Customer Reviews for

Solving Zoe

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really entertaining!

Just like her first book, Barbra Dee has done an outstanding job. I couldn't put the book down. The reading level was perfect, not too hard, not too easy, and I really enjoyed figuring out the codes. The characters were absorbing and fun. I would totally recommend it!

posted by MiddleschoolReader on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tween Read!!!

Zoe is very creative in almost anything she does! From coming up with a new way to remember your colors in math class or trying to take care of and have fun with reptiles living in three bedroooms! Zoe Bennett is sure to delight you with a great tween read story! Anothe...
Zoe is very creative in almost anything she does! From coming up with a new way to remember your colors in math class or trying to take care of and have fun with reptiles living in three bedroooms! Zoe Bennett is sure to delight you with a great tween read story! Another great one! Keep up the awesome work!!!:-$ P.s. this is a braces sign! Go metal mouths!!:-$ Hahahahahahaha!!!!

posted by 7997137 on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really entertaining!

    Just like her first book, Barbra Dee has done an outstanding job. I couldn't put the book down. The reading level was perfect, not too hard, not too easy, and I really enjoyed figuring out the codes. The characters were absorbing and fun. I would totally recommend it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

    Zoe is eleven years old and has been going to the same school all of her life, Hubbard School. <BR/><BR/>This school isn't a regular school, but one for extraordinary students. Zoe's older sister and brother both go there, as well. Her sister is an amazing actress/singer and her brother is a math champion. Ever her little brother, Spencer, goes to pre-school there. <BR/><BR/>Zoe is having problems figuring out how she fits into the scheme of things at the school. Her grades are slipping and she and her best friend, Dara, are growing apart. Enter in a new student named Lucas. Lucas is weird, but he's also a code-reading genius. He takes a liking to Zoe and through some time spent together, Zoe finds out that she has a <BR/>code-reading gift, too. <BR/><BR/>I really loved this story about growing up and finding where you belong. I actually believe that we go through this process many times in our lives. Even when you get older you may find yourself at loose ends and have to find yourself all over again. I have been going through that process recently since I now have an empty nest. <BR/><BR/>Anyway, this story is great. The characters are very lovable and you wish they were your friends. Zoe's family is supportive and loving but can be annoying also, especially the two brothers. I found that to be very realistic. <BR/><BR/>If you want a good book that will both interest you and entertain you, then pick up SOLVING ZOE by Barbara Dee.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    great characters and codes too!

    I love novels that have really compelling plots and characters and teach me something I didn't know as well. That must be why I loved Solving Zoe. I found myself caring about the characters, and I really wanted to know how the book would end. At the same time, I didn't know anything about codes before I started reading this book, and I enjoyed learning about a subject that was totally new to me. I thought this novel was really fresh and innovative, and I think you'd enjoy it too. I think this book might end up becoming a quirky modern classic, like Harriet The Spy, and I strongly recommend that you give it a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    This is the best book ever

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿ a must read im hoping she will write a sequal

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Yeah!!!!

    Go privit skools

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    ily mix:)

    great bookkkkk read it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    AWESOME I LOVE PIG PEN

    BUY IT ITS SO GOOD I READ IT LIKE TWO YEARS AGO AND IT STILL BURNS FEASH IN MY MIND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    My Review

    "Solving Zoe" is a very well put together book. It is about a sixth-grade girl attending a school for gifted children, just like her siblings. But where her older sister Isadora and her younger brother Spencer are actors and her older brother Malcom is a math whiz, Zoe can't seem to find a talent. Her life is turned around when her best friend, Dara, begins hanging out with popular girls and a new boy named Lucas shows up and begins claiming she has code-reading potential. Now notes are appearing in the popular kis's lockers... and Zoe is their prime suspect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1