Customer Reviews for

Softly at Sunrise (A KGI Novella)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

What can i say except i just cant get enough of those Kelly boys. Love, love, love them. Can anyone recommend something similar for me to read?

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and E

Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and Ethan,
but I am a little perturbed at the way that Rachel is always elevated
above the other wives. Yes, Rachel has been through a terrible ordeal,
but so has Sarah, who was raped in the most demeaning way ...
Enjoyed the story, and understand that it was about Rachel and Ethan,
but I am a little perturbed at the way that Rachel is always elevated
above the other wives. Yes, Rachel has been through a terrible ordeal,
but so has Sarah, who was raped in the most demeaning way possible, as
have Sophie and Shea. I also did not like the way Charlotte, who is the
1st grandchild and the 1st Kelly girl in a very long time was treated in
this book. If Ms. Banks had made those changes, this novella would have
been excellent. I have also found that Rachel's elevation in status
amongst the wives, and I understand that she is the first one to marry
one of the Kelly brothers and that the family has known her the longest,
to be a theme throughout the entire series.

posted by MMRNY on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    This novella is a heartwarming look at Ethan and Rachel's life

    This novella is a heartwarming look at Ethan and Rachel's life after
    the trauma of her abduction, torture and rescue. Ethan is treating every
    precious day with her as a gift. They have built a new home in the
    Compound for safety, and Rachel is so anxious to start their lives
    there. Their old home just holds painful memories . We reunite with the
    whole wonderful Kelly family, quiet and content.....for the moment. But
    wait...this is a KGI novel ; we have action! I thoroughly enjoyed this
    novella, which just wets your appetite for the next KGI story. Ms. Banks
    weaves this story with old and new characters, bringing us up to date
    with the Kelly brothers, their extended family, and a wonderful
    surprise. I would highly recommend this story .(les

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    It was nice to visit the Kelly family and see the progress and w

    It was nice to visit the Kelly family and see the progress and where
    Ethan and Rachel are in their lives. Can't wait for the next book with
    PJ and Cole's story - love Maya Banks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Awesome read, if u like the other KGI books u'll love this

    Awesome read, if u like the other KGI books, u'll love this novella. i really recommend it. so excited for Shades of gray!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    well done

    First off it about 100 pages, and it catch you up .with Rachel and Ethan .its a short story but a good one.and plot is a good one so that all I'm going to say ,can't wait for pj and cole story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2014

    I love the Kelly's. The KGI novels are the best i can't wait for

    I love the Kelly's. The KGI novels are the best i can't wait for Rusty story i really hope she with Sean 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Short but direct.

    This goes along with the other books by Maya Banks about the KGI series.

    You won't want to put the book down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Good, short read.

    After finishing the KGI series it was fun to read about Rachel and Ethan. I wanted to see what happened with them after I read the first in the series. Good, quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Great miniRead

    Loved it, short but giving you a view of the storie of Ethan and Rachel. Makes you laugh and cry. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was so excited to get this short novella for Rachel & Etha

    I was so excited to get this short novella for Rachel & Ethan. They have been my favorite couple of this series and, now that we are 5 books in, I was glad to get an update. With a series that involves as many characters as the KGI, one of the few drawbacks to reading, is that I fall in love with each couple and then lose sight of them in subsequent books. I know that it’s hard to write every single person into each book and stay true to the story, however giving us novellas in between, more than makes up for it.

    In The Darkest Hour, Ethan and Rachel Kelly literally went through Hell to find their way back to each other. Finding out that Rachel was still alive, after believing her dead for a year, Ethan & family rescue her from her kidnappers. What follows is a heartfelt love story and truly enraptured me. It’s the story that completely hooked me on the KGI series!

    What made this story, for me, was finally getting a chance to see a strong Rachel. After what she suffered, she was broken, both emotionally & physically. Her road to recovery was a long one and she is still treated with kid gloves by everyone around her. She just wants to feel normal again. To have a fresh start and live the life with Ethan that she always wanted. We get that and the transformation for her is magical! The joy that she felt in finding out she was pregnant - breathtaking and I cried right along with her.

    Ethan will always be my favorite Kelly and in Softly At Sunrise, he proved it even more. He is a man who loves his wife with everything he is, a man who constantly worries that he will lose her again & finally a man who realizes the mistakes that he’s made in the past and vows to never repeat them. Loved, loved, loved the strength he showed in this book.

    This book is set in the middle of Cole & PJ’s book but don’t worry - reading it won’t give anything away. It makes me look forward to their book even more, now that Rachel’s pregnancy has been revealed. We are also given a dramatic side story that involves Rachel’s return to work - it just wouldn’t be a KGI story without some suspense thrown in ;)

    Overall, this was a great addition to the series and a fantastic short read. Ms. Banks continues to deliver with the KGI. Now if we could just get Donovan’s story....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Love Conquers All

    Classic KGI in short form. Love, danger, loyalty and overcoming past trauma through the love of family. Not to be missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great update

    Can't wait for next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Great

    Another great KGI series book by Maya Banks, can't wait for the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Love this series

    This was a great novella in the kgi series..wonderful story cant wait for the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Love the series

    Love the whole KGI series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2