Customer Reviews for

Someone Like You (reissue)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1429 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1024)

4 Star

(261)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

SO good!

THis book captured me the second i started reading it! it is so realistic and could happen to people in high school. I definetly could relate to it in some ways and it made me realize some things about myself i didnt know! such a good book i read it about 4 times!

posted by Truth_about_4ever_3 on April 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

This book was extremely disappointing, i honestly expected so much more from this book i didnt think that it would end the way it did.
i'm glad with the ending but the whole time i was reading i was bored finished n 4 days it didnt grab my atention i was waiting for i...
This book was extremely disappointing, i honestly expected so much more from this book i didnt think that it would end the way it did.
i'm glad with the ending but the whole time i was reading i was bored finished n 4 days it didnt grab my atention i was waiting for it to get better but it never did.

posted by spanish-marie on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1024 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 52
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    SO good!

    THis book captured me the second i started reading it! it is so realistic and could happen to people in high school. I definetly could relate to it in some ways and it made me realize some things about myself i didnt know! such a good book i read it about 4 times!

    45 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    VERY INTERESTING BOOK

    Someone Like You was a very good book. It really explains what high school and just what being a teen is all about. Except, not all teens get pregnant in high school. This book is about two girls who have been best friends ever since they first met. Halley has always been they quiet one, but Scarlett is braver and more outgoing. Scarlett has always been there for Halley whenever she happened to need her and she has always known what to do to make things better. But this time I don't think Scarlett can handle this one on her own. At the beginning of their junior year Scarlett's boyfriend is killed in a motorcycle accident. Later on, after the funeral, Scarlett finds out that she is carrying her boyfriend's baby. For the first time Scarlett really needs Halley's help. Now Halley has to learn how to be strong for Scarlett. It will be hard, but she can't let her friend down now. This book was very well written and is very dramatic at times. You will want to see what happens next. Once you pick it up you really will not want to put it down. I would definitely recommend this book to other people. Sarah Dessen's books are very popular with young adults, but this one is interesting for anyone who reads it!

    35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Captivating to Put Down

    "Someone Like You" was an absolutely fantastic read that greatly portrays the powers of love and friendship. Love between friends, romantic relationships, and family. Halley Cooke and Scarlett Thomas have been best friends every since Scarlett and her mother had moved across the street from Haley's family five years ago. The girls were about to start their junior year of high school. However, a devastating event created a mark of melancholy in the girls' summer vacation when Scarlett's boyfriend, Michael Sherwood, died in a motorcycle accident. Previously, Halley's mother, a therapist, had sent her to a Sisterhood Camp in the Grand Canyon. But when Halley received Scarlett's news, she immediately returned home to comfort her best friend. During the first few weeks of school, more news was gathered when Scarlett found out that she was pregnant with Michael's baby. While Scarlett's world seems to be spinning, Halley deals with conflicts of her own. Her mother does not approve of her new boyfriend Macon. But regardless of her opinion and attempts to keep them apart, Halley still pursues her relationship with Macon. However, soon their relationship hit bumpy roads. The two girls search for comfort in each other as they carry themselves across the bridge from their adolescent years to adulthood. A major theme that this novel definitely falls under is that the power of friendship can pull you through the hardest times of your life, no matter what the obstacles may be. Halley and Scarlett had to face numerous gigantic obstacles which they faced and pulled through together. Another theme is that love is found everywhere and comes in all shapes and sizes and affects people in a variety of ways. Halley's mother's love for Halley drove her into making decisions that she believed were best for her daughter. Scarlett's love for Michael led her to happiness, but also to her pregnancy. Scarlett and Halley's love for each other gave them the strength to carry on in times of despair when it literally seems like nothing is worth the effort of enduring. They gave each other the encouragement and support they both needed. "Someone Like You" consists of a brilliant plot, and well-developed characters. Many readers can easily relate to at least one of the events in these girls' life. The events in this book could easily happen to any teenager. Although the ending seemed to be a slightly scattered and lacked a sense of closure, overall this book was a terrific read and was too captivating to put down.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!:)

    If your looking for a good book to read really look in to this book. It was the best book like ever!!!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Best book ever

    I read this book for a book report we had to read it in 1 month and every week we had to read a certain amount of pages and i finshed the book in 1 week and i still had the rest of the month to go...its so good i couldnt stop reading....amazing book about friendship and you have to read it i LOVE this book

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    The book

    I loved it! The book had a great conflict, and im only 13.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing!

    This was such good book, once u start reading u can put thr book down. I give this book 1000 stars!!!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    "Someone Like You" should read a book like this!

    The book, Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen, is about a 16-year-old named Halley and her best friend, Scarlett. After their best friend, also Scarlett's boyfriend, dies, Scarlett finds out she's pregnant with his child. Both young girls, then, have to deal with, not only teenage struggles, but also grief and pregnancy. Halley, the normally stand-off-ish one, now has to step up and be Scarlett's number one. She learns to be a stronger person, more about pregnancy than any teenager ever should, about love, and also about letting go, in more ways than one.
    I would highly recommend this book to any teenage girl. Actually, i would recommend this book to ALL teenage girls. Its filled with love, heartbreak, grief, adventure, and so much more. Its an easy read, but you'll never get bored! I think any girl can relate to SOMETHING in this book. Trust me, you wont regret it! :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2001

    This was a really good book!

    This book was the best book I ever read! Sarah Dessen is a wonderful author for young adults. I had to read this book for a report in school and I didn't want to put it down. I just kept reading it and reading it. It was so sweet and entertaining.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Amazing Book :)

    Im only 14. And i love this book. Including the Main characters. This book is a great book for a group of friends to read, either together or day by day. I'd definatly reread this book, over and over. It's not really a book for finding your true self, but this book is adicting. i read it in one night, all nite. If you get really emotional about families or breakups, there is alot of that in this book. It's a type of book that will have you on your edge of your seat. The writing is amazing. And all i have to Say is that i absolutly love this book. and highly recommends it. Thanks for Reading

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    i love this book

    so this summer my friend was reading the twight series and i have to say write when i opened that book i was confused when i first started reading some one like you i thought wow this story is so real that really does happen to teens like me i got so into the book i finished it in one day and went back to the store to buy another one of sarah dessens books i love them!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    A MUST READ FOR ALL TEEN GIRLS!

    Scarlett and Halley have been best friends forever. Scarlett always the more outgoing one while Halley is quiet and ¿innocent¿. They have always helped each other get through the hard times, but will Halley be able to help Scarlett this time. Scarlett's summer boyfriend died in a tragic motorcycle accident then Scarlett finds out she, at age 16, is carrying his baby. Through this thrilling Sarah Dessen book, you will see Scarlett and Halley's journey through motherhood. During the book, Halley finds the man of her dreams named Macon. He loves her, well at least she thinks he does, he treats her right, and he will do anything for her. Her parents think he is a bad influence on her by the way he acts and how he drives. She fell all over him until Macon tried to do the wrong things to her. It was the last straw when Macon left Halley in the hospital after an awful car accident. In the end, will Scarlett follow her gut and have the baby, or will she regret it? Will Halley ever find the spark that was in Macon? Will Halley's parents trust her again? Someone like you is a book you never want to put down. There is always something happening that will keep you sitting on the edge of your seat. I would recommend this book to all teen-young adult girls looking for an amazing book. I rate this book 5 stars without a doubt!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Best book eva

    As soon as ive read the firsst page of this book i fell in love with it, it is about a girl named haley who is tempted to love a guy named Macon who dosen't respect her choices, who narely kills her in a car crash after a party. This book follows the emotions of Haley's heart, her choices. She (haley) is a caring friend. After her break up with Macon , Haley finds herself at prom with a Drunk guy, and with a girl in labor. All she can tgink of Grace.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    This is for the girl who posted on Jan 24 2012

    So you're 12. Um...well i think u could read it cuz i'm 11 and i just finished it a week ago. There arent really any inappropriate parts in it. I mean, theres one part mear the end, where they begin to do something....inappropriate, but it doesnt happen. At first you'll think its going to be inappropriate, but then its not rite away. Hope i helped!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Omgg

    Lovee it sooooo amazing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended- check it out!!!

    I love this book! Absolutely adore it! This is one of my favorite books i have read so far, at first i just picked it out because the summary sounded good, but after i read it, i'm actually wishing she wrote a sequel! This book is so good i never wanted to put it down, i read this book every chance i got and finished it in less than a week!I would recommend this book to any teenagers that enjoys drama and fiction novels, also something with a scenerio they can relate to!

    Im seriously in love with this book,I'm going to read it again next year an the year after that, it's just that good. (normally i don't read book over because i already remember the problem and solution)

    To wrap it up, i loved this book and HIGHLY recommend it to teenagers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I know what you're thinking.

    Just another teen romance, kissy kissy, cry-your-heart-out, oh the horror, blah blah blah. BUT YOU'RE WRONG!!This is a wonderful book about friends and learning to be strong for them. I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Best book ever

    I started reading this book and I did not know if it was going to be good and then I started to read it and I could not put this book down I think that is the best book that I have ever read and everyone should read this book!!!!!! I read this book a week ago and I am still thinking about this book.it is the best book that I have ever read and u need to read this book!!!!! u will not be disappointed at all!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    OMGster

    Omg im like at the part where Macom wants to sleep with her and all i can think is nooooooooo cus Elizibeth already warned her that he uses girl and as soon as they have sex he gonna be like bye bye birdie omg i hate him right now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Jana

    Pads in skittishly and glances around in fear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1024 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 52