Customer Reviews for

Sole Survivor

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Worst Koontz book I've read

    Let me first preface this by stating that I am an avid Dean Koontz fan. I grew up reading most of his work and some of my favorites include Watchers, Phantoms, Lighning, The Bad Place, The Taking, and the Frankenstein series. That said, this book was the least entertaining of any I've read by him. It was slow, uninteresting and had no Wow! factor anywhere. The ending was another complete let down. There are so many other fantastic Koontz books to choose from so do yourself a favor an look elsewhere for a book worthy of the Koontz name.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Did not like Did not like

    I just could not get into this book. I bought it the day it came out and read it straight through. It felt rushed and had a horrible ending. I have never read it again and i have read and reread every dean koontz book at least 3 or more times.



    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Always brillant

    Another A+ dean koontz is amazing! If i didnt know better i
    would say he was obe scfy creations....lol brillant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great

    Kept me on the edge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    A wonderful story

    This story touched me deeply. Dean Koontz is by far one of the best in his field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent story, well told by Mr. Koontz

    This has all the ingredients of every other Dean Koontz book. That might sound negative, but if something works, why change? Strong, beautiful women; the average Joe who is almost superhuman in the face of adversity; bad guys from shady companies/agencies; mysterious and maybe supernatural forces at work; etc, etc, etc. It's a great recipe, and the stories are always different still. It's a recipe that I find very satisfying and full of flavor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Wonderful book

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Different but very good!!!

    Not had a chance to read much lately so I'm glad this one was my choice. Story is very compelling, by the fact that this could happen to anyone of us at any time. Koontz has always been one of my favorite authors, and he didn't let me down. Different kind of story line form him but seems to have been well thought out. READ ON FOLKS!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Slow to catch flight

    Dean koontz is my favorite by far, and this book was a delight to read. However, it was not this one was not my favorite. Usually i am gripped to read what may come next but i felt myself having to pull towards the end. I can also say i have never disliked the main character but in this one i did. Still a very good read but not one i will picking up again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Superb scientific thriller!

    I so enjoyed reading Sole Survivor! It kept a good pace. Had great character development. And had a scientific paranormal like plot that was truly unique. It sure was a thrilling novel. I highly recommended Sole Survivor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    not what I thought!

    This is a very good read. Easy to keep track of the participants. It was not what I thought. As I read there were times I found my jaw drop. It's worth your reading time.

    Enjoy!

    Sharon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book

    This book was great. I never saw the tv mini series but I want to watch it now that I have read the book to see if they did it any justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    awesome book!

    This book was fast paced and suspenseful, a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ultimate mystery with a wicked ending

    I often turn to Koontz when I want a deliciously sharp, satisfying read that has mystery, horror, thrill of a good chase, a possible supernatural story line and of course great characters. Sole Survivor was very interesting right from the start; a father mourning his dead family on a sudden quest for truth when his life takes on a strange turn. A year after his wife and daughters face an untimely death on a flight that should have been a piece of cake, Joe Carpenter finds himself followed by men who seem to have a slew of surveillance equipment to their disposal. He shrugs it off since he doesn't really care about life anymore being alone and lost, but when he finds a mysterious woman taking pictures of his family's graves at the cemetery he suddenly wants to live, only to discover why the surveillance is needed to follow him and get her. She tells him her name but is chased off, suddenly Joe knows that his life in the past year has been a lie, that there was no accident, something happened and the woman at the cemetery is in center of it all, the problem is finding her and not getting caught himself. Joe is on the run from some very powerful people who will not give up in silencing him once he's gotten the idea that this was no ordinary plane crash. The idea that she was on that flight doesn't seem to leave him alone, Joe becomes obsessed with discovering her ties to the whole affair.

    Once I started reading this I was totally sucked in, Joe wallowed in pity and pain, yes there was a lot of that but it made the story realistic, it helped me feel what he felt, it put me in his shoes and made the answer only that more urgent to get to. The story truly took a dive into the bizarre at the end, but I liked it, it was interesting and I enjoyed discovering the truth behind the tragedy. This was hard to put down once I started it and I had a nice time reading it, another good read from Koontz, and lots more to go.

    - Kasia S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Koontz can do better

    I'm a big koontz fan so I know his full potential, but to me this book was kind of slow. It really didn't draw me in until the last 100 pages, which was pretty intense, but everything before that just kind of dragged on. I know it sounds a bit harsh, and I hate to sound like this to one of dean's novels because I have a lot of respect for him. But that's just my opinion anyways, I wouldn't really recommend it but if you want to read it go for it, don't listen to me haha. Overall, it was an okay book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Amazing!

    I have already recommended this book to my family and friends. It is a definite page-turner. I absolutely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    this book was alright but it was very slow until like the last 100 pages or so

    i liked this book even though it was slow for the first part but then it started picking up and i just couldnt put the book down because i just had to find out what happens next i really liked the part where in the end out of nowhere the black lady tells him that she is in this secret organization and that caught my attention and the kid who has to kill all these people for "treats" i thought that was very cruel so i had to find out what happened to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Dean Koontz Rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I absolutely LOVE Dean Koontz. I am a highschool student and he is the only author I will read. His stories are full of suspense, tragedy, love and almost sci-fi.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought the storyline was very good, and the characters were just as good. However, It was way to wordy. At some points in the book, the author took up a whole page in a half describing sceneries and such swaying away from the storyline. I found that rather annoying. Other than that It had a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    A very depressing tale!

    The book is very depressing with a lot of death in it. A character comes to light through out the book and makes you wonder what will happen next and whether it will be good or bad? And at times is very wordy. A good read if you demand to read all of his books. It was ok but not great. Just not as smooth as his usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6