Customer Reviews for

Someone Knows My Name

Average Rating 4.5
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Magnificent

I recently read this book as a part of a literature circle assignment in my English class. To be quite honest, when I first received the book, it did not look that interesting to me. However, I must say that I was definitely proven wrong. Everyone in my group enjoyed t...
I recently read this book as a part of a literature circle assignment in my English class. To be quite honest, when I first received the book, it did not look that interesting to me. However, I must say that I was definitely proven wrong. Everyone in my group enjoyed this read. This is one of, if not the best book that I have ever read. The reader has no choice but to sympathize with the novel's protagonist - Aminata Diallo. Hill's writing style makes the novel very easy to read and the pages quickly go by. If you want a very interesting read that will touch your heart, this is the book for you.

posted by cadxo on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did I Read The Same Book As The Rest Of The Reviewers?

This was not a good book. Although the subject matter should have been interesting, it wasn't. I think this book could have benefited a great deal if the editor cut out 200 pages. I found myself getting extremely bored and unable to connect with any of the characters. I...
This was not a good book. Although the subject matter should have been interesting, it wasn't. I think this book could have benefited a great deal if the editor cut out 200 pages. I found myself getting extremely bored and unable to connect with any of the characters. I also found her story to be really unbelievable. Even when she was facing tremendous challenges I was unable to sympathize or care.

I would recommend reading Beloved instead to get an idea of the impact of slavery on a person. Though the black loyalist aspect/history part was unique, it was just not interesting. I'm sorry I wasted my time on this book.

posted by 1962459 on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Magnificent

    I recently read this book as a part of a literature circle assignment in my English class. To be quite honest, when I first received the book, it did not look that interesting to me. However, I must say that I was definitely proven wrong. Everyone in my group enjoyed this read. This is one of, if not the best book that I have ever read. The reader has no choice but to sympathize with the novel's protagonist - Aminata Diallo. Hill's writing style makes the novel very easy to read and the pages quickly go by. If you want a very interesting read that will touch your heart, this is the book for you.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is magnificent!

    The author really did his homework in order to write this beautiful, thoroughly interesting and sad story. This is Aminata Diallo's story but she is only one of so many who suffered in history and had to fight to live. This book tells the story of all aspects of African American history through her story, of the horrors of slavery, revolution, grief, rage, death, slave-trading, the BOOK OF NEGROES, where the names of African Americans who were given passage to Canada on British ships because of their service in the American Revolution. There's inhumanity through such evil treatment exposed, ugly exploitation, broken spirits.so many wonderful quotes. "Beware of the clever man who makes wrong look right." That's a scary statement! This is a heart-wrenching journey that bares being publicized and taken to heart. This is magnificent!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book was given to me by a Canadian friend under the title: "The Book of Negroes"

    I could not put this book down from the first page. Lawrence Hill's writing style in the voice of Aminata Diallo is fantastic. This book is intense, both sad AND heart-warming. I wanted to wrap my arms around Aminata and hug her and be her friend. I've never had an interest in historical novels, but this was fantastic. Mr. Hill did very thorough research of this time period and using the main character, all who read this can feel what it was like to have been a slave, ripped from your parents, always longing for home. I have recommended it to many. I am very surprised Oprah hasn't made this a book club pick. This is one of THE best books I've ever read. I highly recommend it to anyone that cares for their fellow man. It should be required reading for high school students. I could not find this book under the title of "The Book of Negroes," which is the book I have from my Canadian friend. Must be that in Canada, that is the title.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    A masterpiece of historical fiction

    Beware when you start this book--you'll forget to eat, sleep or anything else until the last page is finished.

    Mr. Hill has certainly done his homework (how a Canadian man can channel an 18th Century African woman is one of the miracles of this book). The characters fully inhabit the page (and threaten to walk right off it) and one's imagination.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    THIS BOOK WAS WONDERFUL.

    I LOVED THIS BOOK IF YOU ARE INTERESED IN THIS TYPE OF MATERIAL WHEN READING THIS BOOK I FOUND MYSELF DRAWN INTO THIS BOOK I DID NOT WANT IT TO END. I AM NOT MUCH OF A READER BUT I LOVED THIS BOOK

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEDED

    I had never heard of this writer, but will add him to my list of faves. My sisters and i started a book club because of this book. learning new things and reminding me of ways and times gone by a must read, page turner!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    Excellent!

    Should be mandatory reading for Black History Month in every high school.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Hard to put down

    I loved it, went to web site of author. Last section of book helped explain how he got this wonderful material.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Excellent book

    This book was terrific from beginning to end. Though not always easy to read due to subject manner, it was handled with honesty and compassion. The story of a woman's life, her struggles to survive and surmount her circumstances and to teach/convey the realities of slavery were brought out through superb writing. The author offered a wonderful balance of factual research, compassion and understanding of this woman's trials and unimaginable journey. I highly recommend this book to anyone enjoys a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    Best Book I've Read This Year!!!

    Easy Read that you don't want to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill

    A beautifully crafted story based on research of the African slave trade and brought up close and personal through the character's tortuous life journey. Hill's tale leaves an indelible mark on one's soul, creating empathy for the trauma that lives on in the generations that followed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Fabulous Book!

    This book was riveting. It was so well written and researched. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys books with great character development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    Did I Read The Same Book As The Rest Of The Reviewers?

    This was not a good book. Although the subject matter should have been interesting, it wasn't. I think this book could have benefited a great deal if the editor cut out 200 pages. I found myself getting extremely bored and unable to connect with any of the characters. I also found her story to be really unbelievable. Even when she was facing tremendous challenges I was unable to sympathize or care.

    I would recommend reading Beloved instead to get an idea of the impact of slavery on a person. Though the black loyalist aspect/history part was unique, it was just not interesting. I'm sorry I wasted my time on this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Fantastic!

    This is a brilliant book! Couldnt put it down. The characters are real, you suffer along with them and also feel their soaring joys. Mr. Hill has done a fantastic job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Exceptional read! When I wasn't sleeping all I wanted to do was

    Exceptional read! When I wasn't sleeping all I wanted to do was read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    A Heart Stopper.

    I couldn't put it down. Had no idea how it would end, so it was suspence clear to tne end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Tyler

    Then dont go *he kissed down to her collar bone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Energy

    (Sorry i fell asleep) i dont want to....go *she runs her fingers up through yoir hair

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    A fascinating book

    I enjoyed reading this book. It really makes you think about the experience of being taken and forced into slavery.

    This is the story of a survivor. Everyone would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Oneof the best books I've ever read!

    This book is a great read and is one that you will, want to read in one sitting. Well written and a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13