Customer Reviews for

Sold to the Highest Bidder

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

5 starts, a must read.

I would definitely recommend this book. Plot is well thought out and developed.

posted by tpen on December 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Home Alabama

If you liked the movie Sweet Home Alabama then you will like this book, it is very similar. The only real difference is of course the extra reason Ella came home, not just for the divorce. I liked Reese Witherspoons character in SHA, I however have to agree with another...
If you liked the movie Sweet Home Alabama then you will like this book, it is very similar. The only real difference is of course the extra reason Ella came home, not just for the divorce. I liked Reese Witherspoons character in SHA, I however have to agree with another reviewer who said she found Ella shallow and selfish. She is, even in the end when she gets an explanation as to why Devin never came after her, she actually still blames him. Immaturity is never a favorite quality of mine when reading.

posted by Shademinx on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Home Alabama

    If you liked the movie Sweet Home Alabama then you will like this book, it is very similar. The only real difference is of course the extra reason Ella came home, not just for the divorce. I liked Reese Witherspoons character in SHA, I however have to agree with another reviewer who said she found Ella shallow and selfish. She is, even in the end when she gets an explanation as to why Devin never came after her, she actually still blames him. Immaturity is never a favorite quality of mine when reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    5 starts, a must read.

    I would definitely recommend this book. Plot is well thought out and developed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    good read

    The story was emotional and touching. Long story short- boy and girl get married. Girl runs away, comes back 12 years later for divorce, and boy refuses. I have to say that during the book, I stayed mad at the main female character, Ella. In a lot of ways she's so selfish and assumes way too much. I loved Devin though. Over all it was a great story about a guy who refuses to let anything stand in the way of the "love of his life." Very touching..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Great read

    Excellent romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too Cute

    It was like Sweet Home Alabama. I love that movie.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Recommended

    Very entertaining. Though it was written probably before the movie SWEET HOME ALABAMA, it remind me of that movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    SOLD!!!

    Okay so this is like Sweet Home Alabama. I liked that movie so I knew I would like this book. I was not disappointed. The story was so good that before I new it I was over half way done. Just when I thought it would take me awhile to find another book I loved I find this treasure. And I got it for free from B&N on my Nook. I even cried three times...and when a book does that it's good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh I am so sold!!!

    Okay so this is like Sweet Home Alabama. I liked that movie so I knew I would like this book. I was not disappointed. The story was so good that before I new it I was over half way done. Just when I thought it would take me awhile to find another book I loved I find this treasure. And I got it for free from B&N on my Nook. I even cried three times...and when a book does that it's good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Nope

    Hated the "heroine". 'Nuff said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    I liked it!!!

    I honestly thought this would just be a quick and easy read to pass the time, but i completely got into the characters. I did want to strangle them and their stubborness. That being their main conflict dragged it out a little too long. Then the ending felt a bit rushed but he story did seem realistic. Two hard headed people fighting against the powers that be. - DINK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Ella seemed to bring so much more baggage then just the husband

    Ella seemed to bring so much more baggage then just the husband she married and let go. Devin withheld information but he seemed to do it more out of concern for her and to find out if she cared for him or his the changes in his own life. I had a hard time really like Ella. She was more than a bit self-adsorbed. Even her boss new more about her past life and husband than she did. She seems to redeem herself at the end but not enough to bump up my rating of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Adorable.

    I liked this one. It reminded me a little of Sweet Home Alabama, which in my opinion makes it even better!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Donna really gets you involved with this story. It shows how much one loves drama in their lives. Guess this is the true picture of one terms "DRAMA QUEEN" AND "DRAMA KING" You will be so much a part of the story you want to do a CSI ON THEIR HEADS. The turn around from chapter to chapter will make you want to see how Donna handles the happy ending Alone? Together? She really gets you involved and they remind you of a friend you've had in the past. Don't hesitate to get your coffee or tea and read this book. Now looking for her next book OFF THE CLOCK 2011, hope B&N has a copy for my NOOK. Pudgie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great read

    Loved the action and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well written

    I really liked this book. Devin & Ella are married but Ella wants a divorce so she can further her reporting career by moving to Boston. She & Dev were just kids when they married & Ell decided when she was away at college to get out of she decided was a dead end marriage. After twelve long years, she comes home to "buy" Dev for a weekend at a charity auction and winds up spending their time together trying to convince him to give her the divorce she so desparately wants. I found Dev & Ell to be a likeable couple despite their constant arguing. Neither was willing to budge on what they wanted -- divorce for Ella and a second chance for Dev. I will be looking for more books by Donna Alward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    recommend

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Believable romantic conflict

    Modern, realistic love story between two people that were too prideful to just simply reach out share the truth of their feelings and needs. Enjoyable read that pulls the reader through to the beautiful conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Good read.

    Looking for more books by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    This was the first book I have read from this author, and I loved the story. I would consider reading more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    Great read.

    This was fantastic, heartfelt and lovely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10