Customer Reviews for

Somebody Else's Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grim and addicting

This is an interesting and addicting read. There are many characters to follow which keeps the story moving well and thickens the plot. The authors deals with many taboos that society tends to ignore. It was hard to put down. All in all a great read!

posted by RMBS on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dont read!

This was one of the worst books i have ever read. The book was choppy, it had so many stories going on at once i could not keep track of them, and none of stories were interesting until the very end of the book. It was raunchy and for no good reason. I can breez through...
This was one of the worst books i have ever read. The book was choppy, it had so many stories going on at once i could not keep track of them, and none of stories were interesting until the very end of the book. It was raunchy and for no good reason. I can breez through books , but this was so bad that i didnt want to read it. There was so much pointless filler in this book it could have just been a short story. Dont read it... wasted hours of my life.

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Dont read!

    This was one of the worst books i have ever read. The book was choppy, it had so many stories going on at once i could not keep track of them, and none of stories were interesting until the very end of the book. It was raunchy and for no good reason. I can breez through books , but this was so bad that i didnt want to read it. There was so much pointless filler in this book it could have just been a short story. Dont read it... wasted hours of my life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Grim and addicting

    This is an interesting and addicting read. There are many characters to follow which keeps the story moving well and thickens the plot. The authors deals with many taboos that society tends to ignore. It was hard to put down. All in all a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Have read all three of her books and find consuming. Stayed up

    Have read all three of her books and find consuming. Stayed up way too late finishing this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Not the Doctor's wife.....

    It was a good read. However, I could not help but compare it to the "The Doctor's wife" (by the same author), which is one of my top 5 books of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    I was bored out of my mind...

    ...and yet I slogged through it because I hate quitting on a book. I was especially disappointed in how each story line seemed separate from the whole; it seemed to me that the author closed her eyes, crossed her fingers, and tossed a bunch of people into the mix and hoped they'd stick together cohesively. She was successful sometimes, but there are just too many voices in this book. It's too bad...I think the idea was solid and this could have been a fabulous read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Not my Favorite book

    I found this book to be lacking in substance.
    I loved the characters and the idea but in the end I closed the book very dissapointed.
    I wanted so much more! Was there a higher purpose a message for people but I got nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Deep & Meaningful

    This book is thought provoking and gut wrenching all at the same time. The angst that families go through trying to find their identity's in a society that doesn't always accept "different". It is a complex and satisfying read, the characters are well developed and you really get a sense of what these people are going through. A very "human" tale and a great addition to your bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    It was okay...

    I thought this book would be good after reading the back. It kinda lost my interist after the begining. I loved the beging so much, if only the rest of the book was as intreging as the begining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I had high expectations after the phenomenal "The Doctor's Wife", which was an outstanding read. Unfortunatly "Somebody Else's Daughter" began quite interesting though, but after 80 pages I lost interest completely and quit the book. Discriptions of rich New England people's lifes were absolutely nothing for me and I was no longer interested to know the outcome of the story. I am really sorry for the money I wasted on this boring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Somebody's Elses Daughter

    This was a thoroughly enjoyable book. I loved the ending and the story was written well enough that it kept my interest because I couldn't wait to see how it turned out. From the very beginning I was involved with the characters each of whom were special and unique. I enjoy reading but it has to be something that gets my attention and keeps it---and this book did. I purchased it after reading just the back cover and am glad I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    Exciting and Provacative

    This was a very interesting read. I read the entire book from start to finish over the course of a weekend. The characters surprised me and their problems felt real. I recommend this for book clubs and for parents of teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    An okay read, IMO

    It started out really great but as it went on it wasn't what I expected and I really wasn't wild out the ending. It seemed like it was a big build up for a big let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Boring Until The End...

    This book was not good until the last 20 pages. The book took too long to get to the point. I felt there were too many breaks in the story when detailing the past of each character. The ending was very dramatic and action packed. If it was not for the ending, the book would have been a total let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    For the most part it's good

    For the most part the book is a good read. However, some parts should of been left out. The author gave the reader detailed descriptions of teenage sexual experiences. I felt those descriptions should of not been written in the book at all. The storyline pics up pace along the way and the ending is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Smart Thriller

    This was a tough, exhilerating, unusual thriller that gained speed and momentum toward the end. It was a very different sort of book, very interesting characters, a lot of darkness, but ultimately very gripping. I highly recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Huge Disappointment

    I am sorry to say I was less than impressed with this story, it had such a good base line and so much potential, but I felt the story drag on and on, with only the ending being remotely exciting. It was as if she was outlining all of the characters before telling the story. All of her characters were very interesting and real, and I did enjoy them, but as a whole the story was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good tale

    In the Berkshires, headmaster Jack Heath hires former drug addict Nate Gallagher to teach at his Pioneer School. Jack's wife Maggie was a classmate of Nate.

    Each has an agenda that sent them to Western Massachusetts. Jack had to start over after his reputation was trashed at his last academic stop. Maggie tries to be the dutiful wife though she hates her abusive womanizing spouse. Finally Nate wants to see his daughter Willa, whom he and his girlfriend gave away seventeen years ago when they were hippie addicts to Candace and Pioneer School president Joe Golding to raise; Willa attends the school. Joe hides from the school board that he produces skin flicks while Candace is a former porn actress.

    Nate admits to himself teenage Willa seems adjusted even as she is beginning to experience sexually experiment with failing student Teddy Squire, who suffers from dyslexia. All hell breaks loose when Teddy receives a DVD starring Candace. Maggie has had enough of the abuse, and a local hooker wants money for silence or she will expose her school clients.

    Elizabeth Brundage comparatively explores the lives of several people who seem so different on the surface, but deep down come across quite similar. Money can provide a bit of public polish, but the tarnish will remain privately below the surface. Although too many major events occur almost simultaneously, fans will relish this homage to Thomas Carlyle with a reflective look at peeling away the clothing to glimpse at the inner soul of the ensemble cast.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Compelling Read

    I spent the weekend reading this. It's a novel about a group of characters whose lives interconnect in a small town in the Berkshires. There are aspects that make it a psychological thriller, and yet it's also a literary novel. The author touches upon a lot of difficult subjects. This could make a good selection for a book group, because there are many fascinating topics to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    The book starts out with Nate, the drug addicted father and Cat, the even more addicted mother and girlfriend. Cat gives birth to Willa. When she is a few months old they realize that can't care for her even though they love her. They are both young and addicted to drugs. They decide to give Willa up for private adoption. As one of the conditions to the adoption they drive Willa from San Francisco to Massachusettes. The couple is the Goldings and they are a wealthy couple. Shortly after handing Willa over to them Cat dies of Aids in their driveway.<BR/><BR/>After handing Willa over and dealing with Cat's death Nate sits in the car and writes a leter to Willa in hopes that the Goldings will give to her on her 16th birthday.<BR/><BR/>The book picks up sixteen years later in the same town, Berkshire. All the families are connected to the prep school, Pioneer. Nate who has turned is live around has returned to Berkshire as the new teacher and struggling writer. He discovers Willa is in his writting class.<BR/><BR/>We discover that the Goldings are a wealthy family who have built their fortune on a secret profession. The head master jack Heath lives a dangerous life. All the characters lives start to come together in this small town and slowly all the secrets are revealed. Some of the secrets are good and some prove to be deadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Teen parents

    Two teenage heroin addicts give birth to a baby girl. The mother tells the boy they have to put the baby up for adoption so she doesn¿t grow up poor. They do. The mother dies after handing the child over to the adopted mother. The father, years later, gets his life together and becomes a teacher in his child¿s school. The school¿s principle is a rapist and he and his wife kill his victims. This was not a page-turner for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3