Customer Reviews for

Soldier's Heart: Being the Story of the Enlistment and Due Service of the Boy Charley Goddard in the First Minnesota Volunteers

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Stellar Book!

This is one of the few books ive ever read because I don't find reading very fun, but this book was amazing and since I'm very intrested in history this book was easy for me to understand. The author did a great job of showing the setting and didn't use too much or too ...
This is one of the few books ive ever read because I don't find reading very fun, but this book was amazing and since I'm very intrested in history this book was easy for me to understand. The author did a great job of showing the setting and didn't use too much or too little dialog. The book kept my attention the whole way through. Even tho the ending was a happy one. It kept me thinking. I deff. recommend this to everyone because its easy to read and gets your attention.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre, Too Played Up.

As an avid reader, I've scarcely ever hated a book. I consider myself to be good at seeing the light in even the dimmest of stories. I read this book because it was on the list for The Assembly of Literature Among Adolescents, an English festival I will be attending com...
As an avid reader, I've scarcely ever hated a book. I consider myself to be good at seeing the light in even the dimmest of stories. I read this book because it was on the list for The Assembly of Literature Among Adolescents, an English festival I will be attending come March. I tried very hard to find heart in this novel. The book is played up to be very heartfelt, touching, and emotional; the story of a young boy and the struggle of his heart. However, I saw none of that in the story. I felt that Paulsen wrote in a rather mediocre style, more as a sort of bland documentary of a war already too glamorized in the media. I saw no emotion whatsoever in this utterly forgettable story, a story that, mind you, SHOULD have been quite meaningful. I recommend this book to the most naive of readers, looking for information and simplicity, nothing more. Do not pick up this book if you are looking for an inspiring, well written story that will TRULY illustrate the cruelties of war. This book will not do that for you.

posted by ErinElaine on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Stellar Book!

    This is one of the few books ive ever read because I don't find reading very fun, but this book was amazing and since I'm very intrested in history this book was easy for me to understand. The author did a great job of showing the setting and didn't use too much or too little dialog. The book kept my attention the whole way through. Even tho the ending was a happy one. It kept me thinking. I deff. recommend this to everyone because its easy to read and gets your attention.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Such a good book!!!!!

    This book is soooo good i even did a book report on it. Great book!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Great book

    This book was awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! will always love it

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Amazing

    I read this book for school and i loved it by the end. It actually goes by very fast. His facts are accurate too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    good book

    Soldiers Heart by Gary Paulsen is a historic fiction book. If you are interested in history about the civil war then this is a good book for you. Charley is a 16 year old who wants to join the army, but he needs to be 18 to join. He lies about his age and he knows that his voice is getting deep enough to trick the guards. After he got enlisted he fought in three very brutal battles and bloody battles. He sent the money he earned back home to his mom and his brother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Soldiers Heart

    If you like a good book, then this is the book for you. This interesting book is about a 16 year old teenager, Charlie who joins the army. He was supposed to be 18 to join the army, but he knew his voice was getting deep enough to trick the army into thinking he was older. He fights three battles, but regrets ever joining, believe me. He is struggling to survive. He sends money he earns back home to his brother and his mom. He hates the war. I can relate to this story because I play paintball. When I paintball it feels like I am in a war. The paintballs fly past me. In the book, it describes how lead musket balls flew past Charlies and he was terrified. When I play it reminds me of that part in the book. Soldier¿s Heart is a real good book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Review

    Awesome book!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    English Festival 2011 Book

    This book is one of the 7 required reading books for the English Festival.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Another great boook for boys & girls

    Paulsen's books are great! My sons are dyslexic, these books have been such motivation encouragement my youngest has gone from the lower 5% to the upper 97% in reading in just 1 semester, Thanks Gary!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    AWSOME

    i thought this book was incredible! it was very touching i loved it ive read it like 3 times already i was sad when it ended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Book's Good.....Carry On!

    What would you do if you were fifteen and war broke out? Would you lie about your age and join the army? I wouldn¿t. That is exactly what Charley did in this realistic fiction book, Soldier¿s Heart, by Gary Paulsen. Charley was in a time of extreme racism and prejudice. Charley joined the army to see more of the country and to become a man. Little did he know that this experience would change his life forever. Many of his friends that he made, he lost in the war. . Paulsen writes Soldier¿s Heart based on a true story. Charley actually was a real person. He actually suffered these wounds. The timeline of Charley is true except for some added details. Paulsen hooked me on this masterpiece, I could hardly put it down. It is full of excellent details. I thought I was actually in the Civil War right there next to Charley. I recommend Soldier¿s Heart to anyone who loves to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Gltiuo

    Zy b,ub,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Brittany

    Farming res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Aaron

    To church

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    good book

    This book is very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book was really interesting i think that if someones really interested in history this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I Luved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    He was a young boy from Minnesota that wanted to enroll into the

    He was a young boy from Minnesota that wanted to enroll into the army but his mom wasnt so for him going but he stood up to his mom and said he is old enough to make his own decisions. He ate some salted pork and some bread and then he had to get ready for war. Then when charley was reforming and he saw his buddy nelson laying there with a tummy wound and he said the ambulance will come get you but nelson new that they just let people with tummy wounds to  die slowly because there was no way to fix it. There was many people dying because of diarrhea and measles.  The house wives Made a lot of meals for the soldiers. Charley and the Union army walk 26 miles to the next battle and charley could hear the war from miles. When he was fighting at gettysburg they made the whole unit charge including Charley.




    The author does good identifying the people characteristics of the people, war and there setting in the story. Gary Paulsen did a good job identifying Charley with his characteristics. in the middle of the wars he would put every detail about it. When they were walking places he would he would put every detail about where they are.




    There could be so much more of a story because he missed a lot of parts in the story. He could've put more to the battles and explained them better like it seemed like the wars were only 3 hours long but in real life they were all day from dawn to dusk. He could've put so much more details to the wars and the people.
    Yes the book was very good overall. There could be more to the book but great book. The reason I liked the book was because it was interested to me. I don't really like reading but I picked this book and I liked very much. The author made this book so interesting that it catches peoples attention very fast.




    I would recommend this book to kids that like learning about wars and don't like to read much because it will catch their attention very fast. I think you should read it because its a easy read. The other reasons is because when you read this it feels like you're in the war. I would recommend this book young men, boys, and maybe some girls. Many people I think will enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved this book i read it 5 times still good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    So great i could not discribe it in one word

    So great that the part with the bellywound*


    *The rest my reading class were grossed out by this because someone's guts came out :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3