Customer Reviews for

Solar

Average Rating 3
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Solar by Ian McEwan

Sorry to see the American critics so down on this novel, esp. NYT, where IM's readers probably go. Even McEwan's "not his best" is far better than most other writers best. He is a craftsman who doesn't patronize his readers and trusts that they bring something besides ...
Sorry to see the American critics so down on this novel, esp. NYT, where IM's readers probably go. Even McEwan's "not his best" is far better than most other writers best. He is a craftsman who doesn't patronize his readers and trusts that they bring something besides eyes to the page.

posted by 248416 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not So Sunny

Ian McEwan apparently has a variety of observations he wishes to make on contemporary issues, not the least of which is science. He is a very smart man, an accomplished writer, and deserves to be heard. So. Why does he choose a vehicle like the novel Solar, centered on ...
Ian McEwan apparently has a variety of observations he wishes to make on contemporary issues, not the least of which is science. He is a very smart man, an accomplished writer, and deserves to be heard. So. Why does he choose a vehicle like the novel Solar, centered on an unlikable character who probably has turned most readers off by page 80? But it was around page 80 that I thought the book picked up a bit, and I was able to enjoy some of the dilemmas he created for Michael Beard, the unworthy scientist who's haphazard life is supposed to carry our interest. Yet for those who think the book is very funny or even a good read, I wish to say that I think McEwan would have better conveyed his ideas in a Sunday magazine piece and saved us all from what is essentially a boring novel.

posted by KenCady on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    McEwan going downhill! A mundane story pretending to address a c

    McEwan going downhill! A mundane story pretending to address a contemporary problem. Sae your money...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    Very disappointing

    Like a B movie, I kept thinking it would get better. It didn't.
    Although well written, the story, such as it is, goes nowhere. It is a character study of a generally dislikeable man. Not worth the time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a should've but didn't novel

    While I've enjoyed other books my McEwan, this one just couldn't keep my attention. Beard is intelligent, realistic and humorous in some ways (passages); deluded, sad and too self-important in others. He's a caricature of a protagonist that didn't engage me the least in his problems--5th wife having an affair, out of shape to the extreme, smart but riding on coattails of 1 achievement, all humanizing characteristics that should make him more relatable. But for me, it just made him all the more pathetic. And if you can't follow the main character of the book, then what is left?

    Well perhaps a good plot would've gotten me further, as it did with "Man from Beijing"--despite the jumping around to different time periods and characters. The writing itself was somewhat engaging but couldn't not make up for other pitfalls in the book overall. So despite forcing myself to continue reading past the time I would've put it down, I ended up moving onto another book. It's not very likely that I'll return to finish this one, unfortunately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    What Happened?

    I don't normally write a review of my books, but I was so thrown off base by this much anticipated book that I feel I must write something.

    The writing is quintessential McEwan - impeccable, but the plot was way over the top for him. It was a farce! I could see it playing on stage but not in a good way. By the end of the book I was somewhat involved with the main character but didn't care what happened to him since he was such a rotten person.

    I realize it was satirical, but it just didn't work for me. Very disappointing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Writing Shines;l Characters Do Not

    Mr. McEwen is an exceptionally good writer. His previous books contain some brilliant writing, topics and characters. Not Solar. Writing is good but the leading character is totally negative. Even if he is signifying a larger population or national flaw, he becomes almost unreadable. As such. little else flows easily or is believable. a downward blip on McEwen's high rating ouevre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    OVERALL: Boring

    I picked up McEwan's latest book expecting a good read. My issue is that the author spent far too much time talking about "photons" and other scientific facts that I could care less about. I'm not reading an educational text book. When he does start having the protagonist interact with others...I didn't like the guy. Felt nothing for him or his plight. He was boring. And so is the book. Skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Egregious typo on every page of the ebook

    The subtitle is misspelled (Noval instead of Novel) and since it appears on every page of the ebook, it's quite annoying. As for the book itself: not one of my favorite McEwan novels mainly because Beard is such a loathsome character. But I find the solar energy plot quite engaging

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2