Customer Reviews for

Someone Named Eva

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I am normally a fantasy reader, but this book was definitely an exception. I read this book for the first time when I was 10, and now at age 13 I still love it. It's very exciting, realistic, and hard-to-put-down! I recommend this to everyone of all ages! It's a very, very, very good book. Good job, Ms. Wolf!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Loved it

    It was the best book in the world! I had to read it for a book in 6 th grade last year and loved it. I love learning and reading things regarding the holocaust. I'm so happy o read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    A GREAT READ!

    Someone Named Eva is a beautifully written masterpiece! From the second I picked it up, I could not put it down!

    The tragic incident of Lidice, Czechoslovakia was an event that I had not heard of before reading this story. Someone Named Eva was intriguing, full of emotion, and educational.

    If you are interested in the World War II time period or just want to read an excellent story, this book makes a GREAT READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    The Best Book Ever!!

    This wonderful book is about a girl named Milada who is taken away by Nazi soldiers. There she is taken away to a center in Poland where she is renamed Eva. She is taught how to be the perfect German girl. She is eventaully adopted. This book would only be for people who are interested in the Holocaust. You won't be disapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I read this book a few years ago when it was up for the Bluebonn

    I read this book a few years ago when it was up for the Bluebonnet Award it was amazing. It was a great look in to the Nazi way of life through the eyes of a child. I recommend it to everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    GREAT!

    I loved this book, Anything with history I love. If you love history or want to know more about girls in Eroupe in World War II pick up this book. You won't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    touching

    We chose this book for my ten year old daughter's book club. The book tells the story of a Jewish family torn apart during WWII. The main character is taken away from her family (Later we learn the tragic story of what happens to the rest of her family)and is adopted by a German family because of appearrance--blond hair, blue eyes. She must deal with being away from her family, worrying about them, learning a new language and surroundings, and with her conflicting emotions. The family she lives with treats her as a true daughter, but her grandmother's last words to her to "Remember who she is" haunt her. This story was a wonderful way to discuss the treatment of Jewish people in a way that was not traumatic. While the main character's family experiences and she sees people being treated cruelly, she does not experience this first hand. The girls were quite teary discussing what it would be like to be torn away from your family and being told that you would have a new family and what the families must have gone through during the War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Someone Named Eva

    This is a great read that I think all ages will enjoy. It follows a young girl in World War 2, and her journey to reunite with her family after being seprated. She is chosen to be raised at a special school where she is trained to be a "proper German", to possibly be adopted by a German family. But she still dreams hopefully of her loving family, wishing more than ever to be with them. This book deeply describes the troubles of people during World War 2, and it is very uplifting in a strange way and you will find yourself so aborsbed in this book wanting to read more and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    ?????

    ????????????????????????????????????????????????????,?????,,///--??? ?? ???????? ?? ??? ??????? ? ?? ??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Two reviews: Have you been taken away by Nazi soldiers? News From The Lebensborn Center

    Someone Named Eva

    Milada is just a regular Czechoslovakian girl that like to plan parties, ride her bike with her best friend Terezie, and stare at the stars, but that all changes one night when the soldiers come to Milada's house. Milada's grandmother Babhicka says, "Remember who you are Milada, always." But what does that mean? Milada goes to a Lebensborn center where she learns to be part of the Aryan race and is even called Eva. She is challenged and has trouble remembering her grandmother's words, all the streams in Lidice and her mother saying "goodnight Eva", or did she?
    Milada begins wondering if her parents will ever come for her. She along with all the other girls have been told that they were either to expensive for their parents, or their parents were killed in an Allied Air Raid. Is that really the case? It seems like Milada will never get out and her parents will never come for her until she sees her Babichka on the street, or does she?

    Someone Named Eva
    By Joan M. Wolf
    Ages 9-12
    Copyright 2007


    Before the German Nazi soldiers took Milada away, she lived a pleasure filled life with her family in Lidice, Czechoslovakia. It had just past her birthday, and she was full of wonderful memories. Milada was a blond haired, blue eyed Czechoslovakian girl. To her misfortune, that is what Hitler thought was better than anything else. Nazi soldiers took her away in 1942. She was put into a school taught by more Nazi soldiers. Milada couldn't have felt more devastated. The book gives tremendous amounts of description about Milada feeling all sorts of emotion. Luckily, she did make one friend at the school who couldn't agree more about what was happening. It comforted her for a while, but soon she started to depend on her family to save her. The next thing she knew, she was being taken away by strangers that were supposed to be her "family". She didn't understand why or what was going to happen to her. But she promised her grandma, Babichka, that she wouldn't forget who she was.

    The writing in Someone Named Eva made me want find out what was going to happen by the descriptions from what people looked like, to what they felt. The story felt so real, that it was as if I went through the same situation. This story teaches you to stay strong through thick and thin, and to never forget yourself. It is a breathtaking book that is masterfully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Eva is someone who has been though a lot

    Someone Named Eva
    By: Joan M. Wolf
    Jacket Illustration
    Copyright 2007
    Recommended Ages 9-12

    "Remember who you are Milada. Remember where you are from. Always." Miada's grandmother told her on the night that they were taken away by the Nazi soldiers at their home in Czechoslovakia. All she has left from home is her grandmothers star pin. Milada sure isn't Jewish, but she has sun-kissed blond hair and sea blue eyes. It's a big mistake that she's even in this camp to become a Nazi girl. For three years she lived under the Nazi law and didn't see her family for many years. She did live with a foster family though that she wasn't very found of. She was home sick and tried of the war. She never stopped believing that her family would come get her in Prague. Eva has a strong soul that makes you want to go on to the next chapter. This book is great for classrooms. It is a great historical fiction book that represents a girls life over 3 years as a Nazi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    My teacher's the best writer

    My teacher is Ms. Wolf. She let my class read this book before it is published! It Is about World War 2 and this girl named Gizela is a blonde hair, blue eye girl and she gets sent into this camp to become 'a German girl' and her name is even changed to Ada! but this story is SO GREAT!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1