Customer Reviews for

Sold

Average Rating 4.5
( 350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Sold Review

I thought this was a very touching and well written book. The ways she wrote it with all of the sub-titles then following with words as if the main charachter Lakshimi was keeping a journal. This book also made me realize how real sexual slavery is to this day. These gi...
I thought this was a very touching and well written book. The ways she wrote it with all of the sub-titles then following with words as if the main charachter Lakshimi was keeping a journal. This book also made me realize how real sexual slavery is to this day. These girls are ripped of everything they've ever had to live a life of giving themselves to ruthless men each day. McCormick does an awesome job of capturing this girls life and she had hope through it all.

posted by ShelbyRay on December 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

BACK OFF PEOL BACK OFF

Oh my gosh, people keep saying not for children, but seriously, I'm 13 and I'm in a book club where we 're reading this book. Of course, it's a book club for ADVANCED 12 year olds and up, but still. Normally 12 and 13-year olds aren't babies, and can read books with mat...
Oh my gosh, people keep saying not for children, but seriously, I'm 13 and I'm in a book club where we 're reading this book. Of course, it's a book club for ADVANCED 12 year olds and up, but still. Normally 12 and 13-year olds aren't babies, and can read books with mature themes. Besides, it's up to the kid and their parents whether they should read a book or not. If my mom disapproved of Sold and wanted to pull me out of this book club, she could have. Take it from me, I read Les Miserables, a deep and complex book that deals with subjects such as prostitution, when I was 12. TWELVE. So, yeah, just making a point.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 351 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Sold Review

    I thought this was a very touching and well written book. The ways she wrote it with all of the sub-titles then following with words as if the main charachter Lakshimi was keeping a journal. This book also made me realize how real sexual slavery is to this day. These girls are ripped of everything they've ever had to live a life of giving themselves to ruthless men each day. McCormick does an awesome job of capturing this girls life and she had hope through it all.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    Overall a Great Book

    I read this book in one day. It has over 300 pages, but most only have a few words. It is an easy read, easy to follow and understand, but I got confused with the different characters and their unfamiliar names. The story was good, it kept me hooked. I hadn't been able to read a book to the end in a while. The ending was unexpected, as in I didn't expect it so fast. This was a good book, I recommend it.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING

    I personally loved this book. IT was touching and sad. The part that hit me most was her loss of everything she knew and loved. This is really going on in the world and it needs to stop. This book has opened up my knowledge of what is really going on in this world we live in. I would definitly recommend this to anyone and everyone. IT will touch and break your heart

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    BACK OFF PEOL BACK OFF

    Oh my gosh, people keep saying not for children, but seriously, I'm 13 and I'm in a book club where we 're reading this book. Of course, it's a book club for ADVANCED 12 year olds and up, but still. Normally 12 and 13-year olds aren't babies, and can read books with mature themes. Besides, it's up to the kid and their parents whether they should read a book or not. If my mom disapproved of Sold and wanted to pull me out of this book club, she could have. Take it from me, I read Les Miserables, a deep and complex book that deals with subjects such as prostitution, when I was 12. TWELVE. So, yeah, just making a point.

    8 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Impacting Class of 2010

    The story is really impacting. It helps in understanding how little girls in different countries are put into prostitution by their parents being tricked. The story is about a young girl named Lakshmi who is 13 years old and is taken from her home thinking that she is going to go work, but ends up being put into prostitution. The story is an easy read, anybody could read it. Recommened for ages 15 and up because its a bit explict.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sold, A book review

    Lakshmi at age 13 has never been outside her village she lives a normal life Nepal going to school and helping her mom with chores. Than it all changes. Lakshmi wanted to go into the city to work as a maid for a rich family but instead her gambling stepfather has different plans for her, she is sold into prostitution in a Indian brothel. She dose not do what she is told until she was starved. Lakshmi was told by her owner that if she pays off her family's debt she can leave and go back home, but she soon finds out that her owner has been cheating her and that it IS impossible to pay off her family's debt. When a young boy bring her food she starts to have hope, he was met with a American client that is there to rescue girls she has to figure out weather to trust him or not. The author writes the book in first person in a very detailed manner making it possible to imagine what is going on in her life in the areas surrounding India. After reading this book I was more stunned to know what is happening in the world.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    sold review

    Sold is written by Patricia McCormick. It is about a young girl in India named Lakshmi. She is sold into sex trade by her stepfather so that she could get money and help her family with it. I thought this book was very good. It can be a little emotional and it is totally unforgettable. It was very descriptive and graphic. I would recommend this to anyone. I prefer and young, mature adult. This book I think could change their mind about other people and life in general. I would give this book a four star rating.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An Impactful Read - Something Everyone Should Read

    Sold by Patricia McCormick is a hard-hitting read about a thirteen year old girl, Lakshmi, living in the Himalayan Mountains of Nepal. Though her and her family live in poverty, Lakshmi finds pleasure in the simple things in life until one day her stepfather decides she needs to go and earn money for their family after a monsoon sweeps away all of their crops. Her stepfather gives her away to a woman and Lakshmi finds herself being promised of a beautiful city and a life as a maid. After traveling to India, she finds that she has instead been sold into prostitution. The innocent Lakshima now must live the life of a prostitute and pay off her family’s debt to the cruel brothel ruler Mumtaz. She dreams of returning to her simple life on the mountain as she loses her innocence and becomes just another young girl stuck in the dirty business of the sex trade.
    This book really showed the suffering that many women in countries such as Nepal and India go through. I saw the theme and messages as though some of these women are sold into the trade and learn to endure it, that there is always hope and all it takes is one girl to stand up against the rest. This book really conveyed the idea that even in the darkest of times there is hope.
    I really love how the author chose to write Sold. The first person narrative really gives you the insight to Lakshmi’s thoughts and everything she sees as a young girl who is being sold as a sex slave. You can really feel the confusion that a girl in this situation would feel, from being a new place to learning about a dirty business that no one should have to endure. The writing style flows and is poetic, with metaphors and similes referencing the life of Lakshmi that really puts you into her shoes and into the world of India and Nepal.
    The only thing I didn’t enjoy about this book was some of the details on the subject matter. The author could really describe the sounds, smells, and sights of the brothel and all that went on in it. This subject is hard to read about and sometimes these details made the book uncomfortable to read, but I know that those details were needed for the book to have the impact that it did.
    I recommend this book to anyone that is willing to read it. The subject matter is a horrible thing, but it is impactful and allows you to get an insight on what people around the world are dealing with. If you’re willing to get the details of the sex trade, this book is a quick read with description and information that will have an impact on your life.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Wow, after reading the comments about this book, I'm appalled. T

    Wow, after reading the comments about this book, I'm appalled. This story was exceptionally written; although short and simple, it was powerful. I love the word choice, recall, and symbolism used here. I was also moved by the effortlessness McCormick showed to writing through the eyes of a 13 year old, naive, village girl transitioning into a 13 year old, jaded, slave. I cried a lot reading this. Because there's someone who goes through this everyday. Deep book. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    This book was written simply through the eyes of a 13 year old g

    This book was written simply through the eyes of a 13 year old girl, sold into the sex industry in India. Though thought provoking, and sad, it didn't do much for me. Also it was extremely short, where a chapter is only a paragraph. It was not worth the money for that alone.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Sold

    A good book

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    I loved it !

    I love this book it is a sad story this made me belive even more that one person can make a big difference :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Prose Poetry Narration at its Finest

    Patricia McCormick's story of a young girl from Nepal who is sold into sexual slavery is told in prose poetry, which only heightens the connection between narrator and reader. By utilizing this writing style, McCormick is effectively able to get us into the head of the young girl, from her early naivete to the way she begins to understand her situation. She is trapped, we learn, and as Sold is told from her point of view, we learn just how dire her situation is as she does. Who should she trust? Who do we trust? Should she listen to the woman in charge or to the other girls or to her own heart and mind? Sold is an emotionally riveting story that exposes readers to an entire world of young girls in other parts of the earth. I know that, for me, it touched my heart and made me want to learn more, especially learn how to help young girls like her.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    I loved and enjoyed reading the heart-wrenching and captivating

    I loved and enjoyed reading the heart-wrenching and captivating story narrated through the eyes of a thirteen year old girl.
    Lakshmi is only thirteen when her stepfather sells her into slavery.  Lakshmi thinks she is leaving home to work for a wealthy woman and comes to find out she has been sold into prostitution.  When Lakshmi refuses to have sex, she is starved and beaten repeatedly day after day until she is drugged and raped by several men.
    Read the highly recommended, heartbreaking novel, Sold, Gateway Reader's Award 2008-2009 and National Book Award Finalist by the talented author Patricia McCormick.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    This book it the best book ever the author did a amazing job wri

    This book it the best book ever the author did a amazing job writing it. LOVED IT!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    blah

    i havent read it and i have no clue what it is about, but it looks cool, bro.

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Sold was dumb

    Made white people look like heros .






    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Really good book, a must- read!

    Sold is about 13 year old Pakistani girl Lakshmi, who gets sold into prostitution by her step-father, so he can pay off his debt. This book is a tough read, so I would reccomend it to an older, more mature audience, because it is pretty graphic, and was not meant for younger kids. This is a really sad, well- written book, and I enjoyed it alot. -Ruby

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    great book

    Its a great read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One word title "SOLD" is perfect.

    I cried, I smiled, I was relieved and felt the pressure. This book was beyond what I'd expect. It's lite reading yet overwhelmingly empowering and just touches one's soul. I'd recommend to all women and girls of all ages, we tend to take so much for granted and not living in poverty or such dire hardships we are left constantly with smiles on our faces many women are afraid to even think happy thoughts. I feel for those in the book and in life who have to go through such hardships. Good Read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 351 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18