Customer Reviews for

Softly at Sunrise (A KGI Novella)

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT NOVELLA This novella gives us more insight on the coupl

A GREAT NOVELLA This novella gives us more insight on the couple Ethan
and Rachel, from the first book in the series, which I loved as well. I
loved the depth that was shown in this novella and how the couples
interact with each other after Rachel's ordeal. This novell...
A GREAT NOVELLA This novella gives us more insight on the couple Ethan
and Rachel, from the first book in the series, which I loved as well. I
loved the depth that was shown in this novella and how the couples
interact with each other after Rachel's ordeal. This novella shows how
Rachel is ready move on from her past. I loved how Maya Banks stills
adds drama and action to the novella, which is the best. I'm so glad
that Ethan and Rachel have a happy ending. This novella also gave us a
sneek peak towards the next book in the series with Cole and P.J. I
can't wait for that book to come out. I love the KGI series! All of Maya
Banks books really. This is definitely worth buying.

posted by lilbook-worm on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and E

Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and Ethan,
but I am a little perturbed at the way that Rachel is always elevated
above the other wives. Yes, Rachel has been through a terrible ordeal,
but so has Sarah, who was raped in the most demeaning way ...
Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and Ethan,
but I am a little perturbed at the way that Rachel is always elevated
above the other wives. Yes, Rachel has been through a terrible ordeal,
but so has Sarah, who was raped in the most demeaning way possible, as
have Sophie and Shea. I also did not like the way Charlotte, who is the
1st grandchild and the 1st Kelly girl in a very long time was treated in
this book. If Ms. Banks had made those changes, this novella would have
been excellent. I have also found that Rachel's elevation in status
amongst the wives, and I understand that she is the first one to marry
one of the Kelly brothers and that the family has known her the longest,
to be a theme throughout the entire series.

posted by MMRNY on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    What can i say except i just cant get enough of those Kelly boys. Love, love, love them. Can anyone recommend something similar for me to read?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    A GREAT NOVELLA This novella gives us more insight on the coupl

    A GREAT NOVELLA This novella gives us more insight on the couple Ethan
    and Rachel, from the first book in the series, which I loved as well. I
    loved the depth that was shown in this novella and how the couples
    interact with each other after Rachel's ordeal. This novella shows how
    Rachel is ready move on from her past. I loved how Maya Banks stills
    adds drama and action to the novella, which is the best. I'm so glad
    that Ethan and Rachel have a happy ending. This novella also gave us a
    sneek peak towards the next book in the series with Cole and P.J. I
    can't wait for that book to come out. I love the KGI series! All of Maya
    Banks books really. This is definitely worth buying.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and E

    Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and Ethan,
    but I am a little perturbed at the way that Rachel is always elevated
    above the other wives. Yes, Rachel has been through a terrible ordeal,
    but so has Sarah, who was raped in the most demeaning way possible, as
    have Sophie and Shea. I also did not like the way Charlotte, who is the
    1st grandchild and the 1st Kelly girl in a very long time was treated in
    this book. If Ms. Banks had made those changes, this novella would have
    been excellent. I have also found that Rachel's elevation in status
    amongst the wives, and I understand that she is the first one to marry
    one of the Kelly brothers and that the family has known her the longest,
    to be a theme throughout the entire series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Loved It! Can't wait for more.

    I don't know about most folks, but in the majority of series I have read you don't get to see much other than brief glimpses of characters you fall in love with. That's why this follow up story was just spectacular. It was the perfect lenght with so many great surprises. Everything I have ever read from Maya Banks I have loved and never been disappointed. This was no exception.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Awesome read, if u like the other KGI books u'll love this

    Awesome read, if u like the other KGI books, u'll love this novella. i really recommend it. so excited for Shades of gray!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Excellent

    Love the Kellys. Highly recommend not just this book but the entire series. Cannot wait til Pjs story comes out in 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    This novella is a heartwarming look at Ethan and Rachel's life

    This novella is a heartwarming look at Ethan and Rachel's life after
    the trauma of her abduction, torture and rescue. Ethan is treating every
    precious day with her as a gift. They have built a new home in the
    Compound for safety, and Rachel is so anxious to start their lives
    there. Their old home just holds painful memories . We reunite with the
    whole wonderful Kelly family, quiet and content.....for the moment. But
    wait...this is a KGI novel ; we have action! I thoroughly enjoyed this
    novella, which just wets your appetite for the next KGI story. Ms. Banks
    weaves this story with old and new characters, bringing us up to date
    with the Kelly brothers, their extended family, and a wonderful
    surprise. I would highly recommend this story .(les

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    well done

    First off it about 100 pages, and it catch you up .with Rachel and Ethan .its a short story but a good one.and plot is a good one so that all I'm going to say ,can't wait for pj and cole story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    It was nice to visit the Kelly family and see the progress and w

    It was nice to visit the Kelly family and see the progress and where
    Ethan and Rachel are in their lives. Can't wait for the next book with
    PJ and Cole's story - love Maya Banks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Short but direct.

    This goes along with the other books by Maya Banks about the KGI series.

    You won't want to put the book down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Neko

    "Ah!" He fell on his back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Itachi

    Watches everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Angel

    *falls out of her tree*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Neko

    "Who? Where?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Yuga

    T-tenegashi...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Namine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Needed more

    I love all of the KGI novels, but this one wasn't enough on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great series of stores, LOVE the KGI and the love stories. Can't

    Great series of stores, LOVE the KGI and the love stories. Can't wait for #8 After the Storm' and
    see how Donavan with his love of women turns out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Great Read

    love the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Good, short read.

    After finishing the KGI series it was fun to read about Rachel and Ethan. I wanted to see what happened with them after I read the first in the series. Good, quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4