Customer Reviews for

The Solitaire Mystery

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    An unforgettable novel.

    I first read this novel at the age of twelve, and it's one of the select few I've re-read. The story is such that readers of all denominations (or lack thereof) can relate. Highly recommended for those that appreciate thought-provoking stories off the beaten path.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    one of my favorite books

    Books dominate my home; even with six bookcases, there are also quite a few 2-foot-high stacks of books that haven't don't have a bookshelf to sit on. But after I finished Solitaire Mystery, I deliberately cleared a place next to my most treasured books -- signed hardcovers of favorite authors -- for it. It was much too important to me to leave lying in one of those piles on the floor. // Part of the enjoyment for me is the rare combination of simplicity and complexity. The adept mixture of magic into a very real world is good enough to recommend the book on its own, but the way multiple literary threads are woven into a deceptively easy-to-read tapestry appeals to me very much. // I would recommend Solitaire Mystery to anyone who likes to ponder alternative explanations for commonly accepted events, anyone who enjoys allegory or especially multiple levels of allegory, anyone who enjoys good writing, any adult capable of still living the best parts of young adulthood, and for that part, anyone. Because so many of the tapestry's threads are common ones in my family (travel, cards, literature (we tend towards librarianism), etc.), Solitaire Mystery is the object I have deemed most worthy of giving to my mother this year for Mother's Day. Soon I will think of a good excuse to give it to my sister as well. // Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Please help me

    I am reading this in class and was wondering if anyone had any advise for me. I would love to hear about your favorite part or a line you thought was really special. Title your entry: To Student. Thanks for your help!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    While not as directly philosophical as his earlier (and excellen

    While not as directly philosophical as his earlier (and excellent book) “Sophie’s World”, "The Solitaire Mystery" uses a story within a story to pose similar questions. Who are you? Why are you here? Where did you come from? And, most importantly, how do you know these answers? The tale itself is a fanciful but fun narrative of a philosophically inclined father and his son traveling to Athens, Greece (!) to find a parent who left them years ago. But on the way, son Hans Thomas has mysterious encounters that result in possession of a book so small it requires a magnifying glass to read. The story in the book relates the story of yet another traveler who is stranded on an island inhabited by characters that are strikingly similar to a pack of cards including the Queen of Hearts (Hello, Alice!) and the Joker, the later playing a prominent role throughout the story. How these cards came to life is reminiscent of the Bishop Berkeley’s ideas on why we exist (we are visions in the eyes of God). This is a great tale for those who like stories with a strong philosophical bent, and even for those who don’t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Complimentary book to the living Book(bible)

    To me this is an awesome book. it definately compliments the bible even though it is not religiously based. i love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    Excellent

    This has to be one of the most creative stories I have ever read. You can see similarities between this and Sophies World (another great Gaarder book) but I think this is the better of the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Amazing

    I thought that this book was absolutly amazing. It is now my favorite book. It gives an interesting look at family and fate while still playing on the side of fiction and fantasy. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    Wonderbar!

    You will read this book over and over again it just gets more and more interesting everytime you read it. For once its a book that is genuinely interesting. While its not overly complicated it definately makes you think. Everytime you read it you pick up on something new. Great book, i would recommend it to anyone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Truly Magnificent

    The story of a young norwegian boy, that travels to Greece with his father, to find back his mother who left them, receives a magical touch fairly early in the book; a small book comes in Hans¿ possession and a magical world is being opened up. If you read the story in the story, you become completely absorbed by this world and you¿ll be amazed of the fine webbing of this story. The carefully build up & brilliantly constructed story turns and flows, touches and confronts. The reader will definitely feel a changed person, after realizing the contents and if he or she stops and thinks about the raised questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Joker's Wild!

    The Solitaire Mystery consecutively traces the journeys of Hans Thomas, as he travels to Athens in search of his mother, and of Baker Hans, whom Hans Thomas reads about in the Sticky Bun Book. Wound into the story are the philosophical ponderings of Hans Thomas' father, who simply cannot believe how incredible it is to be alive. It all begins when a baker gives Hans Thomas four sticky buns, one containing a mysterious surprise. Ultimately, Hans Thomas comes face to face with his own destiny, as he realises how fate has woven itself into his life in the form of a pack of cards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    Absolutely Outstanding

    The novel, The Solataire Mystery, was an outstanding book. I recommend this book to anyone from teenager on up. I read it my senior year in high school, but have also enjoyed reading it again and again since then. If you are a believer in fate and destiny this book will definitely spark your interest and also adds a little insight into philosophy. I enjoyed this book very much and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    Are you a Joker? Read on to find out.. .

    This book by Jostein Gaarder reminds us all of the beauty of life. He challenges us, through the Joker and the other 52 cards, never to lose the excitement of a breathtaking sunset and never to forget to follow our dreams. The parallel stories of the boy and the deck and the boy searching for his mother make the book twice as interesting. This is a must read for anyone who still has some soul-searching left to do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    I love this book

    it's just so amazing. i love how the 52 cards are 52 people. Guaranteed to be great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1