Customer Reviews for

Something Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 2194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1150)

4 Star

(647)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Something Blue-wonderful

I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized t...
I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized that the central first-person character of this book was Darcy -- the lying, cheating, spoiled brat "best friend" from Something Borrowed. I was immediately concerned that this book, being told from Darcy's perspective, would taint my fondness toward the Rachel and Dex characters from the first book, and I did not want that. It's always nice to look back fondly on characters you really like and/or identify with from a book you truly enjoy. I thought that Giffin might use this book to make you feel sympathy for spoiled Darcy and shed light on why she did the things she did. But to my surprise and delight, she did not. What's more, Darcy is still the annoying, shallow character that she was in the first book. You would think that would make for an annoying read, but it does not. Giffin pulls it off somehow and keeps it intriguing. And if ever there was a story of positive character evolution, this is it. Darcy does change over time, for the better, but not at the expense of the characters you may have grown to love. The ending of this book, too, is worth noting. Few really good books have really good endings in my opinion, but this one does. The final pages of the book are poignant, poetic ... perfect. And without being fairy tale saccharinized.
Something Blue is a fabulous story of friendship, romance, and self-discovery. It was easy for me to give it 5 stars.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Rip off

Why is the paperback $9.07 and the nookbook $9.99!???!!! its just a file for pete's sake.

posted by tarabean on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 111
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Something Blue-wonderful

    I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized that the central first-person character of this book was Darcy -- the lying, cheating, spoiled brat "best friend" from Something Borrowed. I was immediately concerned that this book, being told from Darcy's perspective, would taint my fondness toward the Rachel and Dex characters from the first book, and I did not want that. It's always nice to look back fondly on characters you really like and/or identify with from a book you truly enjoy. I thought that Giffin might use this book to make you feel sympathy for spoiled Darcy and shed light on why she did the things she did. But to my surprise and delight, she did not. What's more, Darcy is still the annoying, shallow character that she was in the first book. You would think that would make for an annoying read, but it does not. Giffin pulls it off somehow and keeps it intriguing. And if ever there was a story of positive character evolution, this is it. Darcy does change over time, for the better, but not at the expense of the characters you may have grown to love. The ending of this book, too, is worth noting. Few really good books have really good endings in my opinion, but this one does. The final pages of the book are poignant, poetic ... perfect. And without being fairy tale saccharinized.
    Something Blue is a fabulous story of friendship, romance, and self-discovery. It was easy for me to give it 5 stars.

    45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Rip off

    Why is the paperback $9.07 and the nookbook $9.99!???!!! its just a file for pete's sake.

    14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read with Midol

    So after reading "Something Borrowed" (and LOVING it in spite of myself), I figured, well now I have to read "Something Blue". The freakishly obnoxious b*tch from the first book is obviously going to get what's coming to her in the sequel and frankly, the devil in me is just in the mood to read about it. Unfortunately this is not how "Blue" plays out. To be fair, any book that is published with the chick lit logo is going to have an impossibly perfect, Bridget Jones becomes the princes bride ending so I should've managed my expectations accordingly. But Giffin does such a perfect job of creating the quintessential character everyone loves to hate (Darcy) in the first book, that my cup of loathing runneth over upon starting the second book and no matter how much Darcy grew up, I still wanted her to end up deformed and talking with a keyboard a la Stephen Hawking. But like I said, this is chick lit so obviously this does not happen. Rather, in "Something Blue" we get the rest of the story from Darcy's perspective, which ends up being one of the more irritating and whiney narratives I have ever read. For 200+ pages the reader is treated to a diatribe of "poor me poor me, I'm Malibu Barbie" only to be followed up with 100+ pages of incredulous poppycock that quite honestly had my eyes rolling into my head so often I've memorized the pattern of veins in my lids.
    Ugh.honestly.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    After a promising first book in

    Something borrowed my friend and I counted down the days for Something Blue to be released and what a waste of my $20 (hardcover price). While I connected and sympathized w/ Rachel, I could not for the life of me feel anything but disdain for Darcy. She's a spoiled, self-centered character that did not change at all. And what happened w/ the Ethan from Something Borrowed. This Ethan lack the backbone and personality that he showed in his appearance in the first book. Save your money, Something Borrowed is great and a must read, Something Blue belongs in the sale bin.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rachel... Eat your heart out!

    After reading Something Borrowed I LOATHED Darcy and could not understand how she got her own book. After some hesitation I decided to give it a try. I have to admit I did not love Darcy right away. She was still her spoiled, selfish, and down right annoying self. I had no compassion for her! But as the book progressed and Darcy's character progressed I began to feel for her and surprisingly ROOTING for her to get her happy ending. I actually ended up loving this book 10 times more than the first and will forever be one of my all time favorites :)

    Great Job Emily Griffin for doing it again!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great summer read!

    Spoliers! I really enjoyed this book. At first, Darcy is really annoying but then you find yourself rooting for her. Loved the Darcy and Ethan relationship. The only things I didn't like were: 1) enough with the ginger bashing - it is getting really old 2) when Ethan and Darcy get together- it felt rushed and no love scene. We had to read about sex with Marcus, Geoffrey but not with her soulmate, Ethan. 3)the lack of a focus on Darcy and Rachael' s friendship

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Something Old, Something New.

    Darcy Rhone has a rough life. She's with a guy who doesn't adore and worship her like the ex-fiance that she cheated on. He's also not as "presentable" as her former fiance, Dex, and she's pregnant as a result of the illicit affair. Boo hoo. Furthermore, Darcy refuses to have anything to do with her best and childhood friend, Rachel, who fell in love with said ex-fiance. I must admit that I never really had any desire to read Emily Giffin's books until I saw the "Something Borrowed" movie and loved it. I enjoyed the characters in the movie so much that I wanted to see what happened next. Thankfully, I discovered that Giffin had written a sequel. The first few chapters of SOMETHING BLUE covered the end of the movie (and probably the related book), so it served as a rehash, lest the reader forget what happened. Unlike SOMETHING BORROWED which was told from sweet Rachel's point of view, SOMETHING BLUE was told from Darcy's point of view. At first, I found it difficult to read a book from the point of view of a very unsympathetic character. Darcy is not likable and hasn't matured/grown any since the events of SOMETHING BORROWED. Her personality is like nails on a chalkboard. She thinks world revolves around her. In fact, she's upset that neither Rachel or Dex call to wish her a happy birthday after she told them she never wanted anything to do with either one of them again. She also feels like she's one of the "chosen." In one passage, Darcy ponders, "I suddenly wondered what color eyes my baby would have. I hoped for blue, or at least green like mine. Everyone knows blue eyes are prettier, at least on a girl, which is why there are so many songs about brown-eyed girls, to make them feel better." While I was pleased with the novel overall by the finale (I won't give anything more away), I was disappointed that neither Rachel nor Dex -- prominently featured in SOMETHING BORROWED -- barely made appearances in SOMETHING BLUE. However, I appreciate that Giffin took a chance and wrote the novel from a different perspective than the original. Kudos to her for that and for dispelling my belief that her novels were cheesy chick lit. The characters are well-defined and not stereotypical. By the end of SOMETHING BLUE, my eyes were watering.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Truly enjoyed

    Half of the book i was aggravated with darcy but still intrigued to find out how her life would turn out. Her character drove me crazy... Eventually picked up, and she got better and i loved it! Couldnt put it down. If you enjoyed something borrowed then this is a must read to follow up!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Great

    Onece yoir done you need to read the sequal! To tell you the truth but them together!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved!

    I loved this book! Read it immediately after I read Something Borrowed! Emily Giffin is a great author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Good read!

    I am not the romance type but this cought my attention!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Eh - it'll do for chick lit.

    I'll admit I'm not really a huge chick-lit fan. Even less so for those set in NYC and/or The Hamptons, where everyone is in their late 20's or early 30's and somehow has enough wealth (and no depth of character) to buy all the top designer labels, live in the poshest of neighborhoods, and go out to the hippest bars nearly every night. Come on! But, if you've got an itch for some fluff reading, this will do.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Half-assed, at best

    Griffin did too well a job of making Darcy the extremely unlikable - albeit well-dressed - villain in "Something Borrowed." She did such a good job, in fact, that creating a sequel in which Darcy reassesses and recreates herself in order to be a better person posed something of an enormous challenge. But as it turns out, it was no challenge at all. Though Darcy's story could potentially be one of self-discovery and love, it is written in such a shallow, unoriginal, and simple fashion that there literally is no way the reader is able to understand why Darcy acts the way she does. Once again, Griffin passes up on the opportunity to really flesh out her characters and presents instead a flat, mediocre story that has an all too-perfect ending.

    The good: It was a quick read.

    The bad: Everything about this story was too easy, unbelievably so. If you want a story with even the slightest bit of substance, then reach for something else because the "Something -" series does not provide any.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable

    I was excited to read this sequel but slightly disappointed in the end result. I hated hearing the viewpoint from the main character as she was the antagonist in the previous book. I do applaud the author for writing from two different view points and doing it well. My complaint was that the character was so unlikeable and it was unrealistic that she would change as much as she did in the course of the book. I kept looking to hear more from Rachel from the first book and was left wanting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Something Blue

    I loved the first book Something Borrowed with Rachel's point of view that I had to read the second one with Darcy's point of view on things. It is a really great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Athena

    I just dont know how to help. Im really stressed out and i just cant help sorry. *walks out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Ummm adam?

    Go to finaly together result 2 for my bio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    GARAGE

    Police cars for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 111