Customer Reviews for

Some Girls Are

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not As Good As Cracked Up To Be, But Still Recommended.

    I can't believe I'm saying this, but this book was almost too vicious for me. I know that Courtney Summers is the 'Queen Of Mean', but this story just didn't have that spark that makes it special. Some things the girls did just didn't make sense; I didn't understand why they did it. However, there's a girl at my school who is exactly like the ones portrayed in Some Girl Are, so I understand why the characters were made the way they were; I just expected some explanation to why they did those things. There wasn't, but it didn't ruin the book for me. Some Girls Are told the classic, mean-popular-girl-turns-into-loser-girl story, but was written beautifully and had perfect descriptions.
    Would I recommend this book? Yes, to most people, but not to everyone.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Brutal

    Like I said this book is just brutal, but it was really worth the read... the ending satisfied me, but I kind of wish there was a bit more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really, really mean girls

    Most of Regina Afton's high school existence has revolved around the Fearsome Fivesome, or at least catering to the capricious wishes of her so-called best friend and the groups' self-appointed leader Anna. At Anna's side and part of the It crowd, Regina is looked up to, adored, and universally feared. Which is why Regina is in serious shock and confusion mode when she walks into school on Monday to find that she has been 'frozen out' by Anna and her cronies. What begins with simple isolation extends to malicious pranks and vindictive rumors all carefully designed to turn Regina's existence into a veritable, walking nightmare. And it works. Really, really well actually. Unwilling to simply ride out the humiliation all alone, Regina finds herself turning to some of her previous victims, finding unexpected sources of comfort in those she had worked so hard to destroy herself. And as the pranks and even physical violence escalate, Regina discovers she's ready to fight back. Because she knows these girls and their torturous ways - after all, she's been doing the same things to other innocent, unwitting victims for years now.

    Despite having come across countless favorable reviews of Courtney Summers' Some Girls Are in the past several months, I purposefully stayed away. Why? Well, I knew her honest and brutal narrative about the lengths girls go to make each others lives a living nightmare in high school would be just that: honest and brutal. But then a friend told me I had to read it and one incredibly tense afternoon later, here we are. And like she said it's an important read and one I'm glad I took a chance on. Though I don't know what aspect appalled me more: the fact that these girls could be so coolly diabolical in their revenge or the complete and utter obliviousness of every single parent, teacher or adult in the novel! I swear, every other chapter I about gave myself a heart-attack with each new humiliation or heartache Regina suffered thinking "okay, this is going to be the time SOMEONE steps in and gets this horrific situation under control." But no, each new 'prank' would inevitably come without rescue, described in Regina's unflinchingly honest voice without any softening of the blow.

    Courntey Summers also must be acknowledged for her supreme crafting of Regina's unique teenage voice in particular. Boiled down, Regina has been a bully, although a popular and well-dressed one, and yet I found myself caring - deeply - about her. And that's not because she shied away from her misdeeds past and current. Oh no, it's all out there, plain as day for your viewing pleasure. Mostly I found myself drawn to Some Girls Are because of the slow unraveling and gradual exposure of Regina's fears and insecurities, revealing at heart a pretty messed-up ball of teenage insecurities that was far from stereotypical and deeply layered. And infinitely readable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Brutal But Great

    Some girls are...vicious! This book was fabulous in it's depiction of how awful girls can be to one another. It was a little hard for me to read at times because I found some scenes cringe worthy. I had to take little breaks and let my mind settle because I would become just as upset and emotional as the characters.

    The story follows Regina and her fall from the in crowd. Instead of being someone feared, she becomes hated by her schoolmates. Sabotage abounds as Regina and her former best friend, Anna, extract revenge on one another. Unfortunately for Regina, her growing feelings for Michael (another school loser) gives Anna more ammunition to hurt her. This was a brutal betrayal of bullies and when hatred goes a little too far. I admired Regina's journey as I got to see her gain redemption from all her previous transgressions and grow a backbone in standing up for herself (although at times I wanted to slap Regina myself).

    Reading this story is like watching a car crash--not because it's horrible but because it's so troubling and shocking and you feel compelled to do something. For a moment, I would forget I was just reading fiction; the characters seemed so real. I have to say I'm glad my high school days were nothing like this and reading this book was like glimpsing into a foreign country. I honestly don't know any girls this vicious and I hope I never do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    This book was brutal. It was also wonderfully written. Regina, t

    This book was brutal. It was also wonderfully written. Regina, the main character, is the definition of antihero. She's mean and cruel at parts. But at times, you can sympathize with her. She's not perfect, not by a long shot, but she comes around. This book made me lose my faith in humanity for a while. It makes you wonder if anyone you know, even the sweetest people, can be have it in them to be an awful , rotten person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Extremely mean popular girls and high school do NOT mix. It gets

    Extremely mean popular girls and high school do NOT mix. It gets even worse when one of these popular girls are frozen-out of the group and is the new subject of the cliche's torture. The reasons for this, you'll have to find out on your own.

    Regina A. was the best friend of the Queen Bee, Anna. And together they would victimize various people and make their high school lives a living hell. Doesn't this plot sound familiar? It's nothing new and it is reality. The story began and continued on being very angsty and well good. But when Regina started stupidly making things worse for herself - I just couldn't help but seriously get frustrated with the book.

    One thing I really enjoyed was the presence of Regina's "Someone to hold onto" otherwise known as Michael. Being bullied everyday brings out the kind of stress, pain and hurt that no one desires. And the presence of Michael in Regina's high school life, made it bearable for her. It even turned her into a fighter.

    6 - 10 pages towards the end, the book really heated up and when 6 - 10 pages later... the book ended in such an abrupt way. I feel like it they should have done that in the beginning.

    The book was great either way. It was page-turning, deep, literally heart wrenching and perhaps a little painful to go through. A story about bullying and what would happen if the popular bullies get a taste of their own medicine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Great

    One of my favorite books!!!
    I also liked:
    Shock point
    Stolen
    Uglies
    The disreputable history of frankie landau- banks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    If the truth be told...

    A compelling read about the horrors of high school and the mean girls responsible. Some parents may object to the bad language, sexual subject matter and use of drugs and alcohol, but ultimately the book is about what is really happening in schools. It is written in such a way that teenagers will relate to the characters and hopefully understand the damage bullying does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fast, Entertaining Read

    What I enjoyed most about this book was the main character's voice - she always came through and it seems like she could be the girl living next door. There was never a dull moment. Although there were times when I wanted to wrap my hands around her throat and shake her - Why would you say that? Why would you do that? - that's just the effect of good writing. The extent of the bullying was unrealistic, though, and I was very bothered by how often the teachers in this book disregarded what was right in front of them. I know teachers wouldn't turn the other way half so often as they do in Some Girls Are. Overall, though, the story moved at a satisfying pace, the emotion comes through (I cried once or twice), and the characters are well-developed. I would highly recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    This book still haunts me a little and makes me a little sick to my stomach. In today's world of bullying and teens committing suicide from it, the events that take place in the book feel far to real. You want to hate Regina for who she is (or use to be), but you can't help but ache for who she is becoming. Because, she's learning her lesson the extremely hard way. The bullying in this book isn't light. The girls at the top of the social ladder are out for blood and they don't care what happens to make sure everyone knows their place. I was amazed at the lengths they went through to make sure Regina was left completely isolated. The only people who she can turn to are those who were once in the same position when she was the tormentor. Watching Regina come to terms with what she has done to others is bittersweet. She forges new relationships and realizes that she never wants to go back to how things were, but it willing to pretend to protect those who have been hurt before. The ending was truly shocking. Another book I would recommend to teens and their parents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Easy read and interesting story.

    I got this book as something to read in my spare time and I was pretty impressed with it. Some of it was very brutal and the authors made the charaters very real. The only problem I had was with the main character. It was almost too hard to feel bad for her because she had once been such a mean girl. All in all it was a good story and pretty suspenseful. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Courtesy of Flamingnet.com Teen Book Reviews-bullying and romance

    Regina Afton used to be part of the Fearsome Fivesome, a
    girl-only clique. The Fearsome Fivesome is feared and
    admired by the students of Hallowell High. When a brutal
    rumor is started about Regina and her best friend's
    boyfriend, she is kicked out of the clique. Now her ex-
    best friends are out for vengeance and the bullying gets
    worse. Regina tries to set things right with her friends,
    but they only believe the intense rumors around school.
    She takes comfort in the company of Michael Hayden, a boy
    with a grim past that she used to bully. Regina realizes
    that Michael could be more than friends and she tries to
    make things right from her past. Can Regina set things
    right or will the Fearsome Foursome send Regina to rock
    bottom?

    Some Girls Are is a very intense novel. As the
    bullying increases, you want to keep reading to figure out
    what will happen. This book seemed realistic because
    sometimes rumors get out of hand and you can get bullied.
    This books makes you realize that, in high school, you
    really need good friends that will have your back. If you
    enjoy romance, suspense, or drama you should pick up this
    book and start reading it.

    Some Girls Are contains some
    sexual content that may not be suitable for some
    readers.

    Reviewed by a young adult student reviewer
    Flamingnet Book Reviews
    Teen books reviewed by teen reviewers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2