BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Soft Target

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rolling on the Floor Laughing

Mr Hunter, it would seem, wears his politics on his sleeve. The incompetent chief of the Minnesota State Police is a Kenyan, Mr. Obobo who is a graduate of Harvard and Harvard Law. Obobo drifts through one top assignment after another. He and his loyal sidekick decid...
Mr Hunter, it would seem, wears his politics on his sleeve. The incompetent chief of the Minnesota State Police is a Kenyan, Mr. Obobo who is a graduate of Harvard and Harvard Law. Obobo drifts through one top assignment after another. He and his loyal sidekick decide that this crisis is too good to waste and accuse Minnesotans of clinging to their guns, bibles, and resistant to change. What a hoot! I'll finish the review when I finish the book. Obobo!!! Gotta love it!

posted by JamesS on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Recommended--recreational read

Extreme characters (on both sides of the law) that are meant to stir your emotions in an over the top plot that tests the readers patience in this predictable yarn. Saying that first, it is a fun , escapist read in seeing how the author will resolve what he set up to be...
Extreme characters (on both sides of the law) that are meant to stir your emotions in an over the top plot that tests the readers patience in this predictable yarn. Saying that first, it is a fun , escapist read in seeing how the author will resolve what he set up to be an unresolvable situation. He semi-succeeds but in an unsatisying and unsatisfactory way. I hope he soes not plan to bring some of the these flawed characters back.

posted by Mikeeman on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sophomoric, not believable - find something else

    The plot for "Soft Target" provided the author with an opportunity to develop a nice story, but instead it turned out to be predictable, sophomoric and snarky while throughout, not believable. Without giving away the story, all the access doors to the mall are locked and the police are stymied as to how to gain entrance because of this. Has the author ever driven by a mall to see all the glass doors in the anchor stores that available for breaking in? Just an example of how the story never gets you pulled in. As another reviewer mentioned ("Rolling on the Floor"), the thinly veiled comparison of the head of the State Police (Col. Obobo) to someone of a similar name and heritage who lives on Pennsylvania Ave. is sophomoric and silly ...and snarky. Tom Clancy seems to have fallen into this political trap as well with his recent "Locked Down". None of the characters, with the exception of "Our Hero" have two neurons in their brain to rub together, and if they do, they are too self-absorbed to help the poor people in the mall. At only 256 pages, it's a mercifully quick read, but you can do better if you're looking for suspenseful mind candy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Recommended--recreational read

    Extreme characters (on both sides of the law) that are meant to stir your emotions in an over the top plot that tests the readers patience in this predictable yarn. Saying that first, it is a fun , escapist read in seeing how the author will resolve what he set up to be an unresolvable situation. He semi-succeeds but in an unsatisying and unsatisfactory way. I hope he soes not plan to bring some of the these flawed characters back.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Disappointing

    I love almost everything Stephen Hunter has written but this book almost seems to be written by another person who just happens to be a hack. I'm not a fan of Obama but the character of Obobo is just too heavy handed to enjoy. The characters of the Giradi's could have been a chance at a tragic poignant side story but was turned into groaner of a twist joke. For a Hunter book the action falls way short as does the characterization. There are long stretches where nothing much happens. The main villian is a run of the mill cliched movie villian who just doesn't ring true, I would have preferred a straight Islamic protagonist to the goofy mastermind we're given. And speaking of movies, the use of pop culture references may have been Hunter's attempt at being hip but all it did was remind me how derivative this book was and how much better some of those movies are.

    I'm very disappointed by this latest work by one of my favorite authors. And while we're at it, Mr. Hunter, please create some all new worlds to explore. As much as I love the Swagger universe it's time for something fresh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Soft Thriller

    The author has shown that he can write a thriller, but this one did not have the edge that I expected from reading his previous works. The shopping mall may have been used as something that readers could relate to, but I didn't. The young bad guy has powers well beyond what a spoiled rich kid was likely to accrue, and I just couldn't see a real Iman buying into him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Too Short

    I got into Stephen Hunter through Bob Lee Swagger. This book was too short and had a couple of boring spots in it. I do believe that he could adapt Cruz as another Bob Lee.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Rolling on the Floor Laughing

    Mr Hunter, it would seem, wears his politics on his sleeve. The incompetent chief of the Minnesota State Police is a Kenyan, Mr. Obobo who is a graduate of Harvard and Harvard Law. Obobo drifts through one top assignment after another. He and his loyal sidekick decide that this crisis is too good to waste and accuse Minnesotans of clinging to their guns, bibles, and resistant to change. What a hoot! I'll finish the review when I finish the book. Obobo!!! Gotta love it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Awful, not worth reading

    Very poor attempt at political satire. Heavy handed, borish, lazy writing. Not worth reading and if a refund was available for poor quality and craftmanship I'd ask for one. A very sad sell-out end for a once excellent novelist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    A book made for a paycheck. This book is almost unreadable. It s

    A book made for a paycheck. This book is almost unreadable. It starts off OK but quickly devolves into cliche drival serving up a poorly contructed political statement. It is so sad to see what would appear to be yet another author sell out quality to fulfil his publisher's quantity contract.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Very bad

    Worst book I ever picked up. What a waste, very boring, I skipped entire uninteresting worthless chapters of information about nothing.
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY. If I could get a refund I would. Thumbs down minus 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    C'mon Stephen; get that computer humming.

    Not really a review as book is not yet out. But I have had to start reading Stephens books a second time waiting for this new one to come out.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Terrible

    This book has no redeeming features.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Great book, if you like intrigue.

    I enjoyed this book. It was a little scary actually, thinking this could happen. I was on the edge of my seat in so many parts of this book and angry that one of the main characters was such an egotistical jerk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Stephen Hunter is truly an amazing author! Soft Target is a well

    Stephen Hunter is truly an amazing author! Soft Target is a well written, exciting and somewhat ironic tale. Cruz is one of the best characters to come along in a long time. I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Roan

    Night son..proud of you

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Kiev

    Smiles

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Hot Springs

    The best book I ever read was HOT SPRINGS. Earl swagger is a crismatic and honest to a fault. A southerner with the common sense to understand that its whats in a mans soul ...and not color of his pigmentation

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What can a top-notch sniper do when he finds himself in a situat

    What can a top-notch sniper do when he finds himself in a situation without a rifle? That’s what happens to Ray Cruz, just separated from the Marine Corp, finding himself Christmas shopping in America, the Mall with his girlfriend when a band of terrorists takes over 1,000 hostages in a “Holy War.” The answer: Improvise, of course.

    And that is exactly what he does as the authorities flounder outside and Ray, the sole possible savior inside, takes action in this latest action thriller packed with violence and derring-do. Hostages are shot and demands made.

    The novel continues the sniper series, which featured Bob Lee Swagger, Ray’s father. It takes a close look at the bureaucratic fumbling and political posturing inherent in those of authority, pitting the public relations pomposity against those who would move forward with forcefulness. The writing and plotting are graphic and concise, with the tale tightly woven to a thrilling finale. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Kitten

    She mews.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Pinekit

    Pinekit looks confused. She runs to yum because she was scared of getting yelled at.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Heartkit

    Runs out because no one os paying attention to her

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4