Customer Reviews for

Sole Survivor

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great

    Kept me on the edge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent story, well told by Mr. Koontz

    This has all the ingredients of every other Dean Koontz book. That might sound negative, but if something works, why change? Strong, beautiful women; the average Joe who is almost superhuman in the face of adversity; bad guys from shady companies/agencies; mysterious and maybe supernatural forces at work; etc, etc, etc. It's a great recipe, and the stories are always different still. It's a recipe that I find very satisfying and full of flavor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Different but very good!!!

    Not had a chance to read much lately so I'm glad this one was my choice. Story is very compelling, by the fact that this could happen to anyone of us at any time. Koontz has always been one of my favorite authors, and he didn't let me down. Different kind of story line form him but seems to have been well thought out. READ ON FOLKS!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Slow to catch flight

    Dean koontz is my favorite by far, and this book was a delight to read. However, it was not this one was not my favorite. Usually i am gripped to read what may come next but i felt myself having to pull towards the end. I can also say i have never disliked the main character but in this one i did. Still a very good read but not one i will picking up again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    not what I thought!

    This is a very good read. Easy to keep track of the participants. It was not what I thought. As I read there were times I found my jaw drop. It's worth your reading time.

    Enjoy!

    Sharon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ultimate mystery with a wicked ending

    I often turn to Koontz when I want a deliciously sharp, satisfying read that has mystery, horror, thrill of a good chase, a possible supernatural story line and of course great characters. Sole Survivor was very interesting right from the start; a father mourning his dead family on a sudden quest for truth when his life takes on a strange turn. A year after his wife and daughters face an untimely death on a flight that should have been a piece of cake, Joe Carpenter finds himself followed by men who seem to have a slew of surveillance equipment to their disposal. He shrugs it off since he doesn't really care about life anymore being alone and lost, but when he finds a mysterious woman taking pictures of his family's graves at the cemetery he suddenly wants to live, only to discover why the surveillance is needed to follow him and get her. She tells him her name but is chased off, suddenly Joe knows that his life in the past year has been a lie, that there was no accident, something happened and the woman at the cemetery is in center of it all, the problem is finding her and not getting caught himself. Joe is on the run from some very powerful people who will not give up in silencing him once he's gotten the idea that this was no ordinary plane crash. The idea that she was on that flight doesn't seem to leave him alone, Joe becomes obsessed with discovering her ties to the whole affair.

    Once I started reading this I was totally sucked in, Joe wallowed in pity and pain, yes there was a lot of that but it made the story realistic, it helped me feel what he felt, it put me in his shoes and made the answer only that more urgent to get to. The story truly took a dive into the bizarre at the end, but I liked it, it was interesting and I enjoyed discovering the truth behind the tragedy. This was hard to put down once I started it and I had a nice time reading it, another good read from Koontz, and lots more to go.

    - Kasia S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    this book was alright but it was very slow until like the last 100 pages or so

    i liked this book even though it was slow for the first part but then it started picking up and i just couldnt put the book down because i just had to find out what happens next i really liked the part where in the end out of nowhere the black lady tells him that she is in this secret organization and that caught my attention and the kid who has to kill all these people for "treats" i thought that was very cruel so i had to find out what happened to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    This would make a great movie!

    This is the first Dean Koontz book I have read that I didn't want to put down. I have read only a few of his other books, but I know many people who really like him. I just didn't get it until this book. I was able to predict a little bit of what was going on, but it was still very full of suspense! Definitely take time out for this one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    So exciting!

    I thought it was so suspenseful. Towards the end I just kept reading and reading. I was afraid to put it down because there was no good place to stop. It left you hanging after every chapter! Excellant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Great Book!

    This was an awesome book, with a lot of suspence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    INTERESTING BOOK

    Easy and fun to read novel. Enjoyed the aviation angle. Good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Excellent Book, But!

    This book was sooo good until you reach the end. What happen to the boy with all the special talent? My question to D. Koontz 'Are you going to do a sequel to Sole Survivor dealing with the boy and Joe Carpenter?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    undoubtedly intriguing

    absolutely amazing and as I said intrigueing! I could not put it down once I started reading it. It really makes you think about life and also makes you wonder if this kind of stuff is really happening in real life. Dean Koontz inspires me in many ways. I have to say that this was definantley one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    Memorable, readable, exciting, sweet, and clever.

    Definitely good, though I wouldn't say it's Koontz's best. It has all the usual Koontz trademarks: the threatened little girl(s), the fusion of science with the supernatural, the loner individualists, action, the clever mystery that is gradually solved, anti-government sentiment, Southern California settings. I thought the description of the girls making friends on the plane was especially charming. The computer tech cult stayed in my mind and made me wonder if there isn't something like that already in existence. The scientific basis is probably weak, but not too much; it definitely makes you wonder. Weak parts: the explanation of Rose and the Polaroid photos, and the animals during the fire at the end. Overall it's very readable, and I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Good First Experience of Koontz's Talent

    Just as the title hints, this was my first book that I have read by Dean Koontz. And, it was quite a book I must say. The story WILL keep you interested and you will want to keep on reading. Throughout the whole novel, bits and pieces of information are hinted to the reader which are all part of a large mystery. As a reader, you will spend most of your time trying to piece together this mystery. In the end, when the truth about the tragic crash of the 737 is revealed, all of those littles bits of information all make since and you will be stunned. This is a well orchestrated novel and I believe most lovers of this genre of novel will enjoy it immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2