Customer Reviews for

The Solace of Leaving Early

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    A thoughtful and telling story

    Leaving early ...wasnt someone always leaving??? Alice and Jack from this earth. Langston from school, her and Taos from the theater..and certainly our protagonist...Incredible how he could love and understand her just because she had been loved and in love with the Donne Scholar..incredible so many subtle things to think about..I really enjoyed this read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Haven Kimmel is a wonder

    I was so moved by this book that I bought copies for several friends. Haven Kimmel is a true origional. She's perceptive and funny and, above all, truthful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Great story!

    I loved this story -- it had a great pace, the details and backstory were not obvious from page 1 -- it was engaging, very smart and well written -- a definite must for book clubs!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Intelligent and amusing

    I had a hard time getting into the book, but after the first couple of chapters I was hooked. Her characters are vivid, and although it wrapped up rather neatly at the end, I was satisfied. If you've read "A Girl Named Zippy" some of the characters may seem familiar, but that doesn't detract from the book at all. I would definitely recommend it and I'm looking forward to her next book. She's very talented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    enjoy this book

    took a bit to get into, but then just wanted to read nonstop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Beautiful

    A beautiful story of two intellectuals trying to help two small girls pick up the pieces of their lives after a traumatic experience. It is profoundly thoughtful - full of Christian philosophy but in no way overpowered by it. I was impressed with how such complex thoughts about responsibility and love could be brought together in such a simple and beautiful way. Haven Kimmel's writing style is compelling and rich.
    She has the ability to give one or two lines of description that project enough information to give you a clear vision in your mind of what she's writing about. This is my number 1 book to give away to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Never have I read a novel that made me want to take the two main characters and just SLAP them

    This book was selected by a member of my book club because it was written by a fellow Hoosier. She thought it would be nice to read a local author. I can not say I was neither pleased nor disapointed by this book. I was however, riled and frustrated by it. The two main characters, Langston and Pastor Townsend drove me up the wall with their conceit, arrogance and self importance. I came to a realization that possibly Langston is much like the author. Someone who feels 'ordinary' people are beneath her and a waste of her time. The character of Pastor Townsend was much the same....full of presumptuousness that those of his 'flock' in this small Indiana town were beneath him. He could never preach to them his real thoughts because he did not believe they could understand his oh so lofty ideas. The one (or I should say two) redeeming qualities of this story were Immaculata and Epiphany. They made the story worth reading. My only hope at the end of the story was that these two beautiful little girls didn't grew up as narrow minding and as shallow as the two adults who were given the responsibility of raising them. It is quite possible that Haven Kimmel's writting is 'above' me because I do not have a college degree let alone a PHD and I do not stay awake nights contemplating the theory of quantum physics. All in all the book is very well written and was successful in keeping me ingrossed to the end in spite of Langston and Pastor Townsend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    Another great by Haven Kimmel

    A wonderful read-kept me on the edge of my seat. It doesn't flow as smoothly as her first, but it is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1