Customer Reviews for

The Solomon Sisters Wise Up

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Couldnt Put It Down

    I really like this book a lot.... i work in a high school where i have a lot of free time and i actually wanted to read instead of finding other things to do like be on the computer.... i think that if you like a reality form of book you will like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    The Best Book I've read in a long time

    Everyone can either relate to a character or some of their characteristics in this book. It was a feel good type of book. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    Predictable, but funny and a great read

    I liked See Jane Date, so I was looking forward to reading another book by Melissa Senate. This one was even better. It was predictable, but funny and a great book. It's one of those books that puts a sappy smile onto my face after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    It's good to be 'wise'!

    Loved this book! It was incredibly fast paced. I enjoyed each of the three main characters and loved being along for each one's journey of self-discovery! I was able to finish this book in two sittings. It is definitely one I will be passing along to my friends. I don't have a sister, but this novel makes me wish I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Second best gift I got for Christmas

    I couldn't put this book down, I read it in a week. It really made me appreciate my sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Lazy . . .

    . . . in addition to trite, boring and airheaded. The author of this book needs a copy editor (or at the very least a spellchecker) and should probably learn to read her own work before publishing it. Did Ally get married on the beach with just a few people present, as the book states early on, or did she have a large, expensive wedding at the South Street Seaport, as it states later? Has the writer ever been to New York? There is no such thing as a 'prewar highrise'; that's a contradiction in terms. Carl Schurz Park (not Carl Shurz Park) is on the east side, not the west side. I guess Ms. Senate just wanted to pick up some quick, easy cash -- but where were her editors when this book was being published?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    GREAT BOOK!

    I saw the TV movie version of Melissa Senate's book SEE JANE DATE, and I loved it so much I bought the book. SEE JANE DATE was a really good, fun book about dating and the movie was great too (I love Charisma Carpenter who played Jane from Buffy and Angel.) THE SOLOMON SISTERS WISE UP is Melissa Senate's second book and i couldn't wait to get it. It's so good!! The story is about three sisters in their twenties and thirties who are having life issues (one is single and pregnant by her ex-boyfriend, one is married and catches her husband cheating, and one is a L.A. glam girl type called the Dating Diva who's like a dating coach, but her own love life is a mess.) The three sisters each have their own chapters and tell the story in their own points of view. You really get to know each sister and what's going on in her life and what each sister thinks about what's going on in her sister's lives. My favorite sister ended up being Ally, the married one, even though I'm more like Zoe's age (26). They end up moving into their father's apartment in New York City and sharing a bedroom, and they don't get along that well at first until they start to realize that despite their differences, they are family first, sisters first, and can count on each other more than anyone. The book was funny, really touching (I actually teared up a few times) and really satisfying. I didn't want it to end. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes books about what it's like to want a relationship and get along with your family and suceed at work--everyone's life issues. Very funny, real-life, and well written book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    amusing screwball romp

    The three Solomon sisters seem to be living the ideal Manhattan yuppie life style. Each is successful in their particular career and their love lives are blooming, but the latter will change. Wow magazine editor Sarah has dated Griffen for two months, only to learn she is six weeks pregnant. When she explains why she is not drinking alcohol at dinner, Griffen looks like someone kicked him in the gut. <P>Cynical (at least about the pregnant pause of men when it comes to pregnancy) oldest sibling Ally has failed to become pregnant after years of trying. When Ally¿s ovulation informs her that this is the ideal time to become pregnant, she finds spouse Andrew wasting sperm on Marnie. <P>Youngest sister, Zoe, a dating advisor, feels like a lawyer when it comes to herself as a client. She has learned her shortcomings when her client asked her to determine whether her date is a winner, but a stunned Zoe knows him too well. <P>When their father announces his engagement to Giselle, who is younger than his daughters, the trio figures they still need to wise up when it comes to men. <P>THE SOLOMON SISTERS WISE UP is a humorous chick lit tale that rotates the story between the three siblings by alternating chapters. That makes for extra amusement when readers observe the same incident from radically different perspectives, but also difficult to follow as there are three equal subplots intersecting with their father¿s tale. Melissa Senate provides a solid look at modern female singles struggling to achieve in relationships what they seem to effortlessly accomplish in business. All this is found inside a screwball romp. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    The Solomon Sisters Wise Up

    After dating Griffen for two months, Sarah discovers she is six weeks pregnant. She immediately comprehends the pros and especially the cons of that situation. While the expectant father's reaction is not the worst it could be, it's not the best either. Then, she finds out her roommate is evicting her in favor of the new husband. ................... Her older sister, Ally, would be helpful, but she has her own problems. After trying for years to get pregnant, she comes home at exactly the time her ovulation predictor says would be good to make a baby, only to find her husband working on the project, with someone else. ................... Little half sister, Zoe, has made her career as a dating advisor, and has now discovered her advice does not work well on herself. She does not know nearly as much about love as she thought she did, as evidenced by being hired to advise a young lady on whether or not her date is a winner, and the date is Zoe's own boyfriend. ................. *** The three sisters all wind up at their father's house, as he and his live in girlfriend prepare to tie the knot. Amid a sea of in laws, out laws and assorted other odd ball moments of life, you will join them in either laughing or crying. Wacky warmth infuses this book with true to life humor. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1