Customer Reviews for

Solitary (Solitary Tales Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Genius!

Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina from the Chicago suburbs as a result of his parents' divorce. Once in Solitary they are all on their own, and Solitary isn't the friendliest of places.

Then a girl named Jocelyn crosses his path, and he instantly become...
Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina from the Chicago suburbs as a result of his parents' divorce. Once in Solitary they are all on their own, and Solitary isn't the friendliest of places.

Then a girl named Jocelyn crosses his path, and he instantly becomes addicted to her. Her mysterious ways entice him and his life goal becomes that he must learn more about her.

As Chris beings to learn more about Solitary he learns of unexplained deaths, missing kids, and beyond strange nightmares. He knows something seriously wrong is going on in the town of Solitary, but no matter what he won't let anything happen to Jocelyn.

Ok, I found this a very good read, if you like Twilight you will defiantly enjoy this just as much or perhaps even better. Thrasher's writing style is genius, and from the first page he'd gotten me hooked. Though the paragraph breaks were extremely annoying at points.

I found Chris' fascination with Jocelyn very interesting, and that's what got me hooked why I was still reading the Preface. I did notice that the book was extremely realistic. Between the relationship between Chris and Jocelyn and everything else going on it felt so real.

The horror elements in the book were a bit scary, I had to set it down several times before I could continue reading because I was scared to see what was going to happen next.

Though I did give it 4 stars for a reason and here it is: I felt a little cheated. Probably about halfway through the book, Solitary revealed itself to be Christian Fiction. Now I have no issue with Christianity or Christian Fiction, it's just the fact that there were no descriptions indicating that it was Christian Fiction is all.

At 400 pages Solitary is a heavy read, but entirely worth it, of course if Christian Fiction is your thing. I'm definitely going to read the rest of the series.

posted by ValtenceMarie on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS A "STAR MINUS"-------Please, don't waste your time!!

My daughter (age 19) recommended this book to me. We totally disagreed! She LOVED the writing, the mystery, and the imagination. I cannot believe I wasted my time on it. I love mysteries...when they are solved. There were way too many details unanswered. If you ar...
My daughter (age 19) recommended this book to me. We totally disagreed! She LOVED the writing, the mystery, and the imagination. I cannot believe I wasted my time on it. I love mysteries...when they are solved. There were way too many details unanswered. If you are going to read the book, do not read any further. I have so many unanswered questions...WHO was the wolf/ghost figure who bit Chris and why did Chris NEVER bring this up to anyone? Who was the man on the side of the road that glared at Chris? Who was the leader of the "clan" people? Why did they form? What brought them to evil? Were those three missing kids, sacrificed? Why did they kill Jocelyn? Why was Gus such a bully? Why was his father never introduced in the book. You'd think he would be after making such a big deal out of him. What happened to Chris' uncle and why did he disappear? Who was the man creeping around their cabin and leaving footprints? What was Ray trying to do? Why was the Pastor so creepy? What did the Pastor want from Chris? Who was emailing Chris? Why couldn't someone come out and tell Chris, "There is a devil worshipping cult (was there?); stay away from so-and-so." Why did Chris' mom have nightmares? What did the weird aunt have to do with ANYTHING!!!??? Of course, I could use my imagination or my reasoning and make up the solutions. However, I think that would be the author's responsibility. Is this more interesting to the younger generation?

posted by Kellys_Mom on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Genius!

    Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina from the Chicago suburbs as a result of his parents' divorce. Once in Solitary they are all on their own, and Solitary isn't the friendliest of places.

    Then a girl named Jocelyn crosses his path, and he instantly becomes addicted to her. Her mysterious ways entice him and his life goal becomes that he must learn more about her.

    As Chris beings to learn more about Solitary he learns of unexplained deaths, missing kids, and beyond strange nightmares. He knows something seriously wrong is going on in the town of Solitary, but no matter what he won't let anything happen to Jocelyn.

    Ok, I found this a very good read, if you like Twilight you will defiantly enjoy this just as much or perhaps even better. Thrasher's writing style is genius, and from the first page he'd gotten me hooked. Though the paragraph breaks were extremely annoying at points.

    I found Chris' fascination with Jocelyn very interesting, and that's what got me hooked why I was still reading the Preface. I did notice that the book was extremely realistic. Between the relationship between Chris and Jocelyn and everything else going on it felt so real.

    The horror elements in the book were a bit scary, I had to set it down several times before I could continue reading because I was scared to see what was going to happen next.

    Though I did give it 4 stars for a reason and here it is: I felt a little cheated. Probably about halfway through the book, Solitary revealed itself to be Christian Fiction. Now I have no issue with Christianity or Christian Fiction, it's just the fact that there were no descriptions indicating that it was Christian Fiction is all.

    At 400 pages Solitary is a heavy read, but entirely worth it, of course if Christian Fiction is your thing. I'm definitely going to read the rest of the series.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    THIS IS A "STAR MINUS"-------Please, don't waste your time!!

    My daughter (age 19) recommended this book to me. We totally disagreed! She LOVED the writing, the mystery, and the imagination. I cannot believe I wasted my time on it. I love mysteries...when they are solved. There were way too many details unanswered. If you are going to read the book, do not read any further. I have so many unanswered questions...WHO was the wolf/ghost figure who bit Chris and why did Chris NEVER bring this up to anyone? Who was the man on the side of the road that glared at Chris? Who was the leader of the "clan" people? Why did they form? What brought them to evil? Were those three missing kids, sacrificed? Why did they kill Jocelyn? Why was Gus such a bully? Why was his father never introduced in the book. You'd think he would be after making such a big deal out of him. What happened to Chris' uncle and why did he disappear? Who was the man creeping around their cabin and leaving footprints? What was Ray trying to do? Why was the Pastor so creepy? What did the Pastor want from Chris? Who was emailing Chris? Why couldn't someone come out and tell Chris, "There is a devil worshipping cult (was there?); stay away from so-and-so." Why did Chris' mom have nightmares? What did the weird aunt have to do with ANYTHING!!!??? Of course, I could use my imagination or my reasoning and make up the solutions. However, I think that would be the author's responsibility. Is this more interesting to the younger generation?

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    I am disapointed

    THERE ARE SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW, IF YOU HATE LET DOWNS IN THE ENDS OF BOOKS READ THIS!!!







    Ok so I really liked this book in the beginning, but then at the end I was all excited because I wanted to see how Chris saved Jocelyn, but then the ending is soooooo disapointing! I hated the end and I was like really upset for a few days because I thought Chris would save Jocelyn, she was my FAVORITE and she got her freaking throt and wrists slit which killed her!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Chilling...in a great way!

    I won't waste your time giving a plot summary, but i am posting this to say you must read this book! Very few can communicate sheer suspense and terror the way that Travis Thrasher can while communicating it through such realistic and fully developed characters. I couldn't put this book down, and the twists and turns proved so shocking that i am dying to see what happens next. Since this is the first book in a series (seriously, how was that not obvious from the start?) I am excited to discover the answers that I am yearning for as the SOLITARY TALES continue to unfurl. Go ahead! Leave the porch lights on tonight. Double-check to ensure that all of your doors and windows are locked. Keep the Maglite flashlight/night stick nearby, and curl up to read this chilling tale!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    A book for simpletons. Traumatized boy meets traumatized girl. M

    A book for simpletons. Traumatized boy meets traumatized girl. More trauma, then death. Continual posturing and repeated scenes abound. I gave up after the third breakup. The ending was a disappointment. Not going to continue with the series and glad that I could delete the free book from my tablet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I am copying and pasting another reviewer's post because I could

    I am copying and pasting another reviewer's post because I could not have said it better: From Kellys_Mom: "I cannot believe I wasted my time on it. I love mysteries...when they are solved. There were way too many details unanswered. If you are going to read the book, do not read any further. I have so many unanswered questions...WHO was the wolf/ghost figure who bit Chris and why did Chris NEVER bring this up to anyone? Who was the man on the side of the road that glared at Chris? Who was the leader of the "clan" people? Why did they form? What brought them to evil? Were those three missing kids, sacrificed? Why did they kill Jocelyn? Why was Gus such a bully? Why was his father never introduced in the book. You'd think he would be after making such a big deal out of him. What happened to Chris' uncle and why did he disappear? Who was the man creeping around their cabin and leaving footprints? What was Ray trying to do? Why was the Pastor so creepy? What did the Pastor want from Chris? Who was emailing Chris? Why couldn't someone come out and tell Chris, "There is a devil worshipping cult (was there?); stay away from so-and-so." Why did Chris' mom have nightmares? What did the weird aunt have to do with ANYTHING!!!??? Of course, I could use my imagination or my reasoning and make up the solutions. However, I think that would be the author's responsibility. "

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Wow

    Didnt know this was from a guy's perspective... but it still sounds like a really good book ;)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Might be good for a book club

    An, okay read! The mystery was such a build up but the let down was very weak and disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Wow!!!!!

    Amazing book! Took me through all emotions and reminded me of the Hope I do have. Would recommend this for any teenagers possibly 8th grade and up. There is evil in this world but when we know where our Hope is we do not have to be afraid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    DONT LISTEN TO BAD REVIEWS

    They say too much left unanswered but it is a series. The storie is brilliantly writen and intereting. I love travis thrasher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    Another great Christian story from Travis Thrasher! I could not

    Another great Christian story from Travis Thrasher! I could not put this book down. It kept me on the edge of my seat through the whole story. It had a chilling ending. Incredibly spooky. I was anxious to continue Chris Buckley's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Travis Thrasher Published By: David C. Cook Age Recommende



    By: Travis Thrasher
    Published By: David C. Cook
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed 4
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: Solitary Tales #4
    Review:

    "Hurt" By Travis Thrasher was another enjoyed series read that offered suspense, action. mystery and much love though it all and taking place in North Carolina. "Hurt" was of a teenage POV love story with many twist and turns really making it hard to put down until the very end. This story has a good plot and story line that is very interesting and believable. The characters are well developed and very captivating only keeping your attention through the read. This read could be considered a 'Christian fiction' and this author did a wonderful job as presenting the subject.


    If you are looking for a good Christian, mystery, thriller with suspense read you have come to the right place and I would recommend this read to any YA and adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    This is horrer

    I thought it was to scary. If you like horrer then you will like this book. I did not like that they killed one of the main charecters. So if you fall in love with charecters easily then do not read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Didn't know it was a series.

    When I bought the free book sometime ago, I didn't know it was a series. I was incredibly disappointed at the abrupt ending to an otherwise enjoyable book. Only after finishing did I find out there was ONE story over FOUR books. Now I either have to pay for the others or wait indefinitely until the library picks up the series. You have been warned!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    when is a mystery no longer a good mystery?

    When you have no answers at the end of a book, it's disappointing. It's one thing to have answered some questions raised and bring up new ones to ponder at the end in continuing with a mystery atmosphere, it's another thing to never get answers for the main topics and only a smattering of answers to minor ones. I gave this a 3 instead of a 2 b/c I was hooked on it through the end and couldn't put it down because I wanted to find out the answers to all they mysteries but then when it ended the way it did, I got confused and felt cheated. I will probably eventually read the 2nd in the series to see if it answers the questions left untold in the 1st.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Something intersting

    It's a little scary but very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Great

    A bunch of people say its bad because there is not enough answers. But seriously come on. Why to u think it is a mystery. The book was great. Will definately read others books in the series. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Okay

    Not too bad. Something about it doesn't flow amazingly well, tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I found Solitary to be extremely realistic. I thought that was a

    I found Solitary to be extremely realistic. I thought that was a great characteristic that the book offered. As I was reading it,I found it to be spooky. The spookiness made it more interesting. The book was definitely well written and easy to read.

    I felt disappoint whenever no one answered Chris' questions. Instead of getting responses he was being yelled at. I felt sympathetic toward Chris when he was not recieving any answers. Over this book was wonderful since, it combined romance, horror, and religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    okay. Long. Confusing. Too many q's and suspense

    Alot of suspense and confusing drama. Toooo long of a pause between questions and answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3