Customer Reviews for

A Soldier's Duty

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

a brilliant space opera

On the Planet Sanctuary lives fifteen years old powerful psychic Ia, who is able to slip in and out of the time stream at will. However, she also has uncontrollable visions. One of them is of invaders destroying the Milky Way galaxy leaving no one alive. All streams ...
On the Planet Sanctuary lives fifteen years old powerful psychic Ia, who is able to slip in and out of the time stream at will. However, she also has uncontrollable visions. One of them is of invaders destroying the Milky Way galaxy leaving no one alive. All streams lead to this occurring except for one remote possibility. If she takes the steps she will possibly prevent the pandemic catastrophe.

Her first stop is enlisting in the Terran United Planets military Space Force, which she does when she turns eighteen. Knowing what the future will be, she has to insure some events happen in a certain way. She is an extemporary recruit; the best in her class performing extraordinary deeds like tracking down a criminal from her peers who went AWOL after stunning the rest of the class and the sergeants. After graduation, Ia is assigned to the spaceship Liu Ji where she is made a corporal. Ia proves to be a great soldier saving lives, rescuing a ship from pirates and going the extra kilometer to keep her crew mates safe from a criminal consortium.

Readers who enjoy the Valor Military Space Opera series by Tanya Huff will want to read this epic. Ia is the glue that holds the exciting story line together as a soldier performing her duty yet with an agenda caused by her precog powers that has her trying to prevention the cataclysm from occurring though if it happens it will not be in her lifetime. She understands the true credo of A Soldier's Duty as she is an example of courage and honor performing selfless service to keep people safe. Jean Johnson had created a brilliant space opera that will have readers eagerly turning the pages until they reach the end and will eagerly await the next book in this enthralling series.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ok Story, but...

This book suffers a flaw that many science fiction books have when it comes to portraying a military environment. With over 18 years military service, the military scenes depicted in this novel failed to ring true. This distracted me from the story line over and over. T...
This book suffers a flaw that many science fiction books have when it comes to portraying a military environment. With over 18 years military service, the military scenes depicted in this novel failed to ring true. This distracted me from the story line over and over. The book itself is well written and maintains continuity better than many novels. Unfortunately, the military setting is a major part of this novel and it comes off like a civilian's idea of something they have never experienced. A good read, but not great.

posted by Moonsword on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a brilliant space opera

    On the Planet Sanctuary lives fifteen years old powerful psychic Ia, who is able to slip in and out of the time stream at will. However, she also has uncontrollable visions. One of them is of invaders destroying the Milky Way galaxy leaving no one alive. All streams lead to this occurring except for one remote possibility. If she takes the steps she will possibly prevent the pandemic catastrophe.

    Her first stop is enlisting in the Terran United Planets military Space Force, which she does when she turns eighteen. Knowing what the future will be, she has to insure some events happen in a certain way. She is an extemporary recruit; the best in her class performing extraordinary deeds like tracking down a criminal from her peers who went AWOL after stunning the rest of the class and the sergeants. After graduation, Ia is assigned to the spaceship Liu Ji where she is made a corporal. Ia proves to be a great soldier saving lives, rescuing a ship from pirates and going the extra kilometer to keep her crew mates safe from a criminal consortium.

    Readers who enjoy the Valor Military Space Opera series by Tanya Huff will want to read this epic. Ia is the glue that holds the exciting story line together as a soldier performing her duty yet with an agenda caused by her precog powers that has her trying to prevention the cataclysm from occurring though if it happens it will not be in her lifetime. She understands the true credo of A Soldier's Duty as she is an example of courage and honor performing selfless service to keep people safe. Jean Johnson had created a brilliant space opera that will have readers eagerly turning the pages until they reach the end and will eagerly await the next book in this enthralling series.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    A new classic

    Ia is a wonderfully developed character that leads the reader through a diverse universe that is well described, and even more interesting. The universe is at war for its survival, but most of its citizens are unaware of the danger. Ia takes us with her on her fight to save the universe and the majority of souls within it, while she tries to explain why she has done thing the way she has.

    I enjoyed this book so much that I have read and reread it frequently during the past year and am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series. I will be very disappointed if this book does not win a number of Science Fiction awards.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    FUN!

    Waiting impatiently for the next book this one was unusual, but the surprises made it that much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Great read.

    Jean Johnson really knows how to intrique a reader. This story brings out the every day struggles of a solider doing the right thing for the greater good of the whole and the emotions that make us who we are as individuals. I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    one of her best!

    love Jean Johnsons books.
    and this is one of her best..
    each chapter is a complete book..initsself..
    can't wait for the next in this series
    I've already preordered it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    I loved it

    This was an excellent series opener. I can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Awesome Storyline

    This is an original story. Loved it and can't wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Great Military Sci-Fi

    If you can see the future and it is horrible, what would you give up in order to prevent it? That is the question Ia, the main character in the story has to answer. With only one slim chance to forestall future events, she joins the Space Marines.

    I loved this book. I could not put it down. "A Soldier's Duty" really caught my attention and held it throughout the story. Can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Sam

    Wraps her arm in a cast

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Cc to aiden

    Look at my post at my house

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Alex

    Walks to her cabin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    A riveting story with a strong, kick-ass woman in the lead.

    If you enjoy futuristic military stories with kick-ass, strong female leads, excellent writing and a strong plot line, you might want to check this out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great

    Great read could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    4.5 Stars If the world is going to go hell and you need saving,

    4.5 Stars
    If the world is going to go hell and you need saving, you need, no WANT Ia on your side.

    To those that start this book and groan over the massive descriptions of guns and basic training, don't worry that's just basic and the action when it starts is amazing!

    Ia's talents are revealed in small snippets and tantalizing teases thought out the book. When the action does start it is exciting and really got my blood pumping. Let's just say when Ia goes surfing, she does it precog style.

    When it comes to world building, I think that Jean Johnson must have been born in the future and came back in a time machine. I'm mean talk about impressive people. The detail that she put into it is mind blowing and the reader will fall into that world and absorb it, hey where is my mechsuit?

    Ia, pronounced e-yee, is so well written she is walking off the pages. Damn good first book in a series!

    Quip from the book...

    "Corporal, you are currently bare-asteroid naked!" D'kora argued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Strong Woman in the Future

    If you like action/adventure with a strong female character this is it! I love sic/fi! I'm truly glad to see the author also recognizes our military people and the sacrifices they make. This is a tribute to sci/fi and our military. Also, a book you do not want to put down since it goes from action scene to action scene!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    good reading

    Enjoyed the story very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Can'r wait for the next one!

    Exciting, swashbuckling female lead with a razir wit. Premise at first seems predictable (hello, she's a precog!) But Jean Johnson kept it fresh, fast-paced, & page-turningly interesting. Can I still use that term when using a Nook?!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Great Opening Salvo into a Soldier's Duty

    Great opening, Looking forward to the next entry, hoping that Ia will achieve a moment's peace that she desperately wants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3