Customer Reviews for

Somebody to Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

My favorite of hers!

My Review:


In typical Kristan Higgins fashion, this book was breaking my heart in the midst of giggling and laughing out loud. I adored both of these characters. They both have such deep issues despite the fact that their relationship has been such a surface one fo...
My Review:


In typical Kristan Higgins fashion, this book was breaking my heart in the midst of giggling and laughing out loud. I adored both of these characters. They both have such deep issues despite the fact that their relationship has been such a surface one for six years. I think that's why the heartbreak is such a prevalent feeling when it comes to their interactions. As the reader, you know what all is happening in each of their lives and it hurts to watch them dealing with each other on such a superficial level.


Parker has grown up as a child of wealth and privilege. At the age of ten, her father cheated on her mother with the babysitter. Parker was the one who caught them and her life and her relationship with her father was irrevocably changed...and it was not for the better.


Parker's father is a powerful Wall Street mogul and, as such, has his own little entourage. There are two men in particular who always accompany him. Parker calls them Thing One and Thing Two. Thing One just happens to be James. It was as much of a surprise to him as anyone when he was hired by Harry and taken under his wing. They are friends and have a close relationship to the point where Harry claims James as the son he never had...not exactly music to Parker's ears. She wants a close relationship with her father again, but only sees him becoming close to James.


When Harry's life falls apart, he finds himself going to jail and stripped of all his wealth, including Parker and her son's trustfunds which she had entrusted to him. James has always felt a special connection to Parker although she obviously doesn't reciprocate his feelings. But when her life falls apart, he steps up to help.


One of the things that Kristan Higgins does so well with her writing is create wonderful characters. Her characters are real, deep, sarcastic, and self-depricating. They are also so lovable. I think that Parker is one of my favorites that Kristan has ever created. She's a children's author and pitched a completely sarcastic series that actually got picked up. So she ended up writing an incredibly successful kids series about some saccharin sweet 8 year olds that she literally hates. The book starts with her finishing the series with the final book, but the characters are still alive in her head...and they talk to her...and she talks back to them. OMG, it is so hilarious!!! Between that and the ideas that she has for new series'....I kept reading those aloud to my husband....so freaking funny!!


This book is just wonderful. Honestly, I challenge you to pick up ANY Kristan Higgins book and not completely fall in love. She has a completely different writing voice. It is entertaining and funny and poignant. I ADORE HER BOOKS. I just wish that she could write faster!!! Another fabulous, fabulous book. I think that this is my favorite of hers yet!!!

posted by SmittenWithReading on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bad sample

Just read the sample and deleted the sample as the sample was not enough to get me hooked...moreover the sample made me not even want to check out other books by the author

posted by Christy_Lee_1 on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite of hers!

    My Review:


    In typical Kristan Higgins fashion, this book was breaking my heart in the midst of giggling and laughing out loud. I adored both of these characters. They both have such deep issues despite the fact that their relationship has been such a surface one for six years. I think that's why the heartbreak is such a prevalent feeling when it comes to their interactions. As the reader, you know what all is happening in each of their lives and it hurts to watch them dealing with each other on such a superficial level.


    Parker has grown up as a child of wealth and privilege. At the age of ten, her father cheated on her mother with the babysitter. Parker was the one who caught them and her life and her relationship with her father was irrevocably changed...and it was not for the better.


    Parker's father is a powerful Wall Street mogul and, as such, has his own little entourage. There are two men in particular who always accompany him. Parker calls them Thing One and Thing Two. Thing One just happens to be James. It was as much of a surprise to him as anyone when he was hired by Harry and taken under his wing. They are friends and have a close relationship to the point where Harry claims James as the son he never had...not exactly music to Parker's ears. She wants a close relationship with her father again, but only sees him becoming close to James.


    When Harry's life falls apart, he finds himself going to jail and stripped of all his wealth, including Parker and her son's trustfunds which she had entrusted to him. James has always felt a special connection to Parker although she obviously doesn't reciprocate his feelings. But when her life falls apart, he steps up to help.


    One of the things that Kristan Higgins does so well with her writing is create wonderful characters. Her characters are real, deep, sarcastic, and self-depricating. They are also so lovable. I think that Parker is one of my favorites that Kristan has ever created. She's a children's author and pitched a completely sarcastic series that actually got picked up. So she ended up writing an incredibly successful kids series about some saccharin sweet 8 year olds that she literally hates. The book starts with her finishing the series with the final book, but the characters are still alive in her head...and they talk to her...and she talks back to them. OMG, it is so hilarious!!! Between that and the ideas that she has for new series'....I kept reading those aloud to my husband....so freaking funny!!


    This book is just wonderful. Honestly, I challenge you to pick up ANY Kristan Higgins book and not completely fall in love. She has a completely different writing voice. It is entertaining and funny and poignant. I ADORE HER BOOKS. I just wish that she could write faster!!! Another fabulous, fabulous book. I think that this is my favorite of hers yet!!!

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Why do people have to use the whole book as a review?? Just say

    Why do people have to use the whole book as a review?? Just say if its good or not!!!!

    19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this one this afternoon and I must say I was hooked from

    I read this one this afternoon and I must say I was hooked from the very beginning.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Amazing writer

    Kristan Higgins is an amazing writer. This is the second book I have read by her, and loved both of them. Cannot wait to read more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great feel good book! This book reminded me of the Lucky Harb

    A great feel good book!

    This book reminded me of the Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis. It's one of those sweet romances with little quirks just around every page that keeps you going. It's the first Kristan Higgins book I've read, but it won't be the last. If you're looking for a feel good book, this is certainly one you can reach for.

    Parker was very easy to relate to. Her response to the shack she inherited was exactly how I'd picture my response. She hadn't wanted to care about it, that much was obvious, but then she really got into fixing it up and the house grew on her. As did James. Seeing her begin to fit into the town and adjust to the reality she now faced was entertaining. I loved watching her with James and seeing the transformation in her feelings from disgust to love.

    James starts out as your typical stuck up lawyer, but then we get to see other sides of him. The side that cared about her and her father, the side that protected and the hot carpenter. HAHA...I had to throw that in there. The combination of all of him is what drew me in. He wasn't a character that I immediately fell in love with, but you get there.

    Definitely a book you should check out and an author to keep at the top of your list.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Love Kristan Higgins books

    I've never read a Kristan Higgins books I didn't love!! Her sense of humor is exactly what I want in a book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Wow best book ever

    Jkrcegjtvtgybuuklk sorry,that was my little brother. Great book!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Good writing, great characters, a book that's a keeper.

    Good writing, great characters, a book that's a keeper.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is second in not one but two series and what makes it

    This book is second in not one but two series and what makes it interesting is it can stand alone and is still enjoyable. You never feel like you are missing some vital information from the other books. First it is the second after The Next Best Thing (Ethan/Lucy) where the best friends of Parker Welles are the main characters and then she ends up in Gideon’s Cove which was first introduced in Catch of the Day (Maggie/Malone).

    The characters of Parker and James are very interesting and it does not take long for you to get involved in their story. Parker is portrayed as having grown up rich and spoiled but honestly I did not see it. Yes she was rich (until her father lost it all) but she has friends who are not rich, she is a single mom who works (writing children’s books) and is not afraid to do what she needs to do for her son. James is a lawyer and you can tell right off that there is more to him. He is a good guy who has gotten a bad rap for being Parker’s fathers “yes man”. There is a past they are both trying to move beyond. And a future together if they manage not to mess up the present.

    I really enjoyed this book. I had never read anything from Higgins before but I will most certainly pick up more of her books. Higgins uses some British terms (bugger, crikey, loo, etc) and it seems a bit odd sometimes since the rest of the book she doesn’t and it is set in Maine, USA. The other bizarre thing is her talking to the angel characters in the children books she has written and them talking back to her (in her mind of course). But it does not take long to get passed that and just enjoy the story and the many background characters Higgins has included. And the Epilogue is so sweet it will bring a tear to any single mothers eye. .

    REVIEW PROVIDED BY: Kimberly

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The man is a menace. He is absolutely adorable but he know i

    The man is a menace.

    He is absolutely adorable but he know it – and he sees Parker as is quick and easy path to the top – at least she thinks so. Really, what could be better than the boss’s daughter, right?
    If only Parker didn’t remember that one time. The only time she’s let down her defenses since she found out she was pregnant with her now five year old son. The only time she’s ever… well, no, Parker does not want to remember that evening.

    But HE is her father’s minion. His attorney, to be precise. His minion attorney who somehow manages to attend all of the family functions and is always at daddy’s side. The minion attorney that Daddy spends much more time with than his daughter. The minion attorney that Daddy wishes was his son.

    Could there be a better reason to detest him?

    Yet, here the minion is, with Parker, trying to help her make this itsy bitsy shack into a home since her father’s been sent to prison and his assets seized.

    If only Parker can remember he’s the minion attorney and not the sexy carpenter.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book. The title fit perfectly with the m

    I absolutely loved this book. The title fit perfectly with the main characters and their pursuit to finding "somebody to love." Not just finding somebody for them to love but also finding that somebody to love them as well. Parker and James were so lovable that I fell in love with them. James basically fell in love at first sight with Parker and that scene when he first laid eyes on her made me swoon. The way Ms. Higgins described what was going on in his mind was just so perfect. But unfortunately for James, Parker takes an instant dislike to him when she finds out he is her father's lawyer and right hand man. Although she finds him attractive she feels kind of envious of the attention James gets from her father. It's kind of the classic rich girl being neglected by her father and she's constantly trying to get his approval and attention but her father lavishes all his attention on James instead. So this creates an obstacle that they have to overcome in order to realize they're meant for each other. Both have issues with their families and both want love and acceptance from their parents but neither getting it. It was sad to see that these two lovable people have no one to love them back until they get together and when they do finally find love with on another it was just so sweet. Like I said before, this was my absolute favorite book by Ms. Higgins so far. And Malone and Maggie from Catch of the Day make an appearance because the story takes place in Gideon's Cove. That was nice to catch up with those characters. I highly recommend reading this book. And as an FYI if you want to read Ethan's and Lucy's story it's in The Next Best Thing. These three books are kind of connected but you don't have to read them in order to know what's going on. But I think chronologically the Next Best Thing is first then Catch of the Day and then Somebody to Love. I actually haven't read The Next Best Thing but it's next on my Higgins reading list :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Laine's Review: Unbeknownst to me, I didn't realize that this bo

    Laine's Review:
    Unbeknownst to me, I didn't realize that this book is "sort of" part of a "series". Catch of the Day introduced us to
    Maggie and Malone (AHHH Malone) and the we got introduced in the book The Next Best Thing which I have
    not read yet!! It is on my to-read list of course, but I moved right along to Somebody to Love. I realized after
    talking with my friend Quinn, that I actually didn't NEED to read the other two to read this book.
    But just to let you know it would be nice to go ahead a read them....mostly to understand where the events are
    taking you!! 

    Parker Welles has it all. The family fortune. Amazing son. Amazing family....well sort of.

    Until her father surprises her with losing all of the fortune!!

    Except for a little piece of land with a cottage on it in Gideon's Cove in Maine. So with the help of her son
    and for some odd reason her father's lawyer James Cahill with help flipping it upside down for her to sell.

    And she doesn't want any man in her life to screw it up. 

    Until James Cahill helps her...in more ways than she realizes!!

    Another great read from Kristan Higgins! I swear it's like a fight between Jill Shalvis and Kristan Higgins.
    (Love their man wars though on Facebook)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Wonderful

    Kristan Higgins again writes a wonderful story about a single mother learning a lot about herself through her trials and I love the fact that the book is so funny and tearful. Parker Welles looses her money but not her fight and she fights for a better life for her son by working hard to flip a house with the help of her father's hated personal attorney.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    enjoyed

    This was the first Kristan Higgins book I read and I really enjoyed it.
    I enjoyed her writing style and will look into purchasing more books from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Anonynomus

    I love this author! She is great at adding humor to a love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great story!!!

    Loved the story and characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Totally recommend

    Great story. Loved the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Review:Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins 4 STARS I had fun re

    Review:Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins
    4 STARS I had fun reading this novel. Its one that I thought would be a little bit different than what it was. I like the characters. They have dreams,fears,faults and love. Parker Welles lives with her little boy in a mansion all alone. She writes little childrens books that she hates. Parker donates the profits to Save the Children Fund. She does not need money and if she did she has a big trust fund and so does her son. That is till her father Harry comes down to the house and says the money is all gone. Even thier trustfunds. The goverment is taking everything except what she has bought for the house in the last 5 years. her car, thier clothes and personal items. She has around 10,000$ left and a house in Maine that she forgot she inheited from a great Aunt. Her father's personel lawyer James Cahill offers to go with her to help her but she turns him down. She calls him thing 1 and her fathers other aid thing 2. Everytime she sees her father they are both thier and have been for years. Nicky is Parker's 5 year old son. She never married his father, but has a good relationship with him and his wife Lucy. Nicky is going on vacation with them to the west coast for 3 weeks. When Parker goes up to Gideon's Cove and see the house she inheirited she finds a rundown shack. Her great Aunt was a horder and stuff was everywhere. The town is small so she slept in her car. James shows up the next morning to offer help again reminding her he did construction to put himself through collage. He tells her all that needs fixing so she agrees he can stay. Parker think her father's still paying him to help her this summer. Parker is jealous of James and her father's pet snake. They are closer to her father than she is. I really like the supporting characters of the book they added to the charm of it. I laughed and smiled a lot while reading Somebody to Love. I want to go and read more books about Gideon's Cove. Parker has a good attidude and is not afraid to get into doing the work even though she has to be shown how to do it. She also ends up getting a dog because the dog is going to be killed that day. After we find that was a lie. I was given this book to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley. 04/24/2012 PUB HQN 432 pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    One of my favorites

    This is my second favorite Kristan Higgins book, my first being the book that leads into this one, The Next Best Thing. I love reading this author's books. They are just a fun, enjoyable, easy read. I really liked the characters of these two books and James. I enjoyed Parker and James' story. Definitely worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another "Can't Put It Down!" Book by Higgins Kristan H

    Another "Can't Put It Down!" Book by Higgins
    Kristan Higgins brings back familiar characters from her previous book The Next Best Thing.
    Single mom, Parker Welles, has her life turned upside-down when she learns that her father is going to jail for insider trading. The biggest shock comes when her father's lawyer, James Cahill - whom she calls "Thing One" - reveals that her father's crime extends to her and her son in the form of emptied trust funds. With only about ten grand of money in her bank account, Parker is thrown for a loop. Salvation comes in the form of an inherited house in Maine; Parker leaps at the opportunity to check the property while her son Nicky is on vacation with his Dad, Ethan and step-mom Lucy.
    Well... let's just say that the house isn't all that she thought it would be. Surprisingly it is Thing One, er, James who comes to the rescue in the form of carpenter and all-around-handyman. The thing is, James still hasn't gotten over his feelings for Parker that he's had from the first moment he met her in the hospital after the birth of her son. As her father's representative, James has attended many important events in Nicky's life and has faced the temptation that is Parker many times, only giving in to that temptation once at a wedding he went to in her father's stead. James uses his time at the small house in Maine to try and get closer to Parker, but with her recent emotional upheaval, will she even be open to exploring the spark between them?
    Kristan Higgins has written yet another novel where her characters come to life. Somebody To Love is well written and shows that events occurring in childhood can leave emotional scars on people and the struggles they have while attempting to live their normal lives. Higgins understanding of human relationships and the various forms of love we exhibit is evident in her latest title.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10