Customer Reviews for

Someday, Someday, Maybe

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I read this book while in the hospital... I'm afraid I may have

I read this book while in the hospital... I'm afraid I may have woken other patients up with my laughter. I consumed the book in less than 24 hours. It's light hearted, easy and a thoroughly enjoyable read. Totally raised my spirits when they were at their lowest.

posted by carynnatalie25 on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Book Full of Lauren Graham Humor!  I'm a Gilmore fan.  I bawle

A Book Full of Lauren Graham Humor!
 I'm a Gilmore fan.  I bawled when the the finale aired.  BAWLED.  So when I saw a debut novel by THE Lauren Graham, I knew that I had to read it.  I honestly had to expectations other than I knew it would be funny edging towards snar...
A Book Full of Lauren Graham Humor!
 I'm a Gilmore fan.  I bawled when the the finale aired.  BAWLED.  So when I saw a debut novel by THE Lauren Graham, I knew that I had to read it.  I honestly had to expectations other than I knew it would be funny edging towards snarky.  And my dear readers, it was that indeed. 
I'm not going to re-summarize the story.  The summary above does a decent job of that.  I'm going to give you the low-down on the book though.  Lauren Graham depicts a great deal of her personality into this story.  There was a reason that people loved Gilmore Girls, and a big chunk of that reason was the quirky personality Lauren Graham played.  There was so much of that kind of personality in the book complete with the long-winded and super humorous rants.  The book is full of light humor, and the struggles of a woman trying to make it in the world of theater as an actress.  The story may be predictable, but the refreshing perspective full of humor and clever wit was a huge selling point for me. 
Since I am not normally one to really get into chick-lit, liking this book was a pretty big deal.  Franny, the main character, is incredibly self-depracting in a way that I actually admired and related to.  She wants success, but she struggles with getting it on her own terms with her dignity in tact.  She ends up in a relationship with a guy that is just all wrong.  But there is an incredibly sweet guy waiting that just adores her.  Dan is probably one of the sweetest and awkward characters I've met in awhile.  
The book may be chick-lit, but the story is well-thought out and relatable.  I appreciated the story I was being told, and enjoyed spending some time reading the words of Lauren Graham.  Also, the character is named after Franny from J.D. Salinger's short story.  I love it when authors include that story into their own.  
Low Points:  It was pretty predictable.  I had to spend more time with James, a love interest, than I would have liked.  There was a bit of flip flopping on Franny's part that drove me a lot crazy at times.  High Points:  Well of course the humor.  There were a lot of scenes that if I just pictured Ms. Graham doing them, they became even funnier in my mind.  I loved the 90's references and reading the different messages left on her answering machine.  *I honestly miss the old-fashioned answering machines.*  Also ever so once in a while, Franny's Filofax pages are shown, and it was fun to read the different things written on them.  
Who Should Read It:  Did/do you love Gilmore Girls?  If you enjoyed the humor of the show, you will probably enjoy the book.  Lovers of chick-lit and light fiction may enjoy it as well.  

posted by Deidra_Simply_Books on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    A Book Full of Lauren Graham Humor!  I'm a Gilmore fan.  I bawle

    A Book Full of Lauren Graham Humor!
     I'm a Gilmore fan.  I bawled when the the finale aired.  BAWLED.  So when I saw a debut novel by THE Lauren Graham, I knew that I had to read it.  I honestly had to expectations other than I knew it would be funny edging towards snarky.  And my dear readers, it was that indeed. 
    I'm not going to re-summarize the story.  The summary above does a decent job of that.  I'm going to give you the low-down on the book though.  Lauren Graham depicts a great deal of her personality into this story.  There was a reason that people loved Gilmore Girls, and a big chunk of that reason was the quirky personality Lauren Graham played.  There was so much of that kind of personality in the book complete with the long-winded and super humorous rants.  The book is full of light humor, and the struggles of a woman trying to make it in the world of theater as an actress.  The story may be predictable, but the refreshing perspective full of humor and clever wit was a huge selling point for me. 
    Since I am not normally one to really get into chick-lit, liking this book was a pretty big deal.  Franny, the main character, is incredibly self-depracting in a way that I actually admired and related to.  She wants success, but she struggles with getting it on her own terms with her dignity in tact.  She ends up in a relationship with a guy that is just all wrong.  But there is an incredibly sweet guy waiting that just adores her.  Dan is probably one of the sweetest and awkward characters I've met in awhile.  
    The book may be chick-lit, but the story is well-thought out and relatable.  I appreciated the story I was being told, and enjoyed spending some time reading the words of Lauren Graham.  Also, the character is named after Franny from J.D. Salinger's short story.  I love it when authors include that story into their own.  
    Low Points:  It was pretty predictable.  I had to spend more time with James, a love interest, than I would have liked.  There was a bit of flip flopping on Franny's part that drove me a lot crazy at times.  High Points:  Well of course the humor.  There were a lot of scenes that if I just pictured Ms. Graham doing them, they became even funnier in my mind.  I loved the 90's references and reading the different messages left on her answering machine.  *I honestly miss the old-fashioned answering machines.*  Also ever so once in a while, Franny's Filofax pages are shown, and it was fun to read the different things written on them.  
    Who Should Read It:  Did/do you love Gilmore Girls?  If you enjoyed the humor of the show, you will probably enjoy the book.  Lovers of chick-lit and light fiction may enjoy it as well.  

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I read this book while in the hospital... I'm afraid I may have

    I read this book while in the hospital... I'm afraid I may have woken other patients up with my laughter. I consumed the book in less than 24 hours. It's light hearted, easy and a thoroughly enjoyable read. Totally raised my spirits when they were at their lowest.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    I am a Lauren Graham fan, and I LOVED Gilmore Girls. But I'm not

    I am a Lauren Graham fan, and I LOVED Gilmore Girls. But I'm not a fan of Someday, Someday, Maybe. The story is slow and there is not much about the characters that keeps me interested. And as much as I love the quirky humor of Gilmore Girls and the rambling, incoherent but somehow charming banter, it just does not translate well on a page. "uh" expressed verbally can sound delightfully awkward, but on a written page only disrupts the natural flow to a story. I can't finish this, because I would be forcing myself to do so.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book! Anyone who is a fan of Lauren Graham w

    Really enjoyed this book! Anyone who is a fan of Lauren Graham will appreciate the tone and humor of the story, though even those unfamiliar with her will be able to enjoy it. I found the main character, Franny, to be extremely relatable and funny, similar to Graham herself. She takes her dreams seriously yet doesn't take herself too seriously, and she believes she can be successful even while suffering from lack of confidence. She is a contradiction and yet because of that would be relatable to most 20 something girls who are just starting out. Anyone though, will be able to appreciate the complexities of what it's like to chase a dream so desperately while knowing it might never actually come true. What I loved most about Franny is how witty and hopeful she is; it made her thoughts a pleasure to read. I can definitely see this book being made into a film or series and look forward to the next installment which I understand Graham has already begun undertaking.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A 20 something

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A 20 something woman has spent the last 2.5 years trying to make her mark in New York City on the theater world and just can't seem to catch a break.  As things start going in a good direction, she must take a step back and make some decisions.  

    Franny and her two room mates were great, I definitely felt like they were truly New Yorkers and showed the true struggle to make it in New York in the entertainment industry.  The inclusion of Franny's calendar with the dates was a great addition - it gave the book character.  There is nothing I would change about this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended-Don't miss this one!

    I am a fan of Lauren Graham and was excited to read this book and I was not disappointed! It was like going back in time and being a fly on the wall watching what it must be like to be a struggling actor living in NYC fighting to make a dream come true...and the heartaches that go along with it. I would love to read more books based on the lead character and her friends because this book left me wanting more. Way to go Lauren Graham...don't stop now!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly surprised!

    I bought this book as a fan of Lauren Graham and the Gilmore Girls. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. The characters stuck with me long after reading and the pace was perfect for a light read. It was also very smart and funny. I hope she continues writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing!! The characters were so real, I fell in love with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Someday someday maybe

    Gilmore girls is so amazing thats why i bought thus book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Fair

    If you are in the theater/ new actor scene this may appeal to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Cm

    I couldn't put this book down! A great summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love Gilmore Girls. Yes I know, this isn't related to Gilmore

    I love Gilmore Girls. Yes I know, this isn't related to Gilmore Girls except for the tiny fact that the author of Someday, Someday, Maybe played Lorelei in Gilmore Girls. I know I probably shouldn't relate her work with Gilmore Girls but I can't lie and say I didn't pick this book up for the sole reason that the author is Lauren Graham, because that is the reason. Still, I really enjoy reading chick lits and when I read the synopsis I knew this was something I might enjoy. and I did enjoy it. It was definitely a different book from the usual YA or romantic chick lits I've read in the past. Someday, Someday, Maybe follows the struggle of Franny to becoming an actress in 1995. Franny reminded me SO MUCH of the main protagonists in Sophie Kinsella's books. They are funny, quirky, don't have a brain to mouth filter, and get themselves in the most ridiculous and embarrassing situations but miraculously always come out of it bolder and with their chin held high. This is why I loved Franny so much. I loved her dedication to her work and especially her Filofax entries (even if her handwriting was a bit hard to read!).There are two problems that I had with this book, the first being the somewhat draggy plot in the middle of the novel and the next is the romance. I didn't care much about it because I didn't like the love interest and just who Franny was around him. Still, this isn't about the romance and it is about Franny and her struggle and ups and downs of trying to make it as an actor in New York in the 1990s. I do have to say that I really liked Franny's roommates and friends. They were very supportive and always had her back. Someday, Someday, Maybe is a great debut by Graham and I wonder how much of Franny's experiences actually apply to her life. I can't wait to read more by Graham because she clearly is a fantastic story teller. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Loved it

    I thought this book was quite funny.. it was a quick easy read and am hoping for another one to continue Fanny's adventure in acting..I really enjoyed thisbook and there were times when I laughed out loud. Lauren has a way with humor on screen and now it shows in her writing too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Light-hearted and hopeful

    This is an easy read following the up and comer, Franny Banks. It tells the tale of a young actress' struggles in NYC and her journey to success in love, life, and being content with life, just as it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Someday, Someday, Maybe is roughly based off of Graham¿s own exp

    Someday, Someday, Maybe is roughly based off of Graham’s own experiences trying to break into the New York acting scene during the 1990s. The characters grew as the book goes on, which you come to love them. I didn’t realize how much goes into the acting business till I started digging deeper into the book, and wow!
    Getting to know Franny is a real treat. Lauren definitely did her justice. Once you get to know Franny, you would be captivated into her journey. You really see Franny growing as the book goes on.
    A very enjoyable read, even if it took me awhile to enjoy it. It wasn’t something that got me right from go, but I am so glad I stuck it out! Lauren is amazing in her writing, like it could be ranked up there with her acting! I didn’t know about this book till I seen Lauren on Ellen and she was talking about her book.
    I truly enjoyed it, and I know you would to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Someday

    This book was a light read for anytime, I usually only have time to read when I lie down at bedtime. It may have been because I watched Gilmore Girls from debut to finale, I felt as if the book was written fast-paced like it. I did enjoy the book but it seemed to have taken awhile to obtain her goal, put it into action, and then when she did, bam! The book ended. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Could not put it down, read it at the beach in 3 days! Loved i

    Could not put it down, read it at the beach in 3 days! Loved it, writing flows wonderfully!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Good beach/airplane book

    This book was totally predictable, but fully enjoyable. I read it on the airplane to/from New York City, and it was the perfect book to go with that destination. The main character is quick-witted and winsome, but I definitely wouldn't call it great literature. If you're someone who can enjoy a light, fluffy book, I recommend this one wholeheartedly (especially if you're a Lauren Graham fan, like me!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I loved the humor and how the book flowed. Very easy reading. Fun story line and of course you can give the main character the voice of Lauren, which gives the reading experience another level....Would read more, if she writes them....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Funny, great characters

    I feel like the story was just getting started at the end, and I found myself wanting to read more. She did a great job of really getting you hooked on Franny, but the storyline was a little sporatic. She goes off on random details, sometimes causing a distraction from the scene at hand. Good, easy read overall :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3