Customer Reviews for

(Large Print) Somebody Tell Aunt Tillie She's Dead

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book was a hoot. I found myself laughing quite often throug

This book was a hoot. I found myself laughing quite often through this one. I didn't think there was anything boring about it.  There are plenty of reviews that will take you through the book, so I don't feel the need to do that.  I'll just say, if you appreciate wit an...
This book was a hoot. I found myself laughing quite often through this one. I didn't think there was anything boring about it.  There are plenty of reviews that will take you through the book, so I don't feel the need to do that.  I'll just say, if you appreciate wit and outright sarcasm, you'll like this book.  I definitely recommend

posted by WTFWuzAt on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still Not Sure What I Think

I was a little unsure about all the wiccan/witchcraft aspects of this story but I enjoyed the fun relationships between the main/supporting characters. If you are bothered by witchcraft, don't be fooled by the cute cover and title...otherwise, it was an easy read with ...
I was a little unsure about all the wiccan/witchcraft aspects of this story but I enjoyed the fun relationships between the main/supporting characters. If you are bothered by witchcraft, don't be fooled by the cute cover and title...otherwise, it was an easy read with some interested twists.

posted by 17154233 on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    This book was a hoot. I found myself laughing quite often throug

    This book was a hoot. I found myself laughing quite often through this one. I didn't think there was anything boring about it.  There are plenty of reviews that will take you through the book, so I don't feel the need to do that.  I'll just say, if you appreciate wit and outright sarcasm, you'll like this book.  I definitely recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Book Has It All!

    Mara just can't seem to catch a break. Her witchy ways are getting her into trouble left and right and just when things start to look up, she realizes the cozy country cottage she inherited from her Aunt Tillie has a few dark passengers. Will Mara be able to survive her legacy with the help of her own power, a tricky toad, and a flamboyantly fearless best friend?

    This was so much fun to read I didn't want it to end! Christiana Miller weaves a captivating spell with a whole lot of humor, a generous portion of thrill, and just a dash of heat.

    By no means would I call this a paranormal romance, however I feel it fits into the urban fantasy category nicely with its magical and chilling elements.Right from the start I knew I was going to love this book. The humor, sometimes quirky, sometimes dry, is non-stop and often offers relief from some of the scarier moments of the story. I had to stop reading this at night because Mara's dreams and her interactions with the cottage's other inhabitants were seriously creeping me out.

    Miller's grasp of creating memorable and nearly palpable characters is incredible. As much as I love Mara, I'd have to say Gus was my favorite character. He is honestly just so funny and crazy you never know what he's going to do next. Gus is also a great friend to Mara. I teared up when they had to part ways for our girl to go live in Aunt Tillie's house. I missed Gus right along with Mara and felt her joy whenever he popped back into the story.

    If you are looking for a paranormal story that has it all, this is it! You'll laugh, you'll cry, and you'll probably pee your pants at some point whether it be from laughter or fear or both. I just can't begin to emphasize how well this book integrates humor and drama in just the right amounts. Whatever emotions, or bodily functions, this book evokes in you, there is no doubt you will have a great time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Fun story. Easy read.

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a nice, quick, easy read. I perticularly liked that it wasn't a series. Towards the end I started thinking there wasn't enough time to wrap it up but I was wrong. I like a story that has a definitive end. All wrapped up with no questions left unanswered & no need to buy a second or third book .
    If you like this genre then give this book a try. I'll definitely be looking for more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Still Not Sure What I Think

    I was a little unsure about all the wiccan/witchcraft aspects of this story but I enjoyed the fun relationships between the main/supporting characters. If you are bothered by witchcraft, don't be fooled by the cute cover and title...otherwise, it was an easy read with some interested twists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2015

    Better than I expected

    I thought this was going to be another cute, fluffy mystery, with a paranormal twist, but was surprised it was much better! I will definitely read her other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It was cute at times, had a few zingers, had a fabulous 'gay bes

    It was cute at times, had a few zingers, had a fabulous 'gay bestie', a heavy dose of magic, death, and a dash of romantic interest were all among the high points. They were what saved this book; without Gus (flaming and fun), his friendly banter, and the fantastic set-up my rating would have dropped faster than a skydiver in free fall. I really wanted to like this.

    Buckle up, folks, for the obstacle course. This is not the cozy paranormal mystery it appears to be. I mentioned the toad-licking, right? That's just the tip of the iceberg. Illicit substances, spells that inadvertently kill your unknown family members, plot holes you can stick your head through, more illicit substances, and suddenly towards the end - kinkier than an old garden hose (a very conservative description of the *ahem* 'parties'.) Very old wicked witches apparently have quite the oat to soil. None of this is 'cozy', or PG, or even PG-13, adults only for this quite un-romantic tale.

    Stereotypical characters, hallucinations, toads, and can I remind you once again about the licking of aforementioned toads? *Shudder* Through all this, it must be said, the narrator was instrumental in keeping me reading. Though I ultimately was not fond of the book, I would in no way be scared off from listening to the narrator again. The voices were distinct for the most part, consistent, dramatic, and she played up those zingers and made them shine. The fault lies with the material rather than the performance. The production quality was adequate but unimpressive; it didn't really add or detract from the overall experience.

    Audiobook provided for review by the narrator.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    [If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I absolutely loved,loved,loved this book!!
    I would definitely read more books by this author. Her storytelling is fantastic!!!
    You need to believe in this sort of happenings(spirits from the deceased visiting the living) in order to fully appreciate this book.
    I think I would recommend this for book club discussions simply to see different reactions to different topics in the "new ways" of living today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Fun to Read

    I loved this book! Funny and interesting, you cant wait to see what the next page brings ;) A new author to put on my "favorites list".

    Relax and enjoy it - I know I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Funny!

    This was a good book if you wanted a good laugh. I enjoyed it once I got into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Debbie Frye Barstow Ca.

    Best book ever. She really knows how to keep my attention. I look forward to reading more Chtistiana Miller books. She is my new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Gooldylox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    loved both books, wish there were more bk32 A TALE OF THREE WI

    loved both books, wish there were more bk32 A TALE OF THREE WITCHES..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Good book.

    Funny and interesting although a bit long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Very enjoyable!

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this book. Gus and Mara are a wonderful pair of forever friends. Their chemestry is perfectly blended. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Loved it.

    Really enjoyed it. Everyone needs a Gus and Grundleshanks. Your drawn in slowly but you keep reading just cause.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    !!!!

    Why does this book begin on page 83 . I want my money back!!!
    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read!!!

    This book was my first experience with paranormal literature and I think it was a great place to start. The author did a wonderful job of introducing the subject of witchcraft in a fun and entertaining way. I LOVED her main characters, they were so colorful and their verbal sparring was exhilarating! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is even a little bit interested. I thought the author did a great job of balancing all aspects of the story; even the hair-raising sections throughout were just enough to reel you in but not too much to scare you away. This light easy read is perfect for an escape from reality (unless you happen to be a witch with a streak of bad luck). Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    A wonderfully scary book!

    This book is a fine romp through spooky-land, with enough paranormal creepiness to chill your blood. Witches, demons, magic spells, oh my! Christiana Miller gets into the spirit of Mara's occult world so deeply you wonder if the author herself is possessed. There's just enough intrigue and magic spells to keep you on edge, and Mara's hilarious one-liners leave you begging for more. I highly recommend this well-written novel, but maybe not to read on a dark, stormy night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2