Customer Reviews for

Some Like It Spicy (A Perfect Recipe Novel)

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Great Book!! A pinch of laughter, a dash of tears and a dollop

    Great Book!!

    A pinch of laughter, a dash of tears and a dollop of spunk, create the sensational new book Some Like It Spicy by Robbie Terman. I experienced every emotion known to woman while devouring this fast-paced gem. The story is so good and well written, I could not put it down. If you are a foodie, a reality TV junkie or someone that just loves a great contemporary romance, look no further because this book is the icing on the cake.

    Current TV reality show, The Next Celebrity Chef, is seeking contestants. By sheer coincidence, one of the show's producers is patronizing Ashton Grey's restaurant when a humiliating yet comical incident occurs between one of the customers and Ashton. Ashton's chagrin evolves into an invitation to be a show contestant. Her best friends and business partners, Jenna Rawley and Chloe Nelson convince her to do it. The publicity and notoriety alone could put their almost defunct restaurant on the map and move them into profitability. Aston loves her friends and restaurant dearly, so she reluctantly agrees to be a show contestant.

    One of the judges and show host is extremely talented executive chef Ty Cates. When Ashton and Ty meet for the first time there is instant chemistry and sparks ignite. Although the contestants and judges are not permitted to fraternize, Ashton and Ty can't help themselves. Within a very short period of time, they fall in love. Their secret affair can ruin both of their careers and futures, but their feelings for each other supersede reality.

    The antics and actions of the contestants, judges, producers and family members are both funny and jaw-dropping wicked. Each character has their own distinctive personality and ability to shine in their own right.

    If you want to read a top-notch sexy romance, this book should not be missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book so much I read it in one sitting. I couldn't p

    I loved this book so much I read it in one sitting. I couldn't put it down! I laughed, cried and believed in love at first sight. I wouldn't change a thing about the book. Immediately after reading it I went online to find a recipe for lobster mac and cheese and then drove to the store at 3 in the morning and made it for breakfast. After breakfast I read it again! I have only re-read a couple of books. This book is that great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ashton Grey¿s restaurant Sweet Home doesn¿t have much time befor

    Ashton Grey’s restaurant Sweet Home doesn’t have much time before it goes under unless Ashton can make a name for herself.  What better way than as a contestant on a reality cooking show.  What she doesn’t count on is Celebrity Chef and show judge Ty Cates heating things up in the kitchen and the Wreck room and the bedroom and the woods.  Can Ashton keep her head, win the contest, save her restaurant, and maybe fall in love?
    Fans of reality shows will get a kick out of this sweet and funny story.  Ashton and Ty steam up the pages and the supporting cast is icing on the cake.  Fans of the Rising Star Chef Series by Louisa Edwards are sure to get a kick out of Some Like It Spicy.
    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Confession time, I love Reality Cooking shows, especially the co

    Confession time, I love Reality Cooking shows, especially the competitions!! I watch them all and salivate over things I could never cook, mostly because I do not cook at all. It never stops me from loving watching others cook and the challenges are always interesting!

    This book is the perfect combination of my TV obsession and my love of romance. Really fun storytelling that brings you right into the competition. The pace was spot on and I suspect Mr Terman is also a big fan of the genre. She gave the perfect number of contestants, just enough to keep things from getting confusing. Terrific build up of all the supporting characters, I never had a moment where I thought "wait, who is that", really well done seeing as there are a lot of folks who com into play.

    I was fine setting aside the moral dilemma of the plot cause I am a sucker for a love story! This was great because it is my favorite style, giving both the main character's POV.

    Ashton was a riot, her sass combined with her temper made her really fun to read. She never stood a chance against all Ty's delicious charm. While they fell in love, I fell for them! I laughed a lot, I cried a little and I enjoyed every second of this story! 

    The steam factor is more mainstream hotness than full on erotic detail. Definitely gets a gals temperature rising!! They are quite prolific in their steamy encounters, loads of variety! Face fanningly sensual and deliciously naughty settings!

    I am ready to jump into the next book, I am so hoping it is one of her two friends Chloe or Jenna!! Everybody need a HEA!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful!

    Some Like it Spicy is a delicious contemporary romance by Robbie Terman. With a laugh-out-loud opening scene, Terman draws you into her enjoyable story with realistic characters and an original plot.

    With the help of her two best friends, Ashton Grey opens a restaurant, but after a year, the restaurant is failing. Encouraged by her friends, Ashton agrees to be a participant in the upcoming TV season of The Next Celebrity Chef. The grand prize money would be enough to keep the restaurant open for a while longer. Ashton never suspects that she’ll meet the love of her life, Ty Cates, a judge on the show, the very first day she is on the set. Attracted to Ashton’s sensual curves, her ability to cook, and her outspokenness, Ty thinks he has found the perfect woman. Even though they agree to keep their relationship on the down low, they have a hard time hiding their feelings while on the set. When Ashton and Ty finally heat up the bedroom like they do the kitchen, their intimate relations are spicy and smokin’ hot. Ashton has one particularly difficult relationship in her life, and when she finally stands up to this character, I was so proud of her. When Ashton and Ty separately come to the conclusion that they are meant to be together no matter what happens to their careers, I found myself smiling.

    In addition to the cooking challenges, Terman does a masterful job of developing the other contestants on the show, making readers feel like they were right on the set during filming.

    Delightful characters, an enticing story line, savory plot twists, and an enthralling romance make Some Like it Spicy a delectable evening’s entertainment that was impossible to put down.


    I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of an honest review for The Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Her bio says she wants to make her readers cry a bit and laugh a

    Her bio says she wants to make her readers cry a bit and laugh as well, and she definitely achieved it. I really related to Ashton because of her low self-esteem. I'm sure I'm not alone in never quite feeling good enough and hungrily seeking praise for my work. And the food...! I'm hoping to find some of those recipes, especially the capers. Yum! Ty was the perfect hero for Ashton and their love scenes were exactly what the title suggests: spicy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I was a little hesitant when I started Some Like It Spicy becaus

    I was a little hesitant when I started Some Like It Spicy because I'd read quite a few chef themed books lately but I'm glad I read this one because this one was really different.

    The first chapter may have been my favorite. It starts out with Ashton doing what she loves most cooking for her nearly empty restaurant. She knows the place is failing. She just doesn't know how to fix it. The scene that became her "audition tape" had me rolling on the floor laughing! The woman who recorded it with her cell phone turns out to be a casting director for "The Next Celebrity Chef" reality show. The show would bring publicity they can't afford.

    Next we meet chef Ty Cates, celebrity chef. He enjoyed the celebrity chef status in the beginning but is tired of living the playboy life and wants to go back to cooking.

    I liked the fact that it was the guy who was doing the pursuing in this. Sure Ashton was swooning over him, but unlike a lot of other books it was the hero that wanted something more than a fling. The hilarity of the contest just added to everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    A TV cooking show that has cattiness, asshat¿s but most of all t

    A TV cooking show that has cattiness, asshat’s but most of all two people that can’t fight the attraction they feel for each other. This could cost him his career and her the restaurant of her dreams but not only hers but also the friends that invested with her.

    Ashton Grey is a wonderful woman with a short fuse when it comes to people critiquing her food. Sweet Home is in ruins if she does not do this TV show “The Next Celebrity Chef”, not only will Ashton dreams be shattered but she would have disappointed her Nana. Then of course there is Jenna and Chloe that have invested in the restaurant so she accepts for the sake of Sweet Home’s survival.

    Ty Cates is a celebrity chef and now he’s tired of the spotlight all he wants to do is cook do what he loves to do. Sure he had his fun with the models, the spotlight but now he doesn’t have time just to be himself. He is ready to finally find a woman that makes him laugh that is smart someone that he can spend the rest of his life with. When he meets a woman at the stage of “The Next Celebrity Chef” he believes he is meeting Andrea the Vice President of Talent for food Fanatics TV but instead found Ashton.

    Ashton has a story of her father has always critiqued her food and belittled her. Only that doesn’t stop her from doing this show, she needs to remember not to let him in her head and ruin her chance from saving her dream. Now she is hearing Ty critique her chicken salad sandwich that it needs more salt. She knows that it doesn’t need anything else that it is perfect. Ty felt a connection to Ashton but knows that they can’t form no kind of relationship but the more time he spends time with her the more he wants her. When the show starts to tape Ty finds himself watching her and Ashton can’t help seeking him out when it’s time to go to the set. The stares that they share the sneaking around, eventually someone is going to find out, what if they mess up and they get caught up in the moment especially when there is one contestant that seems to have a b*&*hy attitude that no one is able to support. They both know that this can’t last that as soon as the show is over she will be going back to Chicago and leave him. Ashton knows that she needs to break it off with him, she is starting to have feelings for him but she has to do it. Ty is not going to let her go this is not just about sex.

    Some Like It Spicy is a hilarious read that had me laughing out loud. I was greatly intrigued by the set-up of this story. I love watching cooking shows like MasterChef then of course Hell’s Kitchen so this book was amazing. The characters are well developed and the pace of this book goes by quickly and kept me interested. Ashton and Ty have an intense chemistry that explodes over a night making pizza who would have thought. The dialogue is snappy, and Ashton always seems to have just the right thing to say to Ty when it comes to cooking or even to a certain contestant. That is one of the reasons why I could not put this book down the drama I just kept turning the pages and before I knew it the story was over. One of the most memorable moments in this book is the food fight; I could not believe that everyone was throwing food at each other, dumping soup on each other, totally hilarious.

    If you want to read a book that will bring out a smile, laughter and is full of romance, then this is a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

      

      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1