BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Somebody's Gotta Say It

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    AND SOMEBODY'S GOTTA READ THIS

    I wish I could say this was a fun read - it was written from a view point I happen to agree with - I have loaned it to a few believers of other views and they found it very interesting...........I'm sure if we all tried a bit harder to listen to both sides, we could find the right - sorry, the correct middle.......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As Good as Neil's Radio Show

    Neil Boortz keeps it simple in explaining his ideas and beliefs. He puts forth valid intellectual ideas in a clear and concise manner inabling the layman to understand his philisophical stances. Both entertaining and insightful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Finally decadent food for thought!!!

    You can call yourself anything you wish in terms of party lines, however, to be entertained, provoked, and laugh out loud, a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I must admit that I almost completely agree with this man on every issue raised. From our deficiencies in education and the reason for them, to how the tax system really stagnates and stiffles our economy. He raises great points about how our court system needs an overhaul, and why the libertarian stance on drugs makes sense. He stands with libertarians where they are right, and disagrees with them where they are being completely naive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    makes you think

    Although the writing isn't particularily eloquent, and I don't agree with everything he says, Neal Boortz makes you step back and think about your views on this country and what's going on in it. Neal will never run for President, but I would like to see a candidate adopt some of the ideas presented in this book: allow school choice for all, pass the Fair Tax, and privatize Social Security.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    If Somebody's Gotta Say It........Let Boortz!

    I have always thought that Neal Boortz was one of the most influential people in my education and this book was all the proof I needed. Somehow, Neal is able to fit his HUGE personality into 322 cold, hard pages full of humor and compelling arguments. The only reason Mr. Boortz didn¿t make it to #1 on the Best Sellers list is because so many radio stations refuse to play such an offensive man on the air! But hey, that¿s why we love him¿.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    A fun, entertaining and insightful read!!!!!!!

    Boortz¿ book is replete with insight. His assessment of the current state of affairs in this country is right on target and he conveys it with razor sharp wit. Some of his best chapters are, ¿The Democrats¿ (Secret) Plan for America¿, ¿Minimum Wage¿ and the chapters pertaining to ¿government schools¿. He correctly assesses the central problem as the powerful teacher¿s unions, which he accurately tells us are a greater threat than the Islamofascists (122). Government schools are nothing more than indoctrination centers for a collectivist society. Sadly, this is also true of higher education in government schools, where diversity of thought is not permitted and one is graded down for it. If parents were given their tax money¿s worth in the form of vouchers we would soon see kids who could pass high school exit exams, even those set at the actual 12th grade level. Overall, this is a WONDERFUL, WELL WRITTEN book by an intelligent and articulate author that examines much of the nonsense that is prevalent in our society. While making my book purchasing decisions after reading the reviews, those that resort to ad hominem attacks on the author are discredited. I would highly recommend this book for those appreciating a cogent argument, even if it doesn¿t agree with ones politics.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Great Read No Matter What Your Politics

    This is a great book if you are open minded. Unfortunately, because Boortz is on the radio the liberals will think he is a Republican when in fact he is a Libertarian. But, if read this book, no matter what your politics are, it will get you thinking. And to the reviewer that says Boortz is against the voting rights act. Well, you know what, maybe everyone should not be able to vote. Why let a dependent ignorant person vote? Look what happens when the ignorant vote. Marion Barry D.C. Mayor. After getting caught with crack the ignorant returned him as Mayor. See, somebodys gotta say it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    Boortz is right - Government Schools are horrible

    Boortz is right about everything in the book. I am not sure his solutions would work but any attempt at a solution would be better than the status quo. Government schools for example. Boortz thinks introducing competition would make them better. I do not totally agree. The problem with government schools isn't just the lack of competition - it is a combination of many things such as: truly ignorant teachers, students incapable of learning, ignorant parents, and teaching the wrong things. School needs to be like it used to be. Teach Math, English, Science, History, and Physical Education and that is it. When the schools have to teach politically correct nonsense it takes away from the core subjects, which should be the core of what is taught. Nevertheless, Boortz is a smart and funny and I enjoy listening to him on the radio. He is much more enjoyable to listen to than the other talking heads. And the reviewer that called Boortz a conservative obviously doesn't know the meaning of the word. Boortz is not a traditional conservative. Read about his views on gay marriage, abortion, and religion and there is no way he could be labeled as conservative. You could call him conservative on some issues but then you would have to call him liberal on others. So, read the book and learn something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Great book!

    First, to Mr. Fontaine, we do not live in a democracy, we live in a republic. Also, there is NO RIGHT TO VOTE in the constitution. From usconstitution.net: 'The Constitution contains many phrases, clauses, and amendments detailing ways people cannot be denied the right to vote. You cannot deny the right to vote because of race or gender. Citizens of Washington DC can vote for President 18-year-olds can vote you can vote even if you fail to pay a poll tax. The Constitution also requires that anyone who can vote for the 'most numerous branch' of their state legislature can vote for House members and Senate members. Note that in all of this, though, the Constitution never explicitly ensures the right to vote, as it does the right to speech, for example. This is precisely why so many amendments have been needed over time - the qualifications for voters are left to the states. And as long as the qualifications do not conflict with anything in the Constitution, that right can be withheld. For example, in Texas, persons declared mentally incompetent and felons currently in prison or on probation are denied the right to vote. It is interesting to note that though the 26th Amendment requires that 18-year-olds must be able to vote, states can allow persons younger than 18 to vote, if they chose to.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    he said it whean it had to be said

    'if somebody gotta say it' by neal bortz is an all time classic! I really love this book cause he really puts the cards on the table and tells you not only about curuption but how it gets started and were its warning signs are . this publication I think is a real wake up call and I think if it will motivate a group of citizens to get involved and make a difference in there community thean I think this book can be a real blessing as well as a motivator I know it has greatly inspired me that with alittle bit of effort I can make difference. the arthur is to be congradulated for calling attention to certain ills that would other wise go unnoticed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1