Customer Reviews for

Some Girls Are

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    This book is great

    This book is great. At times it actually made me sick to the point where i had to take a break from reading but it was so good i had to continue. It take the mean girl look into a new a more real state. This book made me cry so many times but it is so worth it in the end. If you are thinking to read this book i would if i were you. For me for age of reading this at least 13 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest. . .

    This books starts out where Regina, the protagonist, is popular and is apart of the Fearsome Five. Anna is the leader of the group and she calls all the shots, and if you mess with her, you won't get away with it unharmed. Well, Regina goes to a party and Anna's boyfriend's there, he almost rapes her. Regina who is freaking out goes to the house of a girl who is a part of the Fearsome Five and tells her, thinking she'll help her. But what Regina didn't know was that the girl told Anna that Regina hooked up with he boyfriend.

    So now Regina's froze out, the Fearsome Five hate her, and their out for revenge. Some of the things they do to her where really horrendous, some parts were even hard to read, I couldn't believe it. Regina's boyfriend dumped her and starts going with Anna. They make a group on the internet, a hate group and most of the schools joins writing nasty lies about her. Her parents don't find anything wrong with her, they think everything's peachy. The teachers at school don't seem to think to much of the bullying that Regina's suffering.

    And then. . .there Michael. He also A Fearsome Five victim, from the exact moment he walked into that school the five girls, including Regina started rumors about him that he was weird and crazy, and that he wrote horrible murder plots in his journal that he carries around. Michael hates the Fearsome Five, Regina knows this, but it doesn't stop her from sitting at lunch with him because there is no where else to sit. They both learn some things about each other, like that Regina went to his mother- who is dead now- for therapy. And Regina learns that Michael is just a normal boy who's lost and alone looking for a friend- or even something more.

    This story isn't a love story, or a gooey romance. It's brutally honest in the way the words are said and written, and the ending may not satisfy you, there may not be enough justice at the end of this, but for me it was perfect. All that needed to be done and said was enough to have me said- "That was a really good memorable book, and I think I'll go write a review for it."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Kinda soul-wrenching

    It's been a while since I felt the urge to read a book in such a quick amount of time. I started it on a whim one night at 10. Went to sleep at 12 and woke up to start readig at 8 just to finish at 11. It's tough to read in that it really makes you forget that you're reading at all and trust me, the stuff Regina goes through is the kind of stuff no one ever wants to go through. But isn't that awesome? That a book can do that to you. I had forgotten how that felt. Beware of the profanity, sexual situations and extreme emotional and physical violence. Is say for teens 15 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Some girls are horrible.

    This book is great. In the sense that it's emotionally wrenching. If you like books that deal with seeing the hurt and struggle that people go through and are strong enough to overcome it, you'll love this book. I was in tears a couple of times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Outstanding

    This was a fresh take on mean girls and cliques. Now the mean girl who is best friends with anna, the cruelest and apart of the fearsome fivesome is froze out. All due to the night where she was designated driver at a party and annas boyfriend attempts to rape her. Shes afraid and needs someone to talk to so she telles kara, the insecure member of the fivesome who has a grudge against her. Kara says not to tell anna for she will acuse her of wanting it. That is not the case because kara tells anna that they have sex. And the torment begins, now their the fearaome foursome and regina is their lunch. How will she deal now that she is the one being picked on? Two more words, READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good

    Very good read it was real and i enjoed it. It made me cry towards the end thougu. Highly reccommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Another great book by Courtney Summers!

    Another great book by Courtney Summers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Amazing but brutal

    I LOVED IT!!! it was fantastic i got it at today at 2 this afternoon and i finished it at 7 at night i absolutely love it i recommend it to everyone swears hear and there diffidently for ppl 13 or older but very enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrifying, Beautiful, and Real.

    Once I got about a fourth of the way in, I could not put this book down. I worked an 8 hour shift today and I stayed up until 3am reading this last night. It's terrifying, beautiful, and real.

    We start off with Regina Afton, miss popular, who is apart of the Fearsome Fivesome. Until she is accused by her supposed best friend, Anna, that she cheated with her boyfriend. Regina is "frozen out" of the group, and starts taking serious hits of embarrassment and harassment from the "popular" group. Having no one to turn to, she finds herself starting to befriend a boy who, she herself, tortured. Michael Hayden. Realizing, that she herself was a monster... but once a monster always a monster? Or can things change?

    I really, really enjoyed this one! I flew through the pages. This book is crazy true. Things like this really happen in school; All the time. People get bullied, they get abused, and no one does anything about it. They just let it happen, and it's horrible! It truly breaks your heart.

    Honestly, I don't know how Regina kept going after everything that was done to her. She was one extremely strong character, that I kind of felt myself admiring. I would have most likely just given up in her shoes. Of course I would have tried something at first, but after continuous bullying, I would have failed. My favorite character was Michael of course. Gorgeous, tragic past, sentimental, emo boy. <3 He did so much for Regina that she honestly didn't deserve. He was a straight up good guy. And though she used to be horrible to him, I think as they get to know each, Regina, does a lot for him too. I really loved the match-up between these two! A lot a lot a lot! :)

    Through-out the book, I found myself wanting to kick Kara several times. What a complete jerk. Why would you ever want to be friends with someone like that? And you know what is terrible, some girls are actually like that in real life. Another character that caught my attention was Josh. Though he was apart of the "evil" crew... I really liked him. I think deep down he was actually good and just got in with the wrong people. And Liz, my heart broke for her but I also was proud of her for overcoming everything she did.

    This book will teach you a lesson. I'm sure of it. It was a great read and I enjoyed every moment of it! I can't wait to read her next book "Fall for Anything", especially since the boy is a photographer... I LOVE photography. :) 5 out of 5 stars for "Some Girls Are". :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    One of my favorites

    This book is so real and so well-written. Its oneof my all time favorites becaus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Incredible read

    I loved this book it literally took me only 2 days to finish it i was so focused on the book it felt like i was in it i loved it!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Sucks when its you but its always nice when the mean girl gets it.

    This is a great book. Its like a look on who all of us could be or are, how something can happen to anyone and it was ten times better because it happened to the mean girl who got a big life change, something a lot of us could use. It sucks when its you but its nice when the mean girl gets it, i know most of us were thinking the samething! We all have someone in mind we can see in this same spot. Its got a great voice and really makes you laugh, feel bad, and smile at what happenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Less sugar, more spite, and nothing nice, that's what little girls are made of!

    I found some girls are much more captivating than cracked up to be - which should be the way it goes for a sophomore release. Courtney Summers has sharpened her talent and delivered an unforgettable novel that will make everyone wonder how high school could have gotten this bad.

    The stunts that the Fearsome now-Foursome pull really shocked me. Especially given the knowledge that they had and STILL chose to "punish" Regina for allegedly hooking up with her best friend's boyfriend. It made me sick to my stomach that someone could be that deliberately cruel - what are we FEEDING these girls to think that this is acceptable? I seriously hope that Courtney Summers was only going to the extreme case scenario to illustrate how WRONG this would be - and not basing it off a real situation. I hope that women of all ages realize that one should never, ever belittle sexual assault and use it as a weapon against the victim.

    What I loved about this book is that there are both forgiving and unforgiving characters - and that Regina's past wrongs are not always wiped clean from her slate. Her wronged peers never promise friendship - they may be nice to her, but their hurt far exceeds their good nature. Regina may deserve the reaping that she sowed as far as friends go, but she definitely does not deserve all the bullying. No one does. I loved how each character had their vulnerability, their strengths, their bottled-up secrets and troubles. These teenagers felt very real, and you watched how their hurts and triumphs are received by their peers.

    some girls are is a powerful punch to the stomach that will leave your heart troubled for today's teenaged generation. As timeless as speak but even more disturbing, this book needs to taken to heart - if this is as real as it gets, I think we need to work even harder on changing reality then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    i loved it, it brought out more emotion than i thought it would bring out in me. i wanted to scratch kara's eyes out and strangle anna. i wanted more than anything for regina to win. i wish the story went on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Check this book out!

    This review of Some Girls Are, by Courtney Summers, is written by five high school seniors as an independent reading assignment for our 12th grade English class. This book was a very easy read but yet very entertaining. It was easy to understand and follow. It contained some very foul language and some graphic scenes, so be conscious before you read if you are easily offended. The author Courtney Summers lives and writes in Canada. She is a new author and has three books out currently including Cracked Up to Be and Fall For Anything. She divides most of her time between a camera, a piano and a word-processing program. She received the 2009 Cybil Award for YA Fiction for her book Cracked Up to Be. Regina Afton was a part of the Fearsome Five, the popular group of their senior class, until rumors started spreading about her and her best friends boyfriend. Regina was kicked out and now her so called friends are coming for revenge. Tensions rise and abuse worsens until a final threat is made at the end of senior year. The novel is written in Regina's first person point of view. It is a teen fiction written in 2009. Although this novel has some graphic points it portrays the realistic events that happen in the life of a teenager. The novel would appeal to high school juniors or seniors. Some of the material may be too inappropriate for younger students, but do not let the foul language deter you. Some Girls Are is still a very entertaining book and a very good read. We really enjoyed reading this book. It was easy to follow, very entertaining and hard to put down. It gave an accurate account to how high school drama really is. We recommend this book to older teenage girls who enjoy some chick drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Some Girls Are Rocked

    This was recommended to me by a writer friend of mine: I was looking for YA with angst and Some Girls Are has it. You always love when a popular girls falls from her pedistal and finds comfort from the unexpected places which I think teaches us all to not judge by appearances.

    There's love, violence and girl power! Loved it and look forward to reading more by Summers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Regina hates being the designated driver. The parties aren't fun to begin with, but when she has to be there sober it is practically unbearable.

    One night when she is ready to go, Regina tries to find her best friend so she can get her in the car and drive home. She finds Anna in the den with Donnie, passed out after a night of too much drinking. Unfortunately, Donnie, Anna's boyfriend, is just aware enough to force himself on Regina against her will.

    She barely gets away. Regina runs to the house of the only one of her friends that didn't attend the party and tells her everything that's happened. Together, Kara and Regina decide it's best to not say anything. Regina considers Anna important enough to keep quiet about the attempted rape in order to remain her best friend.

    The problem is...Kara doesn't keep her mouth shut.

    She tells Anna what happened just as quick as she can in order to push Regina out of the second-in-command spot of the Fearsome Fivesome. By the time school rolls around on Monday, Regina finds herself frozen out of the group.

    Life for Regina becomes a living nightmare. Her friends launch a systematic attack against her. She suffers physical and emotional abuse at the hands of the people that know her the best. Never has she felt so alone.

    SOME GIRLS ARE is an important book to read. Bullying is such a big issue in today's society, and Courtney Summers paints a very realistic picture for the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Regina gets the "freeze out"

    Have you seen the movie Odd Girl Out? If you decide to read this book, you should watch that movie. It's so like the premise of this book. It's infuriating and disgusting how mean this girls are. I sincerely hope that it is not happening out there, and if it is well man the girl who gets the "freeze out" needs a lot of strength.

    After a huge weekend party at her boyfriend's house Regina suddenly becomes an outcast. Anna Morrison, her supposedly girlfriend believed a gossip that the spiteful Kara fed her. Yes, the movie Mean Girls jumps in mind too or if you read Thirteen Reason Why by Jay Asher, you'll hope that Regina won't end up as Hannah. I don't really enjoy reading books about high school snobs torturing their peers but I love the fact that this girls fight back after such emotional turmoil and zero self esteem. Summer did a wonderful job of sendiong out the message "you reap what you sow". It's a story of how a rumor can ruin a person, how your actions and words can be turned against you. I love how Regina fought back but at the same time I find myself frowning on her actions. Intense, menacing, and fascinating. Definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    Get the full experience without your locker being trashed! Read SOME GIRLS ARE!

    I didn't think Courtney Summers could out-do herself after her debut, Cracked Up To Be. It was SO edgy, fierce, written sparingly and effectively. She forced me to identify with a character no one should like, and she left me wanting more.

    So I am reluctant to even SAY this, but... I LOVED Some Girls Are even MORE. &lt;3 The meanness of high school girls couldn't have been portrayed more bitterly, more sweetly. Summers shows how the littlest actions/words can be collected, saved, and used against you in the social fabric of high school. If you've ever been bullied (not just by girls), or even if you HAVEN'T - you will want to read this book. Get the full experience without your locker being trashed! Read SOME GIRLS ARE! ~*~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3