BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Somebody to Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

My favorite of hers!

My Review:


In typical Kristan Higgins fashion, this book was breaking my heart in the midst of giggling and laughing out loud. I adored both of these characters. They both have such deep issues despite the fact that their relationship has been such a surface one fo...
My Review:


In typical Kristan Higgins fashion, this book was breaking my heart in the midst of giggling and laughing out loud. I adored both of these characters. They both have such deep issues despite the fact that their relationship has been such a surface one for six years. I think that's why the heartbreak is such a prevalent feeling when it comes to their interactions. As the reader, you know what all is happening in each of their lives and it hurts to watch them dealing with each other on such a superficial level.


Parker has grown up as a child of wealth and privilege. At the age of ten, her father cheated on her mother with the babysitter. Parker was the one who caught them and her life and her relationship with her father was irrevocably changed...and it was not for the better.


Parker's father is a powerful Wall Street mogul and, as such, has his own little entourage. There are two men in particular who always accompany him. Parker calls them Thing One and Thing Two. Thing One just happens to be James. It was as much of a surprise to him as anyone when he was hired by Harry and taken under his wing. They are friends and have a close relationship to the point where Harry claims James as the son he never had...not exactly music to Parker's ears. She wants a close relationship with her father again, but only sees him becoming close to James.


When Harry's life falls apart, he finds himself going to jail and stripped of all his wealth, including Parker and her son's trustfunds which she had entrusted to him. James has always felt a special connection to Parker although she obviously doesn't reciprocate his feelings. But when her life falls apart, he steps up to help.


One of the things that Kristan Higgins does so well with her writing is create wonderful characters. Her characters are real, deep, sarcastic, and self-depricating. They are also so lovable. I think that Parker is one of my favorites that Kristan has ever created. She's a children's author and pitched a completely sarcastic series that actually got picked up. So she ended up writing an incredibly successful kids series about some saccharin sweet 8 year olds that she literally hates. The book starts with her finishing the series with the final book, but the characters are still alive in her head...and they talk to her...and she talks back to them. OMG, it is so hilarious!!! Between that and the ideas that she has for new series'....I kept reading those aloud to my husband....so freaking funny!!


This book is just wonderful. Honestly, I challenge you to pick up ANY Kristan Higgins book and not completely fall in love. She has a completely different writing voice. It is entertaining and funny and poignant. I ADORE HER BOOKS. I just wish that she could write faster!!! Another fabulous, fabulous book. I think that this is my favorite of hers yet!!!

posted by SmittenWithReading on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bad sample

Just read the sample and deleted the sample as the sample was not enough to get me hooked...moreover the sample made me not even want to check out other books by the author

posted by Christy_Lee_1 on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Why do people have to use the whole book as a review?? Just say

    Why do people have to use the whole book as a review?? Just say if its good or not!!!!

    17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great feel good book! This book reminded me of the Lucky Harb

    A great feel good book!

    This book reminded me of the Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis. It's one of those sweet romances with little quirks just around every page that keeps you going. It's the first Kristan Higgins book I've read, but it won't be the last. If you're looking for a feel good book, this is certainly one you can reach for.

    Parker was very easy to relate to. Her response to the shack she inherited was exactly how I'd picture my response. She hadn't wanted to care about it, that much was obvious, but then she really got into fixing it up and the house grew on her. As did James. Seeing her begin to fit into the town and adjust to the reality she now faced was entertaining. I loved watching her with James and seeing the transformation in her feelings from disgust to love.

    James starts out as your typical stuck up lawyer, but then we get to see other sides of him. The side that cared about her and her father, the side that protected and the hot carpenter. HAHA...I had to throw that in there. The combination of all of him is what drew me in. He wasn't a character that I immediately fell in love with, but you get there.

    Definitely a book you should check out and an author to keep at the top of your list.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is second in not one but two series and what makes it

    This book is second in not one but two series and what makes it interesting is it can stand alone and is still enjoyable. You never feel like you are missing some vital information from the other books. First it is the second after The Next Best Thing (Ethan/Lucy) where the best friends of Parker Welles are the main characters and then she ends up in Gideon’s Cove which was first introduced in Catch of the Day (Maggie/Malone).

    The characters of Parker and James are very interesting and it does not take long for you to get involved in their story. Parker is portrayed as having grown up rich and spoiled but honestly I did not see it. Yes she was rich (until her father lost it all) but she has friends who are not rich, she is a single mom who works (writing children’s books) and is not afraid to do what she needs to do for her son. James is a lawyer and you can tell right off that there is more to him. He is a good guy who has gotten a bad rap for being Parker’s fathers “yes man”. There is a past they are both trying to move beyond. And a future together if they manage not to mess up the present.

    I really enjoyed this book. I had never read anything from Higgins before but I will most certainly pick up more of her books. Higgins uses some British terms (bugger, crikey, loo, etc) and it seems a bit odd sometimes since the rest of the book she doesn’t and it is set in Maine, USA. The other bizarre thing is her talking to the angel characters in the children books she has written and them talking back to her (in her mind of course). But it does not take long to get passed that and just enjoy the story and the many background characters Higgins has included. And the Epilogue is so sweet it will bring a tear to any single mothers eye. .

    REVIEW PROVIDED BY: Kimberly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    enjoyed

    This was the first Kristan Higgins book I read and I really enjoyed it.
    I enjoyed her writing style and will look into purchasing more books from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great story!!!

    Loved the story and characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Review:Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins 4 STARS I had fun re

    Review:Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins
    4 STARS I had fun reading this novel. Its one that I thought would be a little bit different than what it was. I like the characters. They have dreams,fears,faults and love. Parker Welles lives with her little boy in a mansion all alone. She writes little childrens books that she hates. Parker donates the profits to Save the Children Fund. She does not need money and if she did she has a big trust fund and so does her son. That is till her father Harry comes down to the house and says the money is all gone. Even thier trustfunds. The goverment is taking everything except what she has bought for the house in the last 5 years. her car, thier clothes and personal items. She has around 10,000$ left and a house in Maine that she forgot she inheited from a great Aunt. Her father's personel lawyer James Cahill offers to go with her to help her but she turns him down. She calls him thing 1 and her fathers other aid thing 2. Everytime she sees her father they are both thier and have been for years. Nicky is Parker's 5 year old son. She never married his father, but has a good relationship with him and his wife Lucy. Nicky is going on vacation with them to the west coast for 3 weeks. When Parker goes up to Gideon's Cove and see the house she inheirited she finds a rundown shack. Her great Aunt was a horder and stuff was everywhere. The town is small so she slept in her car. James shows up the next morning to offer help again reminding her he did construction to put himself through collage. He tells her all that needs fixing so she agrees he can stay. Parker think her father's still paying him to help her this summer. Parker is jealous of James and her father's pet snake. They are closer to her father than she is. I really like the supporting characters of the book they added to the charm of it. I laughed and smiled a lot while reading Somebody to Love. I want to go and read more books about Gideon's Cove. Parker has a good attidude and is not afraid to get into doing the work even though she has to be shown how to do it. She also ends up getting a dog because the dog is going to be killed that day. After we find that was a lie. I was given this book to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley. 04/24/2012 PUB HQN 432 pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Good Summer Read!

    Quick and easy summer read. I recommend this book. Nice love story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved going back to Gideon's cove in this book. It was great to see Maggie and Malone and the rest of the gang from Catch of the Day. I also loved seeing Lucy and Ethan from The Next Best Thing ( I loved both of those books) The chemistry between Parker and James was great. I'll be counting down the days until the next Kristan Higgins book comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Easy Read

    Somebody to love is a easy read! I loved the 2 main characters and would love to see them in another book. If you are looking for a easy book but gets you hooked, read this. You cant put it down because you have to know what happens. Kristan Higgins never disappoints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    From the beginning till the end, I had a hard time putting this

    From the beginning till the end, I had a hard time putting this book down. There isn't really any huge plot you have to figure out. No bad guys hiding behind any bushes (unless you count crazy family members). But this was an enjoyable read. I loved that even though everything was taken from her Parker didn't just say "oh me, what to do now?" She pushed up her sleeves and got to work. James had an uphill battle from the start, but was persistent and genuine. I LOVED how she called him Thing-One. I got a giggle each time I read that. The complex but easy friendship that Parker has with her son's husband was refreshing and real. Such a great comfort read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Another Kristan Higgins book that was sweet, sassy and full of l

    Another Kristan Higgins book that was sweet, sassy and full of life. The reader meets Parker Welles a single mom who is in an interesting situation. The father of her child is married to her best friend and the three of them make a great support system to raise the sweetest little boy - Nicky. A devastating blow to Parker's lifestyle happens and her world is immediately changed and it takes a village to help her get back on her feet.

    Although these books can seem to be predictable, they have heart and romance which are just the right ingredients for a sweet summer romance. I love the ease of reading with all of Kristan Higgins books, sometimes its not only the plot that makes a book, but the way a book is written. As well, Kristan Higgins' characters are always easy to connect with, so the story can quickly grow around such great characters.

    I would recommend all readers to pick up this book and take it to a pool or to the beach. It was easy to get into this one and the story didn't lull at all, I was swept into the story the entire time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I have several of Kristan Higgins' books and must say that this

    I have several of Kristan Higgins' books and must say that this one was the best one yet. I loved all the characters. Hope you enjoy as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    :)

    *

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Cupcake 21

    JOE DIFFY OH YEA LOL!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Valery

    Im single....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Love Higgins' books!

    This is number 5 or 6 that I have read and I have loved them all. The characters are always true to life and touch your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Great book

    Great characters,good story, well written. This is one of my favorites from this author. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Another great book by Kristan Higgins.

    I love all her books and this one is no exception. Good story line and a all around good romance story. Couldn't put it down. I've read all her books and hope there is another one soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3