Customer Reviews for

Someplace to Be Flying

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Roen

    K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Dark

    Cool beans. Hey I gotta go, but it was nice talking with you! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Snowglaze & Dustflight

    Snowglaze cheered, "Truthpaw! Dustflight!"
    <p>
    Dustflight bent down to brush noses with his new apprentice, smiling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Truthpaw

    She smiled then bounded up to touch noses with Dustflight. (( lol its okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Lifepaw

    Sorts herbs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    ~`| CelestialClan Medicine Cat Den |`~

    ~Lionstar &starf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Twilightstar

    Soo.. someone tell frozenstar we need to move

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Banes bio

    Name: Bane. Age: 14 Looks: small and too thin with long dirty blonde hair plae skin and violet eyes. She works for Holmes and co. And is very independant and cold.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Paula's Bio

    Name: Paula (was known as Rain in other roleplays)
    Age: 16
    Description: jet black hair that fell to her waist and is usually straight, tan, skinny, and has soft skin, also blue eyes
    Personality: unless I'm upset I'm nice, caring, trustworthy and Loyal of course.
    Anything else just ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    For fans of Charles de Lint and new readers...

    My first book by de Lint was 'The Onion Girl'. And though it was a book that was in the middle of some already established characters, I fell in love with de Lint's style of writing and the way he tells stories like they are the veins of what makes the world the way it is. 'Some Place to be Flying' is no exception. You will not be able to put it down. And if you do, you won't be able to wait until you can pick it up again. I now have 12 books of his, and every book is a new adventure with characters you grow to love or hate, you'll be gripping the pages in some places in aticipation. This book sent me flying and made me want to be corbae. This book is great for de Lint lovers and perfect for new readers. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine urban fantasy

    In 1996 Newford, Canada cab driver Hank leaves his vehicle to stop a man beating up a woman in a nearby alley. The Good Samaritan takes a bullet in his shoulder for his efforts with the assailant apparently ready to kill him. Instead a girl comes off the roof and somehow kills the punk. She licks her fingers and touches Hank¿s wound with her moisturized fingers before running off. His shoulder immediately fully heals. Both Hank and the initial victim photojournalist Lily are stunned by the turn of events. --- Hank and Lily have had their initial encounter with the immortal 'First People,' a hybrid human-animal mix. The two shocked humans soon meet other strange individuals like Jack and Kerry, who both differently shun the ¿normal¿ world. The humans soon join the hunt by members of the First People to find the object that created the world, 'Raven's pot¿, for war is brewing and the winner is assured if they obtain possession of this magical artifact. --- Newford fans of course will appreciate this fine urban fantasy, but so will anyone who enjoys a strong tale with intriguing characters regardless of whether they are human or out of mythos. Jack and Lily are fabulous opposites who come together in search of the First People and soon begin a quest to find the Raven¿s Pot so it does not get into wrong hands. Though allegedly targeting high school readers, Charles de Lint¿s latest tale is urban fantasy at is best that all genre fans will enjoy. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    A Murder of Crows, An Unkindness of Ravens

    Once again, Charles de Lint has written a magical tale that will not disappoint the reader. The characters are complex, the story line fast paced and suspenseful, and the interweaving of Native American folklore into the Newford setting creates an entertaining read that will leave the reader wishing for more. Definitely a book to be savored and re-read,in between searching for the Crow Girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2000

    Wonderful

    Charles De Lint is a wonderful author and his dialog is superb! I loved his characters and I really enjoyed reading his books. Anyone who knows that you can find a little magic as long as you look will like reading this book. I did!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Urban Fantasy At Its Very Best

    I'm a long-time Charles de Lint fan, and this book didn't disappoint me. The characters are magical and fantastic, yet easy to relate to. De Lint uses elements of earthy folklore and weaves them into a wonderful story set against the background of a modern city. A must-read for anyone who likes a good tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1