Customer Reviews for

Soldier of Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a mistake

    I did not buy this product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not very exciting. A departure from her known style.

    Quality recording with original work. A couple of memorable songs however the entire CD is very low key and kind of sleepy. The songs all sound pretty much the same. I expected more diversity. Yawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    got for my brother

    cool sexy sensuous easy listening. can play in your house and float around while relaxing, on the computer, cooking, and cleaning. excellent musicians and perfectly produced. i hear the soldier of love music video is great although i haven't seen it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Behind the Mystic

    Sade delivers a soulful weave of story with musicality...again! She consistantly provides a vehicle for her band "Sweetback" to reach her audience again, and again. Their chemistry works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Soldier of Love

    Sade at her very best!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love Sade

    Only 1 track is a danceable.....Soldier of Love.
    Sade is amazing, The Moon and the Sky will be a hit, I am sure her voice is so soothing, and soulful, I could listen to this everyday.
    I have hear this album on starbucks all over town....and at the mall.
    This band stayed true to the quality music we expect from SAde.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sade's, The Godess

    Sade's new CD is simply the best. She truly delivers with a subtle, soulful, yet delightful energy. I can listen to the CD from the beginning the end, while I am relaxing for the evening or even doing house chores. I just turn up the volume. Her lyrics are piercing. Her voice is sultry and stimulating. Indeed, this CD will help you remember 2010!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!!

    This CD was worth the wait. It is truly authentic. Sade sings about hurt/lost love/still believing in love. These songs are healtfelt with great melodies and I can really relate to most of these songs on a personal level. Great, soothing music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A long time coming...

    Sade is back with her band and sounding great. The music is reminiscent of much of her older work, but that's what her fans love. Her soulfulness is as sultry and emotional as ever. Also, her band members just feed that groove with their jazzy style. It is an essential addition to the SADE collection/discography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm delighted Sade is back.

    Great CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SADE

    What can I say; it's Sade. I don't think she can sing anything badly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best - Sade's Return

    Excellent easy listening. The long wait was worth it. Sade has not lost her touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love it!

    A wonderful comeback for Sade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing CD! A must have!

    I've always been a Sade fan, so it comes to no surprise that I love her music. This CD is a great listen from beginning to end. Love it and would recommend for everyone's must have collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Still in the same groove

    Sade created her own smooth groove years ago and is sticking with it. She doesn't have to move from it and it has become a comfort to me and her many fans. Her sound creates a particular vibe that seems to mellow the problems of the world. Her level of excellence has always been high. All Sade needs is a mellow groove, meaningful lyrics, her narrow vocal range and she makes the world a better place. You see...I also 'lost the use of my heart and I am still alive'. A soldier of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    some welcome ear candy from sade

    i love sade's soothing, soulful voice, and this album has been worth the wait since her previous collection. soldier of love and babydaddy seem to be the most popular of the ten songs, but each track has its own particular flair. only minor complaint is that the selections flow along in a mild groove. i would have liked a bit more upbeat rhythm once or twice along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Album

    Very nice listening album with Sade doing somethings slightly different but right within her strong points. Its been quite a few years since the previous album, but well worth the wait. Strong buy if you like sleepy jazz with some soulful hymns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sade is still in the game!

    As always, soulful and good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sade Has Done it Again

    Classy performer that soothes the soul. Todays music with the old school tone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sade Returns

    Have missed Sade, this album is different for her. Lyrics are beautiful, her voice sounds smoother, huskier. Love it......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5