Customer Reviews for

Someone Like You (reissue)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1023)

4 Star

(261)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

SO good!

THis book captured me the second i started reading it! it is so realistic and could happen to people in high school. I definetly could relate to it in some ways and it made me realize some things about myself i didnt know! such a good book i read it about 4 times!

posted by Truth_about_4ever_3 on April 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

This book was extremely disappointing, i honestly expected so much more from this book i didnt think that it would end the way it did.
i'm glad with the ending but the whole time i was reading i was bored finished n 4 days it didnt grab my atention i was waiting for i...
This book was extremely disappointing, i honestly expected so much more from this book i didnt think that it would end the way it did.
i'm glad with the ending but the whole time i was reading i was bored finished n 4 days it didnt grab my atention i was waiting for it to get better but it never did.

posted by spanish-marie on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    Someone Like You

    Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen is a well told story about a long lasting friendship between two young women. Scarlett and Halley have been best friends for as long as they can remember. There is friendship that everyone wishes they could have. This novel starts out with Scarlett demanding Halley to come home from summer camp because Scarlett's boyfriend had died in a motorcycle accident. Not long after his death, Scarlett finds out she is carrying Micheal's (Scarlett's boyfriend who died) child. This narrative follows Scarlett's pregnancy and Halley's relationship with Macon Faulkner. Halley has been a good girl he entire life, but her relationship with Macon Faulkner has led her to different experiences that are leading her parents to question her responsibility.
    This book is told from Halley's point of view, the reader faces all the drama high school life is known for. Boy's, school, teachers and friends seem to be the most important thing in their lives. Readers see the vigorous friendship between Scarlett and Halley while goes through many life changes. The touching scenes between Scarlett and Halley show how they deal with real life teenage problems.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Sweet Story

    Someone like you is such a sweet story. It's very dramatic at times especially the ending. This book shows you how far a true friendship can really go. At times I wanted to cry. At others I couldn't help, but laugh. I just couldn't put the book down. I read it in two days. I would have gave the book five stars, but there was too much underage drinking and itinmite relationships for my likeing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Someone like you

    Its a very good book! Its for young adults though! :) :)
    Its about teen pregnancy. And about lovr and sex. So do u like it? Hope u like it!!#!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :):):):):,:/:/:,:,&/:/;//;;/,;**/*&;:,:,:,:):):,:,:,:,:;;;);,;/;/;/;/;/;/;/;;;/;/;,/,;,;,;///////;/::''

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Before I begin talking about the book in general, I will have t

    Before I begin talking about the book in general, I will have to say that there is no doubt that it was one of my favorite books. I really enjoyed reading this book by Sarah Dessen and I am going to read many more by her in the future. All of the little details during each event made the story so much better, and more descriptive. I was able to get a clear image in my head of the scenery, the characters, and their actions. I enjoy reading books that I am able to play a movie out in my head while I read the book. I cannot usually make out a very clear image in my head of the story, but with this book it was simple because of the detailed descriptions.

    There is a great deal of emotions that flow throughout the book. The characters have their ups and their downs, and Sarah Dessen does a fantastic job at creating the book for teenagers and how they would live their life. All people are emotional and go through hard times in their lives, and this is a great example of one of these times. Scarlett, the main character’s best friend, is pregnant, the father of the baby died in a motorcycle accident, and he will never know. Scarlett is left to choose, all alone, what she will do with the baby. Abortion, put the baby up for adoption, or keep the baby herself. Throughout the book, Scarlett thinks and thinks about what to do, is she capable of keeping the baby herself? If she keeps the baby, will she be too busy all of the time to do other things? All that Scarlett has to help her with the pregnancy is her best friend, Halley. Halley and Scarlett are like two peas in a pod, they cannot be separated no matter what happens. But will Scarlett's emotions get the best of her and push Halley’s stress to the limits?

    I believe that Sarah Dessen writes her books for mainly teen audiences, they tell a great stories that are very realistic. This book is one example of how the events that Sarah Dessen writes about are possible and happen every day in the life of a teenager. The drama and the boys is a teenage girl's’ life, and not much else. Dessen really acknowledges these ideas and puts them into her stories in a very interesting way. The author’s tone is perfect for teenagers and what most of them enjoy reading. This book had a great hook right away, and it made me want to keep reading right until the end. It helped that even when there was a not so interesting section of the book, Scarlett’s pregnancy was still in the back of your mind. What will happen with Scarlett and her baby? Boy or girl? These questions wander through your mind when reading this book, and they aren’t answered until the very end, there is always something to look forward to as you read the book. I really enjoyed reading Sarah Dessen’s writing and I recommend reading some of her books in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Must Read this Book

    Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen is mostly about the friendship of two teenagers, Halley and Scarlett and how their relationship deals with Scarlett's pregnancy and the death of Scarlett's boyfriend. Halley helps her best friend get through her pregnancy while she is sneaking out to see her boyfriend, Macon Faulkner.
    Halley and Scarlett met when Scarlett moved across the street from Hallet in a subdivision called Lakeview. As years passed the became closer untull their friendhip was finally put to the test. Halley always was the one who needed help from Scarlett, but things changed when Scarlett¿s boyfriend got into an accident and was killed. A day after the accident had occurred Scarlett tells Halley that she is pregnant.
    Halley is the only person who was there for Scarlett through everything. Scarlett¿s mother doesn¿t agree with Scarlett¿s decision. After several appointments of Scarlett talking to a doctor about abortion she couldn¿t decide if she should go through with it.
    After it had been awhile of Halley dating Macon and them sneaking off in the dark of the night together, Scarlett knew Halley was making the wrong decision. Macon kept pushing her to do things that weren¿t appropriate for her age; she was beginning to see a drastic change in him. When Scarlett needs her most, Halley is facing her own problems.
    I highly recommend this book. Mostly for people who like books that keep them guessing on what might happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Good

    It was really good but maby al bit inapropraite ( i mean she is pregnate) but still good. I suggest get it at the library its not worth 9 bucks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Good but not the best

    I loved this book because its easy to relate to....i mean come on what high school doesnt have at least one pregnant girl in it??? It shows all the hardships she has to go through on an extreme scale cause baby daddy died in a motorccycle acccident

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Spectacular Read- One of my favorites!

    The fiction Novel Someone like You tells the story of a friendship between High School Juniors Haley and Scarlett. The two neighbors have been friends since they were little, and Halley has always looked to Scarlett for help. At the beginning of a new school year, a popular boy in their grade, Michael Sherwood, dies in a motorcycle accident. Shortly after, Scarlett finds out she is pregnant with his child. Now that Scarlett is the friend in need, Halley needs to be there for her while dealing with her own teenage troubles with boys, parents, and school.
    The major messages and themes in this book are about relationships. These relationships can be with friends, parents, or even boys in Halley's case. The book doesn't glorify teen pregnancy, but rather gives you a different perspective of it and shows you what it is like for two high school girls.
    Someone Like You was a fantastic book that really portrayed the struggles of a teenage girl and her life, even if the scenario was a little different than normal. The main character Halley was very relatable and I really connected with her and all pressure she went through. This book really got the reader thinking about the situation that the pregnant Scarlett was in. I really enjoyed how this book didn't celebrate teen pregnancy, but rather showed you the feelings and hardship that actually takes place. It was put as another objective along with boys, drinking, and other pressures a girl has to deal with. It gave the reader a different side of a pregnancy by showing you the best friend's point of view which I enjoyed. The story was a great and interesting way to display the hardships that a high school girl goes through.
    This novel didn't have anything that stuck out to me that I didn't like. The author has a phenomenal style of writing and the story was an excellent idea. The only thing I didn't like were some of the characters and scenarios of the book, which was probably the author's intentions. Without characters like the sweet-talking Macon or the slacking mother of Scarlett, the book would have little conflict and would not be as interesting.
    Anyone who loves romance or the story of a relatively normal high school girl should read this novel. It is very relatable and displays a great story without preaching to the reader about what is wrong and right to a teenager.
    Sarah Dessen is an exceptional writer with an audience of teenage girls. Her books involve romance and other issues going on in teenager's lives that are all great and not too difficult or long to read. This Lullaby, That Summer, and The Truth About Forever, are all superb novels written by this author. Shrinking Violet by Danielle Joseph is another great read for anyone.
    This is definitely one of my favorite books and I would give it a 9.5/10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Good beach read; parents, make yourselves aware

    I am 23 years old--not quite Dessen's usual audience of teens. I borrowed it for some light beach reading from my boyfriend's sister (a freshman in high school). It's not something I would strongly recommend, but it was still entertaining and suited my purpose perfectly. I would caution parents whose younger daughters are reading this to be aware that the book includes some heavy content (drugs, alcohol, and sex). My reaction was one of incredulity; I felt like telling my boyfriend's sister not all high schoolers are like this. It seems to paint the typical high school experience as one I don't think many parents want for their daughters; it certainly wasn't my experience. Perhaps, then, it would be good to start a conversation for girls who do feel that this book accurately portrays what they experience in their own lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    Someone Like You

    Someone like you is based around summer lovin taking a turn for the worst. Halley is usually the quiet one and gets advice form her friend Scarlett, but when Scarlett find out she is carrying her late boyfriends bab, it is up to Halley to comfort Scareltt.

    This book sets you up like your going to be reading mainly about Scarletts struggles, but really the plot is set around Halleys boyfriend trouble. This suprised me because i expeced more of a teen pregnancy drama book. The book was still good and written well and the plot was still good even though it wasn't what i expected. This book is a great read for young adults who are looking for a cute high school romantic drama book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    I think that Sarah Dessen is an excellent writer. I fell in love with all the characters and i thoght she made it a very believable story:)I think most readers would enjoy this story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    Unforgettably Realistic and Addictive

    One reason why I love this book is that it has a Real Story and I could learn from it. I suggest this to any teen reader wanting something new. I am intrigued by the characters Halley and Scarlett, when Scarlett was giving birth and Halley truly dedicated herself during that time. Or when Scarlett was giving advice and being concerned with Hally's decisions even when she was really pregnant, just like a mere parent looking out for some child. Their friendship is a big inspiration and something we can learn from.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Hmmmmm...

    Makes me wonder what I woukd do without my best friend. IT also makes me relize how important friends are to you in life and how much you reliye one each other. Also you always jeed to be careful with the choices you make, because they might not always be good ones, and you cam later go to regret them. I say this book is a must read for everyone, IT cteaches many good lessons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Good Book

    This is a good book but it has a very mature theme. Reccommended for mature teens only

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    My daughters were really able to relate. Thoroughly enjoyed this

    My daughters were really able to relate. Thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Wow! One Great Read

    This book ttakes you through the perils of a normal highscool day and throws in some heartwreanting moments. That said,this a very good read and a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    is this book good?

    is this book good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Rp

    Do u rp's not get tht the perpouse og this is to write a REVIEW on the book not act like friggen cats in a clan??????? Get an effin life an find an actual rp website to do ur crap
    Oh abd bts the book is good bt not her best

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I loved this very BUT the ending sucked! I was left with soooo m

    I loved this very BUT the ending sucked! I was left with soooo many questions! She should have made it a little longer giving us answers to things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Lindsey

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14