Customer Reviews for

Some Things I Never Thought I'd Do: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Loved it!

    The characters seem so real, and they are people I can relate to in my community. I am now looking forward to reading other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    Every Woman Should Have A Blue Hamilton

    I loved this book. I find myself longing for a Blue Hamilton of my own. Don't miss this one. The characters come alive and I often found myself reading aloud. The ending had me in tears. Hope all who read this book enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Bringing it home!

    The author is on a success high with this book. Great characters, storyline and it was so easy to relate. She brought it home for me and I enjoyed living through her words of the familiar territory. It makes you look at life and feel her words. Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    Amazing

    I truly love this author. I've read all three of her novels and they just keep getting better and better. Regina, becomes a girlfriend of yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Blue is my new favorite color!

    Talk about fabulous! This novel is a breath of fresh air in a stale world of cheesy sex and poorly done street novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    Pearl Cleage Does It Again

    I really enjoyed this one. The author is an excellent storyteller. Few writers could blend past and present as well as Ms. Cleage. The characters were very well developed, believable, and likable. The air of mystery was the icing on the cake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    It makes me glad I am a woman........

    This book speaks to me on so many levels. I am glad that we have talent like this to take you where you can't go. My Mom had a stroke several months ago, I am her caregiver. I told Mom about this book and I wished she could read it too. This is the kind of book with the author's use of words that you can paint your own pictures. I was thrilled with my 'trip to Atlanta'. I loved all the characters and could easily see some of them as my new friends. Regina is a lady that overcomes some odds and finds love because she is willing to take a chance. This book is both entertaining and thought provoking. If you want a good read about real people, pick this up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    PHENOMINAL WRITER

    I've never wished I were someone else...but, just for a moment, I'd like to be Maya Angelou so that I may string together words worthy of PEARL CLEAGE! I devoured Some Things I Never Thought I'd Do, shared it with friends and have been talking about it ever since. What Looks Like Crazy on An Ordinary Day had me laughing AND crying out loud....I just finished it last night and I swear I dreamt about Ava! WOW! Much like Ava found the love of her life after already living a long life I've found my new favorite author!! Bravo Mrs. Cleage and THANK YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Excellent novel

    A woman who is in the midst of a life transition goes to Atlanta on business and finds much more than she could ever expect. Narrator Regina Burns is warned by her aunt that there is someone in ATL, an attractive man with 'the ocean in his eyes', so when eventually Regina meets him, she knows exactly who he is, or does she? Regina's encounters with this man, and with her new neighbors who are passionate about life and their surrounding community, changes her life and help to open up her heart. She is both brave and timid, sometimes releasing herself to accept what she feels deep inside so she can grasp the new and precious things that life has to offer. Pearl Cleage's writing sings in this refreshing and vivid novel, and her mastery of language is admirable. Cleage takes all manner of words, and connects them together like a fine piece of tapestry to create a moving and enriching story. Your social sensibilities might be stirred, and you may even find a little romance in this highly recommended novel that celebrates humanistic strength and integrity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Deep AND Funny!

    Ms. Cleage pens a compelling tale in SOME THINGS I NEVER THOUGHT I'D DO. The heroine, Regina 'Gina' Burns is a recovering cocaine addict. Having come to her senses, she is trying her best to correct mistakes she made while under the influence. Needing money to save her family home from being taken, she goes to work for her former charismatic boss Beth Davis, the mother of the man Gina loved but lost due to Beth's domineering ways. 'Son' Davis died in the Twin Towers on September 11, 2001. Now Beth wants to do a tribute to him at Morehouse College in Atlanta. Gina is obliged to go through his papers in order to make certain he didn't leave behind anything embarrassing. Gina has to swallow her pride more than once, but keeps her eyes on the prize: Not losing the family home. Ms. Cleage must be a true child of the sixties. She is socially conscious throughout, especially where a black man's duty to his people and specifically to his woman is concerned. I was delighted with the secondary love story between Gina and Blue Hamilton. Picture Brian McKnight with aquamarine eyes. This is a story that uplifts everyone, especially black women. I think there should be neighborhoods like the one Gina finds herself living in once she returns to Atlanta all over the world. But I guess there are just not enough Blue Hamiltons to go around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1