <grin>

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    susan Rebecca White has made a new fan!

    A Soft Place to Land is a very touching, inspiring and emotional read. Susan Rebecca White does a fantastic job at drawing you into the story and makes you feel like you really know the characters. Her writing style is believable. I simply can't wait to read more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    A good discussion book

    "A Soft Place to Land" by Susan Rebecca White is the kind of book that reading groups and book clubs will like - the issues it brings up are sure to spark good discussions. After their parents are killed, half-sisters Ruthie and Julia are seperated as per their parents will. Julia lives in Virginia with her father and stepmother and Ruthie lives in San Francisco with her aunt and uncle. One sister thrives and one leads a very different kind of life. Their relationship is tested and stretched to the breaking point. I think this is one of those books that is an "okay" read but a very stimulating book to discuss."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice!

    This is a nice very nice book. Susan is a good writer I'm looking forward to her next book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2