Customer Reviews for

Someday

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    One of the most beautiful things I've ever read

    It makes me cry every time. Love it, love it, love it.
    There is nothing better than having your daughter on your lap reading this one with you. If every father and every mother in the world would read this to their children, if only once, the world would definitely be a better place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    One of my all-time favorites

    I challenge any mother of a daughter to get through this book without crying. It is beautifully written and illustrated. Emotionally wrenching. Absolutely wonderful. I bought one for myself, my mother and my daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for moms of girls!

    This is a wonderful story of a mom watching her daughter grow up and become a mom. I cry every time I read it! I have given this book as a gift to so many moms and they all love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Must-Have for mothers and daughters

    I gave this book to my mom and to my daughter. It is a book that always chokes me up no matter how many times I read it. I inscribed it, so that hopefully my daughter will pass this on to her daughter and so forth. Classic mother-daughter coming of age story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Beautiful book that captures the legacy of love from mother to daughter

    Perfect tug-at-your-heartstrings book for any grandma-to-be to offer her expectant daughter! This book presents an emotional bond that mothers share with their daughters who grow up all too quickly becoming independent mothers themselves. Its touching words and illustrations make it a thoughtful gift to be passed from one generation to the next. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    Someday is a book all mothers should read to their young

    This book has it all. The illustrations by Peter Reynolds are wispy, touching, fantastic! McGhee tells the story of a young mother through anyone's eyes...from beginning through the child's grown life. Very few authors take the storyline of motherhood past childhood. I love the examples she uses about what she will someday do with her child and what her child will hopefully experience. It encourages living and growth, security and independence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mothers Day gift for daughter and daughter-in-law

    This very simple story will touch the heart of all mothers and after I read it decided to buy two copies - one for my daughter who now has a 4 year old daughter and my daughter-in-law who now has two daughters - one who is almost two years old and a newborn. I enclosed a note with some personal "motherly" comments with the gift and signed it - "Remember me" - Love Always ! Mom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Someday

    Through this touching ode, a mother shares her dream for her child. Young children and mothers will enjoy this puissant story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Heartstrings

    This book is beautiful. Every word applies to a mother and her child/children. I bought it for my daughter, who is now mother of two precious little girls, for Mother's Day. It was such an appropriate gift for her. Please read this book and sign it. It will be a lifelong keepsake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    It was very emotional to me.

    This book made me cry, a lot. It was very emotional because I can relate to it. It made me remember my children, and the different stages in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    Magic!

    This book expresses all of the expectations that every mother wishes for her daughter, without us even knowing it. From beautifully happy moments, to realistic sad moments, Someday is the depth and importance of ones life and experiences summed up in few words and pages. Simply fantastic, emotional, important, and simple! Looking for one like this from mother to son, and also from fathers point of view! LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    A forever memory

    My husband and I had been dating for 5 years and had a 3 year old daughter by the time we got married. When we finally were ready to walk down the aisle together we wanted our daughter to be part of our celebration. Our lives together and been such a journey for us all. <BR/><BR/>We had plans of including her in our ring exchange and had bought her a beautiful little ring as a symbol of our love. When we sat down to write our vows to her we just couldn't put down on paper how much she truly meant to us. We found ourselves at a loss for words. Then I found this book. It sums up, in just a few short minutes, everything one can truly want for their child and expresses it so honestly. <BR/><BR/>We read this book to our daughter the day we were married. As tears ran down both our cheeks she began to get teary eyed herself. Although she didn't fully understand what was going on around her, she could feel our love. This book will forever have a place in our hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite simply

    The most touching book ever written. This book tugs at your heart in a way that I did not know was possible. The first time I read it I was standing in a Target and I just started crying. Quite simply an amazingly endearing book for mothers and daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    I Cried Too

    Such a touching story. You always want the best for your children (in this story, daughters). I couldn't help but tear up while reading it, so I purchased it for my daughter, who is now a mommy herself. Tears yes, but tears of joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Excellent touching book!

    I received this book after my daughter was born. I tried reading it to her but I started to cry. It is such a heartfelt book. Every mother who has a daughter should have this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I saw this for the first time while I was expecting my second daughter and cried in the middle of the store. I decided to buy two copies so that I could give one to each of my daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    touchy

    this book may be carried on from generation to generation, and it's the true loving, touchy reality for every generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    5 mo pregnant, got it for Mother's Day.

    My mother, who is also my best friend, gave me this book for mother's day this year when I was 5 months pregnant. I couldn't even read it all in one sitting, I was afraid of smudging the pages! The book is amazing I've read it twice and cried both times! It's a must for any mother or daughter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    From mother... to daughter

    Cried in the store when I read it! Very touching...very heartfelt. Will be giving this to my daughter, who will be having her own little girl, to share this wonderful story with 'someday'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    mother to daughter.... to granddaughter...

    I gave this to my daughter who is expecting her own little girl... Simple. Profound. Expresses exactly how I feel... We both cried...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2