Customer Reviews for

Someone to Believe In

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

insightful contemporary romance

Bailey 'the Street Angel' O¿Neil has dedicated her life to rescue youngsters from gang violence. She does right on the mean streets risking her life every time she tries to save a child, but that does not stop her from being convicted as an accessory for hiding a teen ...
Bailey 'the Street Angel' O¿Neil has dedicated her life to rescue youngsters from gang violence. She does right on the mean streets risking her life every time she tries to save a child, but that does not stop her from being convicted as an accessory for hiding a teen in her home. The case serves as a springboard for then DA Clayton Wainwright to become a senator. Clay feels change is needed in the neighborhoods to lesson the influence of gangs on youngsters. He disagrees with what he feels is Bailey's ardent caring but insane efforts. They have a public dispute going on as to what is best to save the next generation as each argues in the media and whenever they meet. However, one night their war changes to passionate kisses. Each realizes the attraction they have for the other, but is that enough when fundamentally they disagree on how to deal with gangs? --- This contemporary romance is built off a real social issue involving how to best deal with the influence of gangs. The lead couple is a wonderful pairing of seemingly opposites though when love intercedes they begin to realize how much in common they truly have, which is the typical case in societal problems. Clay and Bailey are superb characters, who want to help people, but disagree on method making their love for one another so much more fun to follow. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Vulgar

It would be better without the vulgarity. Did not finish. I hate dirty language.

posted by bm54 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Wonderful

    Couldn't put this book down- loved, loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Great!

    It was good read! I finished it in 2 days so its pretty hard to put down d i gotta say the xharacters really came to life Nd told you a story of their own. All in all it was great:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Excellent! A Real Page Turner.

    This is my first, and won't be my last, novel of Kathryn Shay. I found her characters well developed and likable, and the novel realistically written. I look forward to reading more of her work.

    I am distrubed that a previous reviewer would slam the book because of "vulgar language". The summary clearly states the novel involves gangs. Any intelligent person would or should know that language in regard to the gang members wouldn't be Puritanical.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Good

    Good storie

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Someone To Believe In

    Great book. A little slow getting started but it was well worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Someone to believe in

    Couldn't get to read the book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Im not trying to go all "grammer nazi" but, yeah...

    It was a good book, but most of the chapters had a few grammatical etrors. Sorry, but when you are in a newspaper/ journalsim class its very annoying. Other than that, it was a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Too much

    First book of Shays that I finally quit reading. I tired of the characters and the story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Wonderful Book

    Someone To Believe In by Kathryn Shay is an emotional, deeply sensual tale. _________ Bailey O¿Neil is a woman on a mission to save teens from the deadly world of gang violence. She has a personal stake in it since she lost her younger sisters life to a gang. Bailey¿s family though close knit is forever worrying about the lengths she is willing to go to, to save these teens. Her methods put her at a cross purposes to Senator Clay Wainright. ______ Clay Wainright is an up and coming politician. Bailey O¿Neil has been a thorn in his side since he sent her to jail for a year over ten years ago. Now as a Senator he is assigned with Bailey to the same task force to address gangs. Their views are as different as night and day. Sparks fly in their discussions on the task force. But an all-consuming passion erupts between them outside of those meetings. _________ This isn¿t an easy romance for either party, each has issues from the past not just their opposite views. Clay is determined to protect Bailey and Bailey is equally determined to save these teens at all cost. _______ Someone To Believe In grabs you and pulls you in. The issues are real and complex. I couldn¿t read this book fast enough. I hope Bailey¿s brothers get their own stories soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2014

    It was pretty good. I could have done without the amount of sex

    It was pretty good. I could have done without the amount of sex included...would have liked it better to my mind. But some enjoy that, considering the current interest in "50 Shades of Gray".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Exceptional!  I have read a few of Shay's novellas & was imp

    Exceptional! 
    I have read a few of Shay's novellas & was impressed immediately.   But this read went far past impressive.   It had heart & soul.  It was about true life in every day cidcumstances.  Shay is fast becoming of my favorite authors.   Highly recommend! !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    good read

    A little slow to start, but a very good read. I purchased the rest of the series. Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Yeah!

    I don't know what drew me to this book (maybe it's the hypnotic stare from the guy on the cover) but I must say, I enjoyed this book enough to the point that I've read it twice already. The politics was hard for me to follow, but I loved the development of the characters. I liked how Clay recognized his feelings for Bailey almost immediately. It's funny how he is the one who should be worrying about his public image, but she's the one who keeps bringing up obstacles. That whole mind-set that she worked herself into after they got married had me clenching my teeth in frustration. I wanted to slap her on the back of the head and scream, "Damn, girl! You got a good man! Snap out of it!!!" Thankfully, she did. The love scenes were passionate, interjected with a sense of humour. The scene on the stairs had me fanning myself and laughing at the same time. I will purchase the next book in the series to see what's going on with the brothers and, hopefully, see more of Bailey and Clay. This is a must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    Loved the book. good story line

    Loved the book. good story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Waste of time

    Annoying characters and story line drug on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Good Reading

    Haven't read a book like this in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Great book

    Was hooked from the first page. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Would be better with...

    A good editor and a LOT LESS SEX. I absolutely despise misspelled or misused words. There weren't a whole lot of them though.
    I did like the story and the characters enough that I will probably read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    :)

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Different

    Different type of book for me but quite enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9