Customer Reviews for

Someone Like You (reissue)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1481 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1054)

4 Star

(272)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

SO good!

THis book captured me the second i started reading it! it is so realistic and could happen to people in high school. I definetly could relate to it in some ways and it made me realize some things about myself i didnt know! such a good book i read it about 4 times!

posted by Truth_about_4ever_3 on April 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

This book was extremely disappointing, i honestly expected so much more from this book i didnt think that it would end the way it did.
i'm glad with the ending but the whole time i was reading i was bored finished n 4 days it didnt grab my atention i was waiting for i...
This book was extremely disappointing, i honestly expected so much more from this book i didnt think that it would end the way it did.
i'm glad with the ending but the whole time i was reading i was bored finished n 4 days it didnt grab my atention i was waiting for it to get better but it never did.

posted by spanish-marie on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    not the best...

    i have read many of Dessens books and i'm sorry to say that this was not her best. Sure, it was good, i laughed and cried and you could really relate to halley, but i just felt unsatissfied when i finished it. it was a good book and i'm sure lots of people would like it, it just wasnt one that i am always going to love and remember.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I gave this book three stars because it talked about issues that

    I gave this book three stars because it talked about issues that occur in high school which i can relate to because I'll be in high school next year. I didn't like the way it ended because I predicted a very different ending. The middle of the book was the most interesting because it described Halley's relationship with Macon as it was just beginning. This book was about two best friends who had to help each other with issues they both had. Scarlett was really in love with her boyfriend Michael Sherwood, but the day after they had sex for the first time, he died in a motorcycle accident. Halley thought she was in love with her boyfriend Macon Faulkner, but things changed drastically towards the end of the book. He wasn't the kind of boy she thought he was. Halley at first had a very good relationship with her mother, but then things started changing when she started dated Macon. She tried to keep Macon a secret from her mother, by saying "I'm going to Scarlett's house now" when she really was hanging out with Macon. I would recommend this book to teenagers who are at least 13 years old (no younger) because it talks about things some younger kids wouldn't understand and are not mature enough to read. For example it deals with issues like sex, drugs and drinking. It's just like you wouldn't let your younger kids watch shows like "Sex in The City." A high school kid would like it because it deals with strong relationships. It talks about Scarlett's relationship with her mother in contrast with Halley's relationship with her mother. Also, Halley's relationship with Macon was interesting because it changed over time. Halley had to make some tough decisions about her relationship with Macon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Its ok

    Ive read five of saras books..this one is good,but not the best, in my opinion. This book is pretty ordinary for me. Its pretty solemn n boring throughout... i personally like "the truth about forever" also by sara but the best by far is "dreamland" i would reccomend that one over any of them. Its the book that really got me into dessens books. If this is important to know, theres not really any strong sexual content in this book,but there isnt much in the other books either

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Eh, she's done better

    This book was okay, but not really worh my time

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Good!

    Of course I had not realized there was a prequel, but the book filled me in well. It was slightly predictable and every now and then I found myself disagreeing with their decisions. However, great book! Hard to put down and will stay with you for a while.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Quick read

    This book was good but nothing I haven't heard about. Halley is basically trying to figure out what girl she turned into and what she used to be like. The beginning was interesting as was the ending; however, the middle was a bit predictable and I ended up speed reading through it.

    Great quick read if bored.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Questionnn

    Is this really a movie !? Whats it called?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Quick ending

    This was a fery good read the only thing i did not like was the relationship between the main character and her boyfriend macon. I don tthink the author should have broken them up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Pretty good

    It might just be me cuz im young but it doesnt seem like there is much going on yet,but still im on page 36 so i might not be at the good part yet!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Fine just fine

    It was a page turner but ending was terrible well not terrible but ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Good

    The book seemed real. It felt like you knew the characters and you was feeling the same pain or happiness the characters had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Sort of boring

    I found myself skipping alot of pages.....but i found myself getting emotional at Hallry's break-up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Started off Slow

    Sarah Dessen is one of my fav authors and I usualy read her books really fast. I ended up putting this book down for a week before picking it up again and finishing it. After I read it I loved it, but for me it was hard to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    True Friendship

    Halley and Scarlett have been best friends since they were little girls, so when Scarlett's boyfriend is killed in an motorcycle accident Halley rushes to her side. Halley comforts Scarlett during her time of sorrow and when Scarlett finds out she's pregnant, Halley is totally supportive of her friend's choice to keep her baby. But Scarlett isn't Halley's only concern. She also finds herself a boyfriend (a rolling stone who lives by his own set of rules)who expects more than she's ready to give, and she and her mother aren't exactly getting along as well as they used to. This story is broken down into three parts. I didn't think the first part was too interesting. In fact, it was a bit boring and I didn't plan to read any further, but I kept reading and I'm glad I did because it picked up after Part I (I believe I would have been into the beginning much more if I could have gotten to know Scarlett's boyfriend before the motorcycle accident). So, this turned out to be a good read. The teen pregnancy was well-written, but the most interesting parts of the story were the conversations between Halley and her mother. Halley's father seemed to be a "passive" parent, but Halley's mother took care of business. And I liked the chocolate shake thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    First book I read of hers and I loved it

    First book I read of hers and I loved it! She is a great Author!

    This book is about a girl named Halley. Her best friend Scarlett. While Halley is at a summer camp her parents made her go to. And while she was gone Scarletts "Boyfriend" got in a Montercycle accident and was killed. Months later Halley and Scarlett find out that Scarlett is carrying his baby. Her life is turned upside down! And Scarlett needs Halley more then ever. While Halley's whole life has been counting of her. And once Scarlett intuduced Halley and her baby daddy's best friend Halley and him click. She finds herself sneeking around and taking care of Scarlett. There friendship was tested through everything that happened!
    GREAT BOOK AND YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Someone like you

    Someone Like You is the first novel I've read by Sarah Dessen. It was really good. I would recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Great Book, Though a Little Slow-Moving at Times

    I've only read one other book by Sarah Dessen because usually her stories have no interest for me. What grabbed my attention about this one was the teen-pregnancy element; what drew me in to the only other I've read by her was that I got it for free.

    This book is very good and I love the friendship/relationship element in it. However, the rebeliousness of the main character - although perhaps 'realistic' - rubbed me the wrong way. I thought the way the main character fawned over her best friend was cliche. Well, the whole book was cliche. But nevertheless, a good, quick, worth-it read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    This book annoyed me!

    This book was good and i couldn't put it down but then at the end it totally left me wondering what in the world in happen. Kind of a let down .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Sarah Dessen Book!

    Someone Like You is an amazing story by Sarah Dessen. Its emotional, realistic, and thoughtful. The beginnning is kind of slow, but it gets really good. Its kind of like the Juno story in a book! I definetly recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    its alot like how to deal

    it sounds alot liek how to deal it has the sam story and the same names!! SCARLETT's boyfriend in how todeal dies. and she finds out shes pregnant and halley is there for her. and all other stuff soo yeah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5