Customer Reviews for

Soldier X

Average Rating 5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Best book on the face of the Earth

    This is seiously one of the best books I have ever read. Its packed full of action, suspense and everything a good book should have and more! Definately read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    highly recommended - A must read!

    Soldier X is a must-read for anyone who loves stories about the realities of war. Wulffson includes suspense, drama and romance in an epic tale about the terror of war. Soldier X tells about the war from the perspective of Erik Brandt as he leads a life as both a German and Russian. A young boy with The survival instinct of a soldier is altered in soldier X when behind enemy lines. The book describes the life of a young man/soldier who has taken on the identity of the enemy and rushes from the bullets of the other side in his journey, avoiding death from his own people. Although, he is faced with a question. Where do my loyalties lie and will the war ever be over? But he will find out that the war will never be over until the life he once knew is no longer and forgotten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A book for all types of teenagers

    This novel is a great classic of the hardships & triumphs of Erik, a 16 year old enlisted in the army of Germany during the Nazi occupation of World War II. As is well known, most WWII books or movies follow the storyline of someone enlisted in one of the armies of the Allies, but this book takes a totally different look at the events. Don Wuffison epicly depicts a tale of a young boy overcoming the adversity facing him due to his forced enlistment. At a point in the story, he is forced to go behind enemy lines, or possibly be killed. He goes undercover, (being able to due to his Russian roots) and ends up in a Russian hospital. Along the way, he develops a love interest in a girl named Tamara. Eventually he and her are forced to leave, and they become refugees in their own country. They begin to fall in love with each other, but near the end of their journey, they both are mistakenly shot by an American GI part of a unit patrolling the area. Erik loses an arm, and faces a descision he must make. Overall, a very interesting book, and one that i definetly would recommend to my friends. Don W. writes a very captivating & exciting story that will keep you guessing what will happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    The inside pages are as interesting as the book's cover!

    War is never fun, but it is interesting. Told from X's perspective, my son and I enjoyed his story very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This was an amazing book. It was interesting to read the "o

    This was an amazing book. It was interesting to read the "other sides" perspective. I cried, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    A Must Read!

    Soldier X is a must read for anyone interested in books about war, or history. Soldier X is a historical fiction novel that takes place during World War II. The book follows Erik Brandt, a sixteen year-old German soldier who has to use his intelligence in order to survive the dangerous environments of World War II. The book is told in first-person through Erik’s perspective. The first-person point of view definitely adds depth, and makes the story more personal. In fact, when Erik describes one of the battles he had to fight in; it almost feels like you are in the book fighting alongside him. Soldier X is an extremely moving book, as I read cover to cover; I felt a variety of emotions. Some chapters will make you smile with joy, some will make you sick with sorrow, and some will leave you slightly disturbed. But trust me, this book is a page-turner, not once did I want to put this book down; it keeps the reader engaged and interested in the plot. The author, Don Wulffson, does a great job of developing the main characters, and each one seems to have their own unique personality which is refreshing. The setting mainly takes place on the border of Germany and Russia, along with many small European villages. The setting is constantly changing, which I find to be interesting. The characters are always on the move searching for safety, which keeps the reader engaged and on edge. This book is an extremely easy read, and anyone who is interested in history should definitely take the time to read it. I would, without a doubt, read other books by Don Wulffson, I believe he has a truly unique style that keeps readers motivated to read more. Without a doubt I recommend Soldier X to anyone looking for a quick, moving book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    This book was amazing to say the least, it was filled with action the moment you start reading. Great read, I really recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Amazing!

    ¿Soldier X¿ is an action packed story about 16 year old Erik Brandt who is drafted in to the German army. It is an amazing story and it will always keep you on your toes. This is a great book for one reason because it is filled with imagery and it makes you feel like you right with the characters. The author Don Wulffson did a wonderful job explaining what it was like for the main character Erik Brandt behind enemy lines.¿Filthy gold tassels hung from faded green velvet curtains; the windows were oval in shape, the glass yellowed by age; stuffing sprouted from seats upholstered in cracking, scaly-looking leather; and at the back of the car, behind a curtained of alcove, was a toilet that emptied directly onto the tracks¿, is a wonderful example of the beautiful imagery in this book. It was very entertaining and filled with action; it also shows the pain and suffering of war. I have read many other books about war and ¿Soldier X¿ is definitely my favorite so far. ¿Soldier X¿ is an imagery filled book that will always keep you on the edge of your seat. This book is one of my all time favorite that I have ever read. I think that the author did an amazing job telling the story of how the main characters survived.Over all ¿Soldier X¿ is an amazing book. It is one of my favorite books of all time. I give this a five star rating. It is a must read, but not for all ages I recommend 12 and up. If you decide to read the book I hope you enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    oh snap! this book is awesome

    This book is filled with drama. It's seriously suspenseful, and you will never know what the next great battle will be. There is a lot of romance in there too! In the end of the book it ends up to be like a chick book. All romance! I would recomend this book to someone who loves to read romantic books, or books that deal with war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Trully Awesome!

    Read this,its great! I know this may not conatin as many words as all the other reviews, but thats because theres only one word to describe it:

    Awesome.
    Read Soldier X,now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    highly recomded

    this book is AMAZING i would recomend it to anyone who enjoys war and or learning about the holocaust. It is a really wonderful survival story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Soldier X: By Don Wulffson

    I read this book a couple of days ago and it was AMAZING!!!!!!!I give it 10 stars!!!! This book is about a sixteen year old boy named Erik and he is half German half Russian. His father died when he was very little and his mother and grandparents own a resturant the Orange Kitchen( which is right below their apartment). Well he drafts into Hitler`s army, but in one of the battles an event occurs that changes Erik`s enitre LIFE!!!!!! I would tell you but you MUST, MUST, MUST READ THE BOOK!!!!!!! :) I highly recomend this book to anyone who wants to know what it was like to live during World War II. I also learned alot of German and Russian words :)!!! Awsome book !!!!! Must Read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody and exciting

    I would recommend this book to someone who seeks adventure. I wouldn't recommend this book to someone who has a week stomach and doesn't like seeing a lot of blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Death is Just The Beginning

    I Would recommend this book because it was very factual and told about World War II and what it was like to be a soldier who had to leave there family and fight in war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    SOLDIER X, By Don Wulffson, Reviewed by James C. Miller

    SOLDIER X, by Don Wulffson was a great and touching novel that was fictional in plot but based of of real happenings. It was well written and thought provoking, both important elements of a great book. It also reviewed the hardships and injustices throughout the World War 2 era, as well as morals learned through these hardships.
    Mr. Wulffson's writing, like most great novels, was able to create a strong connection between the main characters and the reader. He did this so well he was able to make the reader connect with Nazi German soldiers and the Soviet Russians they were fighting as the main character traveled through connections with both sides, both good and bad.So well that he made a loving relationship between a German and a Russian of the Nazi-Soviet era not only probable, but possible and no different than those between a couple of the same nationality or allied countries.
    This book, like any other that takes place during World War 2, discusses the tragic and heart-throbbing destruction and violence that took place everywhere in Europe during that time. Mr. Wulffson did this with a clarity that myself as a reader has rarely seen in other works. His writing makes the reader not only vividly see the settings in his/her head, but makes him/her feel like they are in that place at that time.
    This book's end, like many, was happy. However, the author did not make it seem obvious that it would be happy. In fact, there are several points that make a happy ending seem impossible. So, if a reader is looking for a thrilling, well-written, emotional, and action-packed book, SOLDIER X, by Don Wulffson is the book of choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    Soldier X

    In the book, Soldier X, Erik Brandt is a German teenager who is sent off to the battle front to fight the Soviets. There he loses the most of the friends he has made and is badly injured and knocked out. When Erik wakes up, the Soviets have pushed forward. He is now behind enemy lines. Erik takes a dead Soviet's uniform and is taken to a Russian hospital, where he passes himself off with the new identity, X. One day, Erik, while helping out in the hospital, burns himself and yells out in German. His cover is blown, but Tamara, the nurse who heard him, has not reported him for weeks since the incident. Then, the Germans invade the town and Erik and Tamara run for their lives. Erik must now run from both the Russian and German army which he deserted. Along the journey Erik and Tamara begin to fall in love and must face many hardships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Go Out Today And Buy Soldier X!!!!

    This book is absolutely outstanding. Usually I read about the Russian Revolution, but this book made me want to read so much more about WWII! Erik Brandt is a sixteen year old German boy who is drafted into the military and sent to fight the Soviets. In a battle, he loses most of his friends to the war and is badly injured. Taking the uniform of a dead Russian boy, he is taken into a hospital and takes a new identity, X. When the hospital is attacked, X's life takes another turn as he has to run from the Russian army and the German army he has abandoned. Along the way he falls in love with the Russian nurse Tamara, who accepts him for who he is and what he is and understands that just because he is German does not make him a true Nazi. To find the real, true, amazing story you will have to read the rest of the book. I was glad to read a book that tells about what the war was like in Europe, not just America and Japan. It was a book that was bloody and gave an accurate depiction of war and how it affects so many lives, but at the same time it was in a way a love story. It made me realize that not everyone who fought for Germany was a cruel Nazi, but Germany, like America, had a draft. I don't think many Americans or any people whose countries fought Germany consider that. This was superb and I could not put it down. This is a book everyone should read! Go out today and buy Soldier X!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is my favorite book because every book about WWII is about the American-Japanese or American-German battles. They never have UK or Soviet Union in any WWII. Second of all, I loved this book --- it is the best WWII book you'll read. I think it is better than Flyboys or any other teenage military book. This book describes exactly how WWII action was fought and was written with great detail. There is never a moment where you are bored in this story and never a part you would want to skip. I've read it 3 times and I still love the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Great WWII Book

    This book is a great read for all readers young and old. The book portrays the war in a different light. The book enables the reader to feel a great many emotions. People with previuos knowledge of this kind of read with enjoy it a great deal more. The book invokes a great deal of imagery. People who don't like war or history would probably still enjoy this book. The only drawback to the book is that it isn't wordy and greatly detailed like other books such as those of Hemingway. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book keeps you on your toes. Don Wufflson should keep writing on this subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4