Customer Reviews for

Solitary: Escape from Furnace 2

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Hayes aka Haute Librarian for TeensReadToo

Sentenced to life without parole in the hellish prison known as Furnace, Alex has come to know the horrors the prison holds - the black suits with their shark-like grins, the wheezers and their gas masks, the dull red wash of the bloodwatch light. However, Alex attempte...
Sentenced to life without parole in the hellish prison known as Furnace, Alex has come to know the horrors the prison holds - the black suits with their shark-like grins, the wheezers and their gas masks, the dull red wash of the bloodwatch light. However, Alex attempted the impossible. He tried to escape. In this sequel to LOCKDOWN, Alex's jump for freedom into the raging underground river takes him to a new gallery of terrors. Alex must face the dark hole - solitary confinement - for his breach of the prison's security. Left alone in the pitch black, cut off from human interaction, Alex is left vulnerable to Furnace's tormentors, including the "rats," a group of former Furnace inmates who are closer to animal than human. They, though, give Alex a clue as to what is really going on in Furnace. Where do the wheezers take the inmates they choose during the bloodwatch? This book is a strong sophomore effort for Gordon's ESCAPE FROM FURNACE series. The descriptive language the author uses gives the reader a full-color picture of what's happening every step of the way, which is very important for an action series like this.

posted by TeensReadToo on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok? I guess.

The book was ok...but it wasnt THAT good. I went into the book loving the first and it just was a sad attempt to recreat the story. Dont get me wrong, i LOVE the other ones, this was the worst one. Sorry if i dissapointed any of you.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Solitary review  This is my personal review on solitary  Alex an

    Solitary review 
    This is my personal review on solitary
     Alex and his friends try to escape Furnace Penitentiary. Their escape attempt only lands them deeper in the depths of this prison. Their failed escape puts them in solitary confinement. And that's where a whole new struggle begins  not to let the hellish conditions overwhelm them of being alone in the dark Because before another escape attempt is even possible, they must first survive the nightmare that now haunts their endless night’s, darkness and pure silence perfect conditions for insanity.
    The characters:
    Alex(protagonist) : I really respect  this character. He’s been through and yet it seems like he always gets rational again after talking with Zee. He’s been through it all; sadness, weakness, loneliness, anger, rage, suicide thoughts. But he always showed how strong, determined, logical, smart and dependable he can be. 
    Zee (protagonist): Alex’s friend and accomplice in escape. Despite his small size and weak body, he keeps supporting and trying to protect Alex whenever he can. He is clumsy at times but he he’s very friendly and smart. He goes through a lot too.
    Donovan (protagonist): Alex and Zee best friend who was taken at the end of Lockdown by the blood watch he returns in this sequel but his presence is neither pleasurable nor much. I have no idea what to think and still having some hope for him he was really likeable character in lockdown. 
    Gary (antagonist): A new Skull leader who decides to jump with the boys at the end of Lockdown. He’s very hard to understand and get along with. He is a complete psycho path! 
    The Warden (antagonist): He is the one who runs Furnace. His appearance as described by Alex is that of a soulless being that when he speaks it trembles your soul it feels as if his presence was near you while he’s talking. 
    - The writing as in the Lockdown was awesome I love how Alexander Gordon smith puts the suspense. It was well paced and everything was in enough detail and yet it had some aspect of mystery. So although there was enough decryption, there were moments when you could sense something was kept hidden it. The suspense was good. I liked how all the settings were well pictured in my mind.
    - The storyline however is different from the first one. We get to see other aspects and discover more secrets about Furnace and its horrors.
    - The characters, by which I mean Alex and Zee, somewhat grew up and developed a new sense of responsibility and commitment. They matured in this book in a lot of ways on how they thought and acted.
    -  I would highly recommend this book but I would recommend reading lock down first.
    Gutierrez, Luis 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Pretty good

    Lots of action

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Great book wonderful storyline

    But the bad thing was it could have been a little longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I liked this book because it was very nerve wracking. It was ve

    I liked this book because it was very nerve wracking. It was very fast paced and interesting. I liked the character of Zee the best because he was always a loyal friend. I also liked the setting of the underground prison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Taki & Jazzy

    Not as good as the first book, but still a great read. Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Is ok

    Not bad but not awesome either
    The other one was more exiting
    In this one is just sortta boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Good Plot Moves Quickly

    Escape from furnace is a great series with a good plot and many characters. Although there was really only one event in the book, it still moved quickly along. Every page kept me guessing about what would happen next. By the time I got to the last few chapters, I felt that nothing had really happened at all, but the ending itself was great.

    Reviewed by Kole for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    koo

    the page turner taking off from where it took off cant wait for the next 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    uhhu

    i don,t know but this book sounds good: ) :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2