Customer Reviews for

Soldier Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    SPENCE GETS SHOT AND DIES DIETER LIVES HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I JUST R

    SPENCE GETS SHOT AND DIES DIETER LIVES HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I JUST RUINED THE BOOK SUCK IT

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Good book

    The book Soldier Boys is about two boys that are involved in World War II. Dean Hughes wrote this book. The book has two main character that are from opposite forces. One of the boys is a leader for Hitlers Youth. The other is a high school drop out who decides to join American Paratroopers. In this story it flips back and forth on the perspectives of the two boys throughout chapter. at first i didn't like the change in views because it was hard to fallow but after a while I got used to it. This book has lots of description on what the war was like for the two boys and their families. The boys learn that the war is not all fun and games. It is life and death. The German boy named Dieter watches one of the kids group get murdered because he tried to run away from the camp. After seeing this it made Dieter have a different perspective on the war. The American boy named Spence describes what it is like on the planes and his fear of jumping out of an airplane for the first time. Overall I would recommend this book to kids who have an interest in wars and Wold War II.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    Great book- A must read WW book

    This isn't a confusing book like some people are saying it is. If you pay attention to th characters names and setting then you'll know what the author is talking about..because this is book is written in two perspectives..one of a German leader and another of a American paratrooper..it has incredible scenes about war, the boot camp, and their family back home. Great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Ain't it Great!

    SOLDIER BOYS IS A GREAT BOOK. IT IS PERFECT FOR REALISTIC FICTION. IT INCLUDES VERY HISTORIC PARTS OF WWII. IT MAKES A GREAT BOOK FOR ANYONE. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND IT!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Soldier Boys

    paragraph 1 .This year in sixthgrade I did a report on a book called soldier boys. The authors name is Dean Hughes. The book talks about two boys going to warfor excitment and adventure, but they both realise that war is not a pretty site. I really did like this book and if you put it on a scail of 1-10 I would give it a ten. pharagraph 2.This book talks about two boys that are real young, and they whant to get involved whith war. Their is a German boy and an American. The boy boys names are Dieter Hedrick and Spencer Morgan. They are both in Germany fighting for their countriesse freedom. Their main conflict was kill as many enemies as you can. pharagraph3. These boys are just like any old boys they like to play baseball,basketball and football. But one day they got the bright idea to join world war 2. Theydo change through the the story and they wanted to quit their training camps and jion the war as fast as they can . But as soon as they go into war and see all the men go down they whant to quit. Spencer Morgan gets shot trying to help a German boy that is screaming, crying, and bleeding to death in the snow.pharagraph 4. I did enjoy this book it was a great book two. I did not enjoy the part where the the American tried to help the German, I mean all he was trying to do was help him. What makes this book unique is that it talks about how young men can be some good boys and bad ones. No the author could not have done better. Yes I would, because this is a book that whant to make you read it twice. This has been my my book project thank you for reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    I am 14 years old. Out of my comfort zone, but I enjoyed the book, very much.

    I thought the history was exciting, easy to read, keep my attention to the book. I would buy another book from this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book is a awesome book that anybody can read. This book is filled with suspence, it's tragic, and so real. If you like the subject WWII, than you'll love this book. Also read Search and Destroy by Dean Hughes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Soldier Boys

    Great story of to boys fighting to different wars in to different places.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    such a good book

    this book is one of the best books i have ever read, its interesting, exciting and sad at times. I recommend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

    This book is sooooooooo good! It really shows how confusing, hectic, and terrifying combat can be. The story of both boys are that of many others like them from any nation in the war like Germany, U.S.A., England, Russia, Japan, any other nations that saw combat in this terrible and gruesome war. It shows how your morals can and human instincts can make you feel sorrow and friendship for someone who a moment ago was trying to harm you, everything you stand for, and your friends. It shows how people can have a hart in a time of hatred, death, and violence. I would recommend this book to anyone who is into military novels, who is looking for a good heart warmer, or is just looking for an exciting read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    WOW

    Oh my gosh!!! This is the best book that I have ever read. I only think so because I am one who likes stories like this. If you do not like violence or tragedy, this is not the book for you. If you do, go for it. You will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Very Tragic

    this story is tragic as it says.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    A Story of friendship, action, and faithfulness

    This book is a wonderful book that is based in the era of WWII. There are two boys, Dieter, a young Nazi apart of the Hitler Youth, is ready to fight for his fatherland. While on the american side of this story, Spence wants to join the army and become apart of the airborne division and fight for his country. While these to opposing forces are fighting for a victory, these two soldiers are going through the worst event ever in history. These two characters show great bravery and great courage throughout this amazing story, and I recomend this book to anyone that loves WWII history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    soldier boys

    A great book during World War 2 about dieter, a german boy who's patriotic self gets him promoted in the HJ 'Hitler Youth' to become a commander and get awarded by hitler himself. It also takes place in utah, where a high-school dropout signs up with the paratroopers, knowing that they are the toughest group there is. In the ending where the two people meet in the battle of the bulge. I was very disappointed at what happened there. If the ending was different would have given it an outstanding. You will like it, but as I said you will probably be disappointed in the ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    Two Boys, Two Guns, Two Different Sides

    Dieter Hedrick is a German boy who is in the HJ, known as the Hitler Jugend. All his life, Dieter has dreamed of becoming a soldier and making his family proud. On the other side is an American soldier named Spencer Morgan. Spencer also really wants to become a soldier. He doesn¿t want to be just any soldier though. Spencer wants to be a paratrooper. The paratroopers are the toughest soldiers alive but Spencer is ready to give it his best and defend his country. Will Spencer make it through paratrooper training, or will he return home to his family with shame. Will Dieter become the soldier he has dreamed of becoming and make his family proud? Read the book to find out. One thing that I really liked about Soldier Boys was that it was action packed which made it a really good book. I couldn¿t put the book down. All I wanted to do was figure out what was going to happen to Spencer of Dieter. One thing I didn¿t like was that the book was a little confusing. The book got confusing because it switched back between Spencer and Dieter every couple of chapters. Overall, Soldier Boys was a really good book. I do not know if Soldier Boys is part of a series. You can check it out if you would like. This book kind of reminds me of Saving Private Ryan for some reason. The two are just kind of the same. Anybody twelve years old to seventeen years old would probably like this book. All I can say is that anyone between the age ranges above should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    A story of respect, pain and growth from within

    This book has a good amount of action but at the same time a great story line. If you are a teen you will easily relate to the book. It is about two teenagers joining the army one from a small town in America, the other from a small farming towm in eastern Germany. Its a great book if your into action books with good story lines.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    One helps another

    ¿Love thy enemy¿ one American soldier risks his own life to save a wounded German soldier in war. This book is about two farm boys from two different countries fighting in war. They don¿t realize that they will meet in the dead of night. When the American soldier goes to save the German soldier a different German soldier shoots the American. I liked this book because one helps another and would recommend it. I liked this book because it¿s funny. It is funny when the American soldier gets all worked up about jumping off a tower and realizes that he has to jump out of a airplane later. Also if you quit after three days at paratrooper camp you would become a cook. These were funny parts in the book. I thought this book was sad. When the German soldier was in charge a enemy plane went over, and shot bullets at the ground and killed a child. Also during a retreat the American¿s friend was shot and killed. Lastly while the American soldier tried to help the German soldier he was killed. This book is nerve racking. When the American soldiers were running from the German tanks and bullets you would think they were going to die. Also when the American soldier was helping the German soldier you were just waiting for it to be over with. Finally when the German soldier is about to kill the guy he was with he dropped his gun. This was a great book and is hard to put down. It was exciting, sad and a funny book. That is why I would recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Two Boys, Two Sides of the War

    Are you interested in the subject of war? Does the history of World War II intrigue you? If you answered yes to either of these questions, then Soldier Boys is the book for you. Soldier Boys starts off by introducing the two main characters, Spencer Morgan and Dieter Hedrick. Spencer, Spence for short, is an American farm boy who can¿t wait to enlist in the paratroopers. The only problem is that he isn¿t eight-teen yet and he needs his dad¿s signature. The other boy, Dieter, is even younger than Spence is and he is a leader in the German¿s Hitler Youth Camp. Dieter is also anxious to get a shot at the Amis- Americans. Well soon enough both of these boys get their wish and are off to fight for their country in the Great World War. What I really enjoyed about this book was the alternating first person voice that was used to tell the story by Spence and Dieter. Because this voice was used, as a reader, I was able to get inside the heads of both the American and German soldiers. This really made the story interesting because in the typical book, you would only get the American view point of the war, but not Soldier Boys! Soldier Boys was written by Dean Hughes. Dean is the author of many other novels intended for young readers such as Anyone age eleven and up could read this book and enjoy it. The alternating first person will keep any reader on the edge of their seat ready to flip the page. Because Soldier Boys is a book about war, I will caution that there is some violence involved, but I personally don¿t think it is anything that someone with a weak stomach could not handle. So in order to find out how Dieter and Spence will have an affect on each other and the war, you¿ll have to read Soldier Boys by Dean Hughes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Two Boys One War

    This is a book that you never will put down when you are reading it, but if you have to you will wonder all the time what is going to happen next to Dieter and Spence. This book follows the life of a Dieter a fifteen-year-old Hitler Youth worker that gets promoted to the German army and Spence a sixteen-year-old high school drop out that becomes a paratrooper. This book takes you through some of the battles of World War II. This book brings the battle to you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Amazing book

    This book is the best book ever. i read it a nd i was shocked by the ending i would definatly read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4