BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Soft Target

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rolling on the Floor Laughing

Mr Hunter, it would seem, wears his politics on his sleeve. The incompetent chief of the Minnesota State Police is a Kenyan, Mr. Obobo who is a graduate of Harvard and Harvard Law. Obobo drifts through one top assignment after another. He and his loyal sidekick decid...
Mr Hunter, it would seem, wears his politics on his sleeve. The incompetent chief of the Minnesota State Police is a Kenyan, Mr. Obobo who is a graduate of Harvard and Harvard Law. Obobo drifts through one top assignment after another. He and his loyal sidekick decide that this crisis is too good to waste and accuse Minnesotans of clinging to their guns, bibles, and resistant to change. What a hoot! I'll finish the review when I finish the book. Obobo!!! Gotta love it!

posted by JamesS on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Recommended--recreational read

Extreme characters (on both sides of the law) that are meant to stir your emotions in an over the top plot that tests the readers patience in this predictable yarn. Saying that first, it is a fun , escapist read in seeing how the author will resolve what he set up to be...
Extreme characters (on both sides of the law) that are meant to stir your emotions in an over the top plot that tests the readers patience in this predictable yarn. Saying that first, it is a fun , escapist read in seeing how the author will resolve what he set up to be an unresolvable situation. He semi-succeeds but in an unsatisying and unsatisfactory way. I hope he soes not plan to bring some of the these flawed characters back.

posted by Mikeeman on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Foxkit

    She shivered.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Perfectkit

    Drops from lack of food and drink.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    FIREGOD TO ALL

    IF ANYONE POSTS ABOVE THIS AND FORESTWINTER'S POST IS GONE, HE ERASED IT! IT SAYS: STEALS ALL OF THE KITS AND RUNS TO YUM AT THE SPEED OF LIGHT!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    The auther

    It was wonderful! I love your stories and ive been advertizing them for you! Make it longer though. Make it seven pages. Otherwise nearly perfect! The auther

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Chapter 2

    A brown tom stepped out of the shadows, a long scar running down his back. A silver and black apprentice stood glaring next to the larger cat. "Ratscar, Stoatpaw," greeted Ivypool coldly. "What is this...kit...doing near our border," growled Ratscar. Ivypool walked over to stand next to Softpaw. "Softpaw is our new APPRENTICE. I was showing her around ThunderClan territory," she meowed icily. "Well, let me tell your apprentice something," he smirked. "If you ever set foot on our territory, we'll make sure you leave with a few scars of her own." Softpaw leaned away from the toms, her hackles raised. Ivypool unsheathed her claws. "It is unwise to threaten us Ratscar," she snarled. "Come on Softpaw." Ivypool turned away and Softpaw hurried after her. "I'm sorry you had to meet those foxhearts Softpaw," meowed Ivypool coolly once they were back under the trees. "It's okay, the tour was fun other than that," Softpaw mewed, trying to sound cheery. Soon they emerged from the thorn tunnel into the camp. Dovewing trotted over to meet them. "How was the tour?" She asked, smoothing a tuft of her daughter's fur. "Well..." started Ivypool. "It was fun except we found fox fur and we met two meet ShadowClan warriors!" Meowed Softpaw quickly. Dovewing's eyes widened. "Did I hear something about a fox?" Asked Squirrelflight, coming over to the three cats. "Yes. Softpaw found a clump of fox fur. It was pretty fresh." Explained Ivypool. "We will have to be alert outside of camp," meowed Squirrelflight. She walked away to talk to Bramblestar on highledge. "You can go play with the apprentices, Softpaw," Ivypool told her. Softpaw trotted over to Amberpaw, Snowpaw, and Dewpaw. "Hi guys!" She mewed. "How was your tour?" Asked Amberpaw. "I found some fox fur and met some ShadowClan warriors, but I scared them off and showed them who's boss!" She bragged. "Wow. Maybe Bramblestar will let you come to the Gathering tonight!" Piped Dewpaw. "Oh I hope!" Sighed Softpaw dreamily. Just then, Bramblestar lept up onto highledge. "All cats old enough to catch their own prey, gather here to hear my words!" He yowled. Cats emerged into the clearing. Softpaw and the other apprentices moved toward highledge. "I have two announcements to make," he meowed to the crowd of cats. "First, there may be a fox in the area, so be wary when you exit the camp." The gathered cats broke into a quiet murmuring. "Spiderleg, Sandstorm, and Graystripe, please step up here." The three warriors exited the crowd and lept up onto highledge. "Is it your wishes to leave the life of a warrior and become an elder?" Asked Bramblestar. "Yes," answered the three cats. "Then may you have many moons of rest from now until you join StarClan." As the crowd spread, Purdy came over to welcome the three elders. "I have so many stories to share with you!" He croaked. "Great..." meowed Graystripe. They walked away toward a patch of ivy to bathe in the sunlight.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I read all of Hunter's Bob Lee Swagger novels, and really liked

    I read all of Hunter's Bob Lee Swagger novels, and really liked them, so, when I saw this, I expected another good read.
    Unfortunately this was not so...
    This novel is really bad, haave to agree with the review by scorpion56...
    The persona of Obobo is just rediculous, I wonder what got into Hunter, to drive this drivel, after writing some really good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great book

    Best i ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    America, the Mall, an enormous mall on the outskirts of Minneapo

    America, the Mall, an enormous mall on the outskirts of Minneapolis is abuzz with excitement. It is Black Friday and the huge mall is jam-packed with shoppers trying to get the latest deal. The amusement park rides are running and a little girl is sitting on Santa's lap, telling the jolly man what she wants for Christmas. All is well until somebody shoots and kills Santa while the little girl talks. Chaos breaks out as a terrorist group, the "Mumbai Brigade," herds all the panicked shoppers into the center of the mall where they plan to kill helpless shoppers and get their message out to the world.

    Ray Cruz, who many readers will have met from Hunter's previous book, Dead Zero, is in the mall shopping with Molly, his fiancée when the terrorists strike. A retired Marine sniper, he may be the only hope for the 1,000 shoppers being held hostage. After seeing to the safety of Molly and some other shoppers who he hides in the back of a store, Ray goes to work.

    This rapid pace thriller takes place all in one day, in fact, within seven hours it's all over. There isn't much time for Ray, or the reader, to take a breath as there is something happening on every page. The action shifts between Ray, the terrorists, a news crew, other snipers, as well as the police. Add in a bit of cyber warfare, and a storeowner with an agenda, and you'll be eager to find out if there's more to the terror attack than a group of teenage boys with guns. Without a doubt, the sections featuring Ray are the standouts and while his fiancée fades to the background, keep an eye out for Lavela Oates. Ms. Oates was doing her best to get through her first day of work at a day care center in the mall and she's not about to lose her job over some crazed jihadists. While some may find the Somali terrorists a bit too predictable in their insane plans, others will see this as a great action thriller and a story line that could well happen one day.

    Quill says: Those who like their thrillers to start fast and never let up, won't be disappointed with Soft Target.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Good read

    I dont see why every one is hating on this book there are a few things that get dragged on but it might have been better for me since i live in minnisota an go to the mall a lot i was able to relate to much of it very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Not Recommended for Bob Lee Fans.

    Been a Swagger fan for a long time, which is why I bought this book. But Bob Lee's not in it. Ray Cruz is a poor stand-in. Since I started this book, and I'm not even finished yet, I've been feeling like I read this story before. Terrorists in a mall, and a lone "hero" to work it out. I can't, for the life of me, remember where it was, but I KNOW I've read it.

    I spend much of the time reading this book skipping whole paragraphs, or even pages, because of TEDIOUS descriptions of people's actions. Characterizations make no sense, really, as you have: a State Police commander who seems to be a pacifist (Obobo? Really?); a female store clerk (Lavelva?! What kinda name is that!??!) who's secretly a ninja; a gym-toughened Marine who can't beat a Somali in hand-to-hand combat without the secret-ninja's help; a SWAT sniper who can't hit what he's aiming at...and this is all without having finished the book yet.

    Why do I keep reading? Maybe I hope it'll get better, though I can't see that happening. Maybe I'll remember what the OTHER book was that was so similar to this. I'd hate to think Mr. Hunter actually released this book several years ago, and just decided to re-write and re-release it after "Dead Zero", where we meet Ray Cruz.

    If you haven't bought it yet...don't.

    Just one man's opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Soft target

    Gt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Just Awful

    This is beyond terrible. I wish I could put negative stars. I LOVE the Earl Swagger books and REALLY REALLY LIKE the Bob Lee Swagger books but this is contrived, boring and terrible. Bought it as an audio book, listened to 1/2 and stopped. Please go back to what works. This is painfully bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    WHY .. ?????????

    I was looking so forward seeing odopo get what he deserved instead hes now head of the FBI very disappointed a good story til the end why do liberals come out ahead even in fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    To short

    I expected it to be a longer lasting suspense. It had some boring spots in it, but I believe that Cruz could be up there with Bob Lee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Good

    This the first book that i have read by this author and i really enjoyed it even though i usually dont read this type i would recommend this book to anyone who likes non stop action because it has it from beging to end the only problem i had with this book was all the jumping around it did but it was still a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4