Customer Reviews for

Some Love, Some Pain, Sometime

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Must Read. . . My Favorite Time and Time Again

    I first read this book many years ago when going through some ups and downs. I pull it out an re-read at least once a year. This is one of those books that will inspire and lift your spirits regardless of what you may be going through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Untouchable

    A close friend introduced me to J. California Cooper some time ago and I have been hooked ever since. Her books make me feel as though I am sitting at her feet while she is telling me a good story. Buy and Enjoy ! You deserve it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    THE GENERATIONAL WRITER

    This was the first time in my life that a writer made me feel as though I knew them. A friend gave it to me while going through a though time in my life and I couldn't thank her enough. Your books will be passed on through my entire family and generations after.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    Life-changin' and soul-stirrin'

    This is the best reading that I've done in many ages. Ms. Cooper has a gift of touching the soul of a woman and inspiring her to hope, to love, to dream.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2002

    SHE'S DONE IT AGAIN

    Ms. Cooper knows how women feel at every angle. I love picking this book up and reading it when something is bothering me or I'm feeling discouraged. Its like sippin'on a glass of iced tea and sittin' at the kitchen table with a dear dear friend. After you read her books I guarantee that you will realize that the big problems you think you have are really not that big at all. These books are so uplifting. You learn something that you can use as a tool for the rest of your life. I love Ms. Cooper's work!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Matt

    Thx i gtgtb bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Iceheart

    DX(turn yer nook side ways. Sad face it is supossed to be.) NOOOO! SHIMMERSTAR! AWESOME STORY"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Willoqsong

    Good but lots of death

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Blueshine's Chapter 9

    Bluepaw ran after Blackpaw after a quick thank you qith Mistyheart. She made it back to camp and saw in horror a battle. LoveClan verses CrystalClan. Blackpaw was already in a fight with Windsolo a Loveclan tom with orange on his white fur. Windsolo was winning. She leapt onto Windsolo. "Leave my friend alone!!" She yowled. Windsolo growled and flung her off. She hit a tree and fell to the ground. She limped up and tackled another apprentice, Pearlpaw who was a white she cat with blue eyes. Pearlpaw was a snob to CrystalClan and she was a Loveclan apprentice. Pearlpaw yowled when Bluepaw attacked her. She sliced and cut desperately and bluepaw ended up getting a scar on her face. Bluepaw yowled in pain and blood gushed down the side of her face. She was in alot of pain. Pearlpaw pinned her down and was about to cut her neck and Bluepaw saw Cloudpelt watching. He was smirking. Yeah hez real loyal. She thought sourly. Bluepaw sliced Pearlpaws throat and leapt to her feet. She ran to save Greentail. He was messing with a warrior because Loveclans deputy was already dead. The warrior was Dragonleaf. He was tough and Greentail was loosing. "No!!!!" She yowled and pounced on Dragonleaf. She sliced his eyes and then sliced his throat and ran to Greentail he was dying. "No...Greentail!" She sobbed. "Watch out for Cloudpelt..." he muttered and died. She yowled in agony and she saw a shadow. Cloudpelt. She hissed and he growled rudely and she sliced his eyes. He stumbled and she ran to Shimmerstar where Lovestar was killing her. Spottedpaw, CrystalClans medicine she kit apprentice, had told Bluepaw and Blackpaw she was on her last life and Spottedpaw told blackpaw qho told her that Lovestar was on her last life too. "No!!! Shimmerstar!!!" She rushed over to the fighting leaders and then......SLASH!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2001

    A Must Read For All Women Of Color - Life, Love

    This is a story of learning to love, being loved and defining love ... 'Some love, Some pain, Some time' is ideal for all women but I found that as a single women that love is not as cut and dry as we read in Webster's Dictionary ... no it's much more; J California Cooper explores variations of love ... 'true' love; you have to learn to love yourself before you can love anyone else. Know what you want for yourself. Don't rely on others to provide you with happiness, your joy is your responsibility.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    GREAT READING!!!!!

    Ms. Cooper has managed to capture the love and overcomingness of the Black women in these short stories. They entertain and inspire. For all the read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2