Customer Reviews for

Somebody Else's Kids

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    her books are good

    her work is amazing and i like her work alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Absolutely Amazing!!

    I read this when I was in high school for my Elementary Teaching Internship class, and I absoultey fell in love with the children and the compassion this teacher had for them. I am going to college to become a teacher and this helped me change my minor into Child Psychology and Special Education. I have read many of her books since then and love everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    The book is awesome

    This book is awesome, it is so real. I can relate to this book because i have parents whom work in the education system and they come home and tell us all about there school day. I love this book I recomended it to other children

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Wonderful Book!

    This is a great book. After reading this book, I realized how special this woman truly is. Working with troubled children myself, I can relate to a lot of her stories. This is a must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    A book you will keep going back to

    Torey L. Hayden is an amazing author and an even more amazing woman. The love and dedication she shows each of her students in every class she has ever written about is astounding. I am an avid reader of her books, and they are the only books that I have never given up. I read them all at least once a year. I got my first Torey L. Hayden novel when I was 11, and still read them at 21. I am not someone who is involved with children, or teaching, but I believe her books have a lesson for all of us. It's about accepting people who are different, and loving them despite thier problems. I would recomend these books to anyone who believes that a bigger heart can make a difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Compassionate Book

    After reading this book, I've realized how special Torey Hayden his. Her devotion to the kids discussed in this book is phenominal. We need more people like her in our world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    UNFORGETABLE AND COMPELLING

    I FIRST READ THIS BOOK BACK IN 1982,PASSING MY COPY ON TO A FRIEND TO ENJOY. THE STORIES TOLD, AND THE AUTHORS STYLE OF WRITTING,IS COMPELLING AND UNFORGETABLE,ONE YOU WILL NOT SOON FORGET. I PURCHASED A SECOND COPY TODAY,IMMEDIATELY RECOGNIZING THE TITTLE AND AUTHOR,AFTER ALL THESE YEARS. A TIMELESS WORK, DON'T MISS THIS ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Special Children

    ¿Somebody Else¿s Kids¿ by Torey L. Hayden is about a young special education teacher. She made it her responsibility to help four mentally impaired and disturbed children learn to read, write and understand they are different. The book went through many ups and downs. From Torey trying to teach Lori to read, helping Boo to talk and helping Tomaso deal with his anger. She taught them to deal with their disabilities and accept they¿re different. If you have a place in your heart for mentally challenged children this is a wonderful book to read. You will be amazed at the love and heart Torey (the teacher) has for these kids. The time and effort that Torey puts in her work could make anyone appreciate people like her. This is a one time read book I wouldn¿t suggest buying it. I would suggest checking it out at your town library.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Amazing! Very Inspirational!

    I would recommend this book higly to anyone that deals with children on a daily basis whether they are parents or teachers. Though I do not yet have any children of my own, I do have a younger brother who is autistic. My dream job is that of a special education teacher or pretty much anyone that deals with special needs children of any kind. To meet Torey Hayden would mean a lot to me for she has become my inspiration and reinfored in my mind that working with speacial needs children can be a very rewarding, but sometimes stressful career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2002

    Hayden is first rate!

    Hayden does a service by providing a voice for kids who have none. A man from Massachusetts named Ken Grant also wrote a book about his experiences good and bad but was driven into homelessness and bankruptcy by hostile forces because of it. Grant was an abandoned abused youngster in state care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Most Emotionally Touching Book I Have Ever Read

    I could not put this book down. It was soo touching. You get drawn into each child's individual story and find yourself rooting for and feeling for each and every one. Torey's endless love and dedication to what is quite obviously more than a job to her is amazing. I have never felt such strong emotions from reading a book before... a lot to think about, a lot to enjoy, a *wonderful* way to escape into another world and forget about your own troubles for a while. Torey, you are truly a gem, do you hear that? You are simply amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    fantastic book

    I could not put this book down. This was one of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    One woman with enough love to spread around the world

    I'm an avid reader. I read anything and everything I can get my hands on, yet I've never been as moved by one author or one story as I have from this book. Torey Hayden's caring and understanding...not to mention patience, is to be admired. To her, every child is beautiful, no matter what they have done or who they are. When everyone else gives up on these children, she shows up to love them. That is what it's all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1